We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you really need a car to get around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Colombaio di Santa Chiara
Reviewed 10 August 2010

this was a very nice hotel, inside. but don t be fooled, it is on a vineyard...that is does not belong to them. so you can t just go for a walk around the place. their vineyard is like 10 minute drive away. and the old couple don t speak ANY english or french. and the man is not all that patient sometimes when u try to explain something in bad italian. if not for their son alessio, who really is the heart of the place, i would have hated my time there. we rented bikes, pedal bikes, and no car. it was fun for like 10 minutes. good simple place, good breakfast. thin walls, we would hear everything going on in the other rooms so bring earplugs.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petite Fannie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2010

The owners are a sweet older couple who speak only Italian. Nevertheless they did everything they could to make us comfortable and breakfast was homely and satisfying in their dining room.
Only their youngest son, Alexio, spoke English and when he had time for us from his multi duties running a successful winery he was a gracious host giving us a lovely tour and some of their wine to take home.
The room was large and totally quiet the surroundings beautiful apart from a small campsite opposite which did not impinge on our views.
A tip to find it. They say it is an 800 metre walk to S.G. It may well be. We didn't try but it's entry is on the right, 1.5 km. from the roundabout below S.G. on the road to Volterra

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

My husband, 9 month old and I stayed and loved every minute of it. They were so friendly and accomodating. We wished we had more time to hang out on the property. We got a tour of the winary, and cellers where they were bottling that day. Woderful family. Highly reccommended from us!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbrosius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

My friend and I had a wonderful stay here-once we found it! Alessio and his parents were such lovely hosts-despite the fact we spoke English and his parents speak only Italian! Alessio however does and was very helpful in reccomending things to do and see and fantastic restaurants!
The setting is amazing-outside your room is a courtyard looking over the tuscan hills-so lovely having a glass of vino and sundried tomatoes-we didn't want to leave!
The breakfast was lovely with eggs fresh from the farm, great coffee(very essential!) and the yummiest sweet cake Alessio's mum makes.

San Gimignano is one of the most beautiful towns I have visited. The town has amazing leather goods-perfect place for new handbag and belts etc! There is a little place just past the square that does the most amazing bruschetta and pinot that you must visit-I can't make out the name but it is in my pictures
I look forward to returning to Colombaio and San Gimignano one day!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovestotravel021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Excellently located B&B to use as a base for exploring Tuscany.
20 minute walk to San Gimignano, BUT I'd strongly suggest that you have a car for getting around Tuscany - there is just so much to see, and walking just won't achieve what is possible.
Alessio and family are warm and most welcoming, and really make you feel at home. The accomodation is comfortable and adequate. Try and get the room with the arch. It is much larger than the others.

Suggested points for improvement:
1. The breakfast is basic (and not quite suitable for those of us who are used to a little fibre and fruit in the morning). The croissants are the "pre-packed" variety. The coffee that Alessio's mum makes is good. A fresh roll/ croissants, and a little fresh fruit & cereal would go a long way to remedying this (fairly minor) shortfall.
2. We stayed for 6 nights. As far as I'm aware, our room was not serviced at all during that period. We also needed to ask for a change of towels (which was attended to quite willingly). I'd suggest a note in the room telling guests what the "service" policy is, so that guest-expectations can be managed.

Overall - a great place to stay.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MichaelZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
6.2 km away
Hotel Le Renaie
Hotel Le Renaie
#1 of 1 in Pancole
263 reviews
7.7 km away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
666 reviews
4.9 km away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 29 in San Gimignano
178 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
918 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Colombaio di Santa Chiara? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Colombaio di Santa Chiara

Address: Localita Racciano 9, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 108 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: ₹ 5,001 - ₹ 5,325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 318

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing