We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“San Gimignano Giuliana is wonderful!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
San Gimignano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Jayhawk68
Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“San Gimignano Giuliana is wonderful!”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We (3 of us) stayed in San Gimignano for the last week of April, 2015. Guiliana Taddei was the owner of the apartment we rented during that week. Lucky us. The apartment perfectly located in the city, no more than a 10-15 minute walk to every site in San Gimignano. The apartment itself, La Torretta, has two bedrooms (with lots of storage), 2 bathrooms (with showers), a living room, and a kitchen. But who wants to cook when there are some of the best restaurants in the town? Every meal we ate in SG was terrific. There is also a washing machine. A garage just outside the city walls is also available for 10 Euros/day. If you have a car, you cannot park inside the city anyway. I believe public parking was 15 Euros/day. The apartment was very homey and perfect for our needs. The shuttered windows could be opened to the city below for some great views of the activities. It's a 40-step climb to the apartment so it's best not to be on crutches. Guiliana herself was a super owner and hostess. While she doesn't speak English (we WERE in Italy!), her grandson is a great translator so that was never a problem. She is a warm and caring person and is anxious to help in any way she could. If you are driving, she will meet you at a pre-arranged time just outside Parking Lot 3 (P3) and lead you and your car into the city so you can drop your suitcases off. Driving inside the walls of San Gimignano can be a little intimidating with the throngs of people. Overall, the La Torretta apartment was an ideal accommodation for our week in San Gimignano.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: WiFi was intermittant
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy O
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just one piazza from the center of town”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My family of five stayed three nights at Apt La Torretta. We LOVED the place and especially the location, one piazza away from the Duomo and La Cisterna--the center of town. Both bedrooms have windows opening up to quiet Piazza delle Erbe and views of San Gimignano's towers. Giuliana, a retired schoolteacher, is a kind and wonderful hostess; she met us to show us how to work everything and made recommendations for dinner. Later she helped us contact a cab driver when the bus schedule wasn't good for our plans. San Gimignano was a great base camp for visiting other cities in the area: Florence, Siena, Pisa. For planning: The closest train station is Poggibonsi, a short bus ride from San Gimignano. We also caught the first night (preview) festivities of the town's medieval fair--the third weekend in June.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location just off the two main piazzas
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierreetf...
Gatineau
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in September 2014

This apartment was perfect for the four of us for the 3 days! It's in a great location in the heart of San Gimignano , an excellent, historic, and beautiful medieval hill town in the province of Siena. The owner Giuliana made our initial entry into the apartment as easy as could be she was incredibly hospitable and made all transactions and communication easy.All in all, we would recommend this apartment to any friends planning a trip to Tuscany.and we would of course rent it again, too. Really, we have no complaints--in fact, we *miss* this place.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresmac
1 review
“Gorgeous apartment in heart of San Gimignano!”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed at La Torretta in November 2014 , what a lovely place! The owner Giulliana was so helpful, meeting us on arrival. Recommending places to visit and restaurants to eat at. We really felt at home, the apartment is very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable, a lovely little kitchen with all amenities needed, although I never cook on holiday!
San Gimignano is the most picturesque town and a very good base for visiting Florence, Sienna and lots of other Tuscan delights! We would definitely visit again, thank you Giulliana for your hospitality, we would definitely recommend your apartment to everyone!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnmoore...
avoca beach
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“We had a fantastic time,lovely family.”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for one week annoyed San Gimignano and the apartment immensely.Very clean and well appointed.Thankyou Guiliana.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 108
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing