We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Thoroughly recommend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sovestro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sovestro
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Really nice hotel. The staff were lovey. The rooms were simple and immaculately clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are a lovely size although we only had a power shower (not that the lack of a bath bothered us). Breakfast is buffet style with a wide range of food, including gluten free cereal and biscuits/crackers and sets you up for the day. We didn't try the restaurant, but we heard good things about it. Stayed 2 nights and toured San Gimignano and Siena, which are both within easy driving distance. Lovely views and it was very quiet when we were there. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crcreiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
We want to thank you for your beautiful words and for writing your opinions about our hotel, we are happy that you enjoied your holiday here, even only for two days.. we hope as well that you will have always good memories about your experience in San Gimignano.

we hope sincerely to welcome you again in the future

Thank you

best regards
the owner
Sergio and Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    167
    19
    2
    0
See reviews for
163
313
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We ate lunch at the Hotel Sovestro while taking a bus tour of the Tuscany region. The hotel is situated on a hill outside of town with a terrific view of the surrounding area. The staff was courteous, anxious to please and served a classic multi-course meal that was excellent. As part of the meal, we were served a selection of very good white and red wines. We were given an interesting explanation on how to compare wines and the how production methods make them distinctly different. Since the price of the meal was included in our tour package, I can not comment on the value/price paid, but we enjoyed it.

Overall, our visit was brief but completely enjoyable, I would recommend the hotel as a stop while in San Gimignano.
Paul from SC

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear Guests,
thank you very much for your very nice review and sorry for my very late answer, we are pleased that you had a a nice stay in our hotel and we really hope to welcome you again and maybe for a longer period so you could better appreciate the surroundings of this region..
Thank you again and have a nice day!!

best regards
the reception
laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great Hotel. It has 2 pools to relax in after a long day of touring the wonderful medieval towns all around. You can actually walk through the vineyards to San Gimianno. Bathrooms are really big for Italy and breakfast buffet fantastic. We had some meals there in the evening and they are delicious. The gnocci are amazing--the Boar not so much.


I highly recommend this hotel. Our visit was actually in june 2008.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Clients,
thank you so much for your beautiful review, we are very glad that you spent good moments here with us and that you could appreciate also the beauty of the surroundings and our region..
Thank you also for writing your opinion on our restaurant, it is a reason for us to improve our services..

best regards
the reception
laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Hotel really good. Nice and pleasant staff. Only problem is that other guests arriving and leaving always makes a noise inside your room. We liked our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trivelato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for your kind review, and for finding the time to writ your opinion.. we hope that you spent a good time.. we are sorry if there was something, that disturbed you..but we'll do our best possible to improve our servieces.

Lokking forward to welcoming you again in the future

best regards
the reception
laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

We spent two weeks at Hotel Sovestro in October 2011 and it was wonderful. Comfortable, friendly, helpful and welcoming staff, good breakfast included and a very good accompanying restaurant (La Pode).
This is a great location, about a 25 minute walk to San Gimignano along one of Tuscany's 'white roads' with a beautiful view of the town as you approach it.
Bed could be a bit more comfortable, but it's OK, and the Wi-Fi signal was too weak at the opposite end of the hotel from the lobby, where our room was located. We had to go to the lobby (or breakfast room) for a workable Wi-Fi connection - a minor inconvenience.
I recommend Hotel Sovestro whole heartedly and if we travel to the same part of Tuscany on our next trip to Italy, Hotel Sovestro is where we'll stay.

Room Tip: Corner ground floor rooms have a larger patio that sweeps around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful words about our hotel, we are happy that you had a nice holiday here with us and we are sorry for the problems you had with the Wi-fi.. we will improve it and try to solve it.
We hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano,

and we wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

best regards
Failli family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
4.2 km away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
5.0 km away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
1.7 km away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sovestro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sovestro

Property: Hotel Sovestro
Address: Localita Sovestro 63, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#2 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,732 - ₹ 10,303
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sovestro 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sovestro has 40 rooms, 28 of which are situated on the ground floor with a small private garden and 12 rooms on the first floor with fitted Balcony .All the rooms have a wonderful view on the countryside of San Gimignano or a suggestive view of our swimming pools.All our rooms have private bathroom with shower, hair-drier, telephone, minibar, safe, TV LCD of 26’’, with Sky Silver programmes and air conditioning or heating. WI-FI free in all the rooms, in common area inside or open-air.We have a private free wide- parking, in the small pinewood, is available only for the hotel- guests.Two are the swimming pools, available for our clients, the bigger allows you to swim, have fun and take the sun, the other one, smaller, is in a very silent and discrete corner of the garden, has a small waterfall for massage and a waterline for a moment of relaxation and sun bathing. … Moreover … We inform you that, we realized a small fitness room available for our clients.The use of the gym is free.We wish you finally to give you a small suggestion to let you enjoy the beauty of our hearth, a beautiful walk, through a path deeped in the countryside, which from Hotel Sovestro leads to San Gimignano, with its towers, in only 20/30 minutes.Furtherore we suggest you to enjoy one of the best Tuscan cuisines in the restaurant “Da Pode”.Once it was a farmhouse and now managed directly from the Failli family, who will invite you to savour the Tuscan-dishes.Monday is the day of rest of the restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Sovestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovestro Hotel San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing