We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (614)
Filter reviews
614 results
Traveller rating
112
213
145
82
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
213
145
82
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area beatiful view italian hotels would highly recommend this hotel great pool beautiful countryside per night lovely hotel rolling hills town balcony mattress wine
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 614 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Relais Cappuccina is a really lovely place with amazing views of St Gimignano. It has a to die for roof terrace area which is totally unused - we took our own drinks up there and rejoiced in the views - but an opportunity missed for the hotel!
The breakfast was quite good although pretty DIY but not always a bad thing....
Room and patio nice but a bit overgrown.
We ate in the restaurant one night and it was actually really nice, very reasonable, but a bit empty.
The staff were all really lovely and helpful and we instantly felt so welcome.
The supposed shuttle to the town was out of action which was a bit disappointing - we walked a couple of times, and did a couple of taxis which are not cheap.
The pool is absolutely beautiful and you can swim with amazing views of St Gimi and the rolling Tuscan hills, a fantastic location.
Overall, although it has its niggles, we rather fell in love with this beautiful hotel which could be so much better with a bit of work.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Sky205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in July with my family. Firstly, we arrived very late in the evening due to flight delays but the staff were very considerate and got us into our room so our kids could get to bed.

Breakfasts we're good with a wide choice and the pool was great although it could use a little bit of work to repair some of the slabs that have worked loose.

I would also recommend they put some effort into providing a better evening bar service. The staff did as best they could but the facilities were lacking.

Room was great (huge) and the cleaning staff did an excellent job every day.

Location is perfect for San Gimignano and the surrounding countryside.

Would I go back. Yes.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

4 star?? More like a 1 star! We booked this hotel for a special occasion and it wasn’t cheap! What a shambles it is! We felt sorry for the barman who was serving the bar / restaurant and bar area which had 40 Plus people in.. he which I understood wasn’t the friendliest. The rooms were a disappointment! When we returned 10 hours later for a night cap the same bar man was still on duty, when we arrived for a drink he quickly turned all the lights off and then told us that we could have a drink if we wanted to spend 60 euros and if not to go to reception which we did and then they look confused as they didn’t know how to operate the bar. We were more than disappointed with this hotel which was topped off with us being told the the shuttle bus they advertised which is why we booked this hotel to not be running because the driver was sick so if we wanted to go anywhere we would have to drive as taxis were not possible. Special trip was ruined by this hotel and It’s service

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sj23467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

We chose this hotel for its pool, knowing it would be very hot in late July (around 32 degrees). We were not disappointed- we had somewhere to retreat to and cool off given we like to walk a lot and explore. Very nice hotel, huge rooms, lovely views of the SG town and surrounding hills, 2km from the entrance to town. Breakfast was fine, typical of European hotels.

I'd score 4.5 for the setting and rooms and 2 for the restaurant and facilities. To clarify, it feels like a fantastic property that has not fulfilled its potential. Restaurant menu was not appealing so we ate in town each night. The pool deck and rooftop terrace are both huge and stunning and they also have a large indoor restaurant space - but it is all hugely under-utilised. It feels like it needs Gordon Ramsay style intervention to create a new menu offering amazing Tuscan food made from local produce and improve the setup so it feels inviting and special. If they did so, I suspect the majority of guests would stay creating a lovely atmosphere as the sun sets over town (not to mention improving their business). There is o doubt most guests would find it much easier to stay and enjoy lunch and or dinner at the hotel than drive into town every time. Or enjoy a glass of local wine on the rooftop overlooking the rolling hills.

The reception area had a library area and an adjacent bar but that also seemed poorly arranged such that I saw no one in either area while we were there. Another lost opportunity.

It would also be helpful to offer a shuttle to and from town because parking in town is a bit of a hassle and 2km each way is too far for most people to consider walking to dinner.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank DJM964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo V, Direttore vendite at Relais Cappuccina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Dear DJM964,
we are so happy for your good review.
We take seriously your consideration about restaurant and for this reason we ask you more details at our business contact.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

This hotel has the potential to be amazing. It is set a couple of miles out of town and has stunning views over San Gimignano and the local countryside. Pool area is nice, rooms are a good size and kept clean by a great team of cleaners. Breakfast is adequate for what you need with plenty of choice.

However, the service in the restaurant is poor. We never ate dinner there as there is no atmosphere, as no one eats there. As a result It means that every night guests go out for dinner and drinks. Up on the large terrace there is the potential to open up a bar and restaurant to cater for guests. It would be fabulous with views across to the town.

We stayed a week and had lunch twice. First time ok but very quiet. Second time there were more people and the service was poor. Waitress unprepared to re-lay a table outside so we had to eat inside. She didn’t bring cutlery (we got our own), she didn’t bring olive oil .... whilst we were there three other families had same experience.

We came back one evening at 10:30 for a nightcap, were drinking on our own in the bar whilst the staff closed the bar around us. Felt very uncomfortable.

If not prepared to invest in making the restaurant a great place to eat, then put on a hourly shuttle bus which we would have gladly contributed to, to take guests into and back from San Gimignano so that no one has to drive and guests can avoid parking nightmare in the town.

Feels like a business that’s not maximising it’s potential and that’s a shame.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo V, Direttore vendite at Relais Cappuccina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018


Dear Debra C,
we take note of your consideration and so we will start an internal deep inspection.
We apologize for the inconvenience reported and we hope that you can come back to us for a more peaceful holiday; in line with your expectations.
Sincerely,
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews