We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Non e com' era! (Not what it used to be)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bel Soggiorno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Napa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Non e com' era! (Not what it used to be)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

We returned after 20 years where we stayed in Room 11 (nice balcony and valley view). The view was the same, but the staff was nowhere near up to it's former standards. The breakfast waitress was inattentive and rude, and they were frequently out of pastries. She appeared to hide in the kitchen, and was surly with a lovely English couple who asked for a "latte" which she didn't care to understand. She directed them to a pitcher of milk and returned to her hiding spot. We noticed the front desk to be spotty in terms of helpfulness. More indiferent than rude Rooms are clean still and it is a lovely place, but it will be our last visit. Just doesn't have the pervasive friendliness. What's more, we noticed the same thing about the town. Marcella, who owns a nearby bakery explained that it has been beseiged by tourists and this accounts for the diminishing hospitality.

Room Tip: Try Dulcisinfundo for dinner. Amazing food and service. Knowledgeable sommelier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirklandboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    138
    37
    10
    6
See reviews for
64
182
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

The location is convenient and the room comfortable clean but basic. Facing the street can be noisy. Breakfast was good but the evening meal was only average. The view from the restraunt is however spectacular

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

The room was a bit disappointing but the terrace with its view made the hotel a great place to stay. Excellent breakfast with astonishing view.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Tuscan valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luka001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

I was one of about 30 guests who stayed at Bel Soggiorno for a destination wedding in Tuscany. The owners were oh so accommodating and made us feel like family. We took over the entire hotel which I think made the experience ever more enjoyable.

American's need to remember that hotel rooms in Europe are not like hotel rooms in the US - ancient buildings have certain limitations which often means less luxury or amenities. So to compare a hotel like Bel Soggiorno to any US chain is completely unfair.

I found housekeeping completely acceptable and did not encounter any cleaning difficulties whatsoever nor did any of our other guests. The views are dramatically different either overlooking the charming streets of San Gimignano or the breathtaking views of the countryside you should select your room accordingly. Both views have their advantages but I think the countryside is quieter.

Breakfast was wonderful but didn't vary from day to day which did get a little tiring. The restaurant was excellent and worth trying at least once for a special dinner.

Internet was available at no charge in the lobby which is a plus since many US hotels gouge you.

I would never hesitate to rebook Bel Soggiorno and in fact will try to return within a year for vacation with friends.

Room Tip: Countryside views for beauty and quiet. Street views for history and charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARubins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

This hotel is not elegant; its furnishings are ordinary; and you have to carry your bags in about 100 meters from the nearest parking lot (the town is for pedestrians only). But it is inside the walls of an atmospheric medieval town, which oozes history before the tour busses arrive in the morning and after they leave at night. The hotel is also very comfortable and, if you have a room with a "country view" the views of the Tuscan countryside are spectacular. Our room had that view and was most spacious, with a large convenient bathroom The desk clerks when we signed in and out were pleasant and helpful, although admittedly we made few demands of them.
The hotel and a nearby restaurant have been owned by the same family since the late 1800's and we were told that they were better known for the restaurant. We chose to eat there and were glad we did, The food was first class gourmet fare, and the service matched the quality. Not only that, but the whole wall of the restaurant was glass overlooking the same Tuscan scene as the window in our room. This eating experience was not cheap but it was worth every penny. In fact, in our two weeks in Italy this was our most expensive meal and the hotel was the cheapest we stayed in. If you want all the conveniences of a luxury hotel or are unable to wheel your luggage over 100 meters of mostly cobbled streets, then this hotel isn't for you. If you want comfort, atmosphere and good food, then it is.
By the way, if you arrive by car, park in Parking lot 2. If it's full, wait at the gate until someone leaves; the gate will then open to let you in. Any other parking lot will mean that you have to carry your suitcases 500 meters or more!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jchBCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.2 km away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#7 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
3.7 km away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
5.1 km away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bel Soggiorno? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel Soggiorno

Property: Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Address: Via San Giovanni, 91, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,912 - ₹ 9,830
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bel Soggiorno 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bel Soggiorno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Soggiorno Hotel
Bel Soggiorno San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing