We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as the website implies”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Villasanpaolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villasanpaolo
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not as good as the website implies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Villa San Paolo is an OK hotel with fantastic views of the Tuscan countryside and of San Gimignano. But what was disappointing is that the website implies some kind of contemporary boutique hotel based in a classic old Italian villa, when in reality most of the hotel is a modern block with basic rooms decorated almost 20 years ago.

Despite asking for a rose garden room (from a previous TripAdvisor recommendation), the room was actually very disappointing and the potential view of San Gimignano from the garden was almost entirely obscured by a staff car park gate.

The restaurant had the most spectacular views but the staff were stressed and the waiting times were so long that at one point we just got up and left. When we did eat at the hotel, the food was average at best. Good pool, but otherwise not recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    350
    75
    31
    17
See reviews for
135
785
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel. It was more "off the beaten path" than our Travel Agent had told us but it was a beautiful drive. Hotel was clean, the grounds beautiful and we would recommend. However, the restaurant staff seemed annoyed when waiting on our table...We ate there each night and it was the same experience each time. It's hard to eat away from the hotel because you do not want to be driving in the Tuscan hillside at night. We def would return to the hotel and just be prepared for restaurant staff service to not be so accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabella44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luigi Z, Direttore vendite at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Dear Signora Annabella, I am sincerely grateful for your stay with us in october and hope your whole vacation in Italy has been relaxing and interesting at same time. Thank you so much for writing your comments and suggestion so kindly and so openly. I am so happy you have appreciated our Resort , location and services. I wish to add that our priority is on having a highly trained and motivated Team, always delighted to attend our Guests and my duties include this extremely important side. Your review on our service at restaurant is extremely valuable to me and I am sincerely happy to assure your will appreciate this such service and staff attitude on your next stay with us, or by report of friends of yours on their next stays.
very cordially yours, Luigi
Luigi Zaccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

I visited this hotel on my honeymoon for 4 nights and couldn't have asked for a more beautiful hotel in a romantic setting. The room was absolutley gorgeous with a balcony overlooking San Gimignano. The pool and spa were lovely too, and the breakfast delicious. My only criticism though is that on our last day we had to drive back to Pisa airport. Having little experience of dirving in Italy, my husband was a little anxious, so we asked the hotel staff for a map. They didn't have a map though and seemed to think we were a bit silly to ask for one! The man behind the reception desk wouldn't print one off and just said "oh its really easy, you will find it in no time!". Anyway, he ended up scribbling something on a piece of paper, and we had to go into San Gimignano to buy a proper map. I would have expected a little more reassurance; but apart from that we had a wonderful time and it was the most beautiful hotel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenromaniszyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luigi Z, Direttore vendite at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Signora Helen, thank you so much for your stay and vacation in Tuscany and at Villa San Paolo. I hope you keep good memories and emotions of our region. Thank you also for taking your time in this review; control of our hospitality standard and level is fundamental for all of us and I am positively sure , following your feedback , we now better understand how important can be providing a map and reassuring a itinerary on a destination that can appear easy to us locals, but can seem bit more difficult on driving for first time.
I really appreciate your comments and contribution; please come back soon and we will be delighted to welcome friends of yours if they come to Tyscany ! yours cordially, Luigi
Luigi Zaccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We spent four nights here in September. With recent adverse comments about this hotel, we had concerns, but they were unfounded. Our standard room was spacious, clean and light and with its own garden terrace. Staff were without exception friendly and helpful, and the breakfast choices were plenty and delicious. The one evening meal we had was OK, but we had better in San Gimignano at less cost (even taking into account the excessive car parking charges in the town!)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bessWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luigi Z, Direttore vendite at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, 22 October 2011
Dear Guests , thank you so much for your stay and vacation with us at Villa San Paolo ! and for taking your time in writing your review, absolutely a safe guide for the travellers. We hope your return to beautiful Sussex has been pleasant and smooth and by all means we hope to welcome you back to Tuscany soon !
Yours cordially,
Luigi Zaccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, Devon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a week in August with our family of 4 children. It is in a fantastic location about 10 minutes drive from San gimignano. We had 3 adjoining rooms on the ground floor of the new part of the hotel with small private terraces to each room. The rooms were spacious, very clean and well air conditioned. The swimming pool area is very attractive with a lovely pool bar area to buy drinks and snacks. However, we would agree with other reviewers that this hotel feels more like a business hotel and lacks the personal touch. We did not feel particularly welcome or that the owner /management cared very much if we were there or not. We booked half board but this was a definite mistake as the restaurant lacks ambience and (most importantly) the menu does not change and no daily specials are offered so the children in particular soon exhausted choices from the menu and had to repeat dinners for several nights. We asked to be released from half board but instead of giving us a price for doing this the manager just gave us a curt "no". The service was friendly in the restaurant but quite often slow which was strange when there were so few diners on some occasions. Breakfast was good although what was on offer reduced quickly when a large group of American tourists stayed for a couple of nights. The staff could not quite seem to cope with influx in numbers even though this is a reasonably large hotel. It was our younger daughter's 6th birthday during our stay. The hotel was aware of this but did not acknowledge it at all. It would take little time and expense to make this sort of gesture - guests remember such things and are far more likely to return if they feel personally welcomed. As it was we felt the hotel was very impersonal and we would not return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devonlady45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
4.7 km away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
6.0 km away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
3.7 km away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villasanpaolo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villasanpaolo

Property: Villasanpaolo
Address: Strada Provinciale 95/14, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Gimignano
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,597 - ₹ 17,265
Hotel Class:4 star — Villasanpaolo 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villasanpaolo SPA & Wellness Hotel is a beautiful charming resort part of Whotels Worldeide circuit. The hotel is located in San Gimignano (Siena) surrounded by a private park, offer all kinds of amenities. Hotel consists of two Villas of 1800 to which was added the new Village welcomes guests into a world of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villasanpaolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Paolo
San Paolo Hotel
San Paolo Villa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing