We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Friendly, Comfy and Tasty” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel L'Antico Pozzo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Friendly, Comfy and Tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We were very pleased with our three night stay. This family run hotel is quiet even looking out over the main street of San Gimignano. The shutters block out the light and noise but this town usually is dead after 11 or 12 anyhow. Breakfast was good, fresh and sufficient for the morning. The beds were comfy and the staff very helpful. The rooms are nice size and it is close to everything. You can buy parking tickets in the hotel and Elizabetha and her brother and sister know the area very well. We will return for sure.

Room Tip: There are rooms on the backside too if you dont want to be on the main street side but you will miss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brewski00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor.

We sincerely appreciate your lovely feedback and are glad to know you enjoyed your stay. We are very proud of our ideal location: we are next to the main attractions of our lovely city but in a quiet area.

Thank you for your nice comment about all of us, we all hope to welcome you when you will return to San Gimignano!

With warmest regards

Emanuele Marro
owner
info@anticopozzo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    222
    43
    13
    4
See reviews for
109
383
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We were very disappointed by L'Antico Pozzo. First the positive--it is in the heart of San Gimignano which allows you to explore the town at night and in the early morning without the hordes of tourists. As far as the hotel goes, however, it is nothing special and is quite expensive for what you get. The room was quite stark with a very hard bed and hard pillow with scratchy bed linens. It looks like a dorm room. The bathroom was tiny and barely wide enough for one person. The air conditioner worked poorly and it was very hot. There was no charm and few amenities. I am very surprised by the ratings of this hotel but I believe they are based solely on its location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiscerningTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dearest Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience, I do agree with you about the great location of L'Antico Pozzo to explore San Gimignano and enjoy its local life, which is surely one of the most appreciated features usually highlighted by our Guests and an important added value to the overall stay, as well as the sober and elegant atmosphere of our historic Tuscan residence, the friendly & homely feel and quality of our services.

We much regret to know that your room was not according to your expectations and comfort needs. Had your situation been brought immediately to our attention we would have done our best in making a change which would have made your experience memorable.

We have 3 different room types in terms of size and decors and would have loved to offer you or upgrade one as per your preference when check-in: I do apologize to have missed this opportunity to do our best and meet your expectations, such like setting your mattress with our extra soft-pads or try different bed-linens as well as checking the performance of air conditioning fans.

As you can imagine we would much rather that issues like these be brought to our attention immediately so we can do our best to accomodate you.
Our sincere hope is to once again be able to serve you in the manner that expect and express.

With kindest regards

Emanuele Marro
owner
info@anticopozzo.com
+390577942014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo. We arrived in the pouring rain and called the hotel to find out how we could get there without getting soaked. The woman working was so nice and lead us right to the front door with our car. The room was beautiful, clean and romantic and looked out over a lovely court-yard. The breakfast was abundant and included cheeses, meats, nutella, breads, baked goods, eggs, fruit and nice coffee. It is right in the middle of the town and you can walk to any restaurant. I found the actual town to be quite touristy but a nice jump off point for a lovely car drive around Tuscany for wine tasting and back. The staff was incredibly helpful and thankfully suggested we head back to Florence on route 222 which was one of the most beautiful roadtrips I have ever taken. I would highly recommend this hotel......

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review of L'Antico Pozzo!

We are thrilled to read you had a great stay with us and enjoyed your room and the morning breakfast. Suggesting nice roads is a real pleasure for me , especially route 222 , which is my favourite when motorbiking!

We will be delighted to welcome you again in your next visit to san Gimignano!
With our warmest regards

Emanuele Marro
owner
info@anticopozzo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We loved the hotel and our room was huge and beautiful with a wood ceiling and beams. San Gimiginano is a great hilltop town for shopping...some really nice leather shops. The hotel is in a convient location. We loved the restaurant La Cisterna . The food was great and the view amazing..This was our second time to San Gimignano and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

The hotel is in the heart of the beautiful medieval town in San Gimignano. It is run by a family who welcomes you with open arms.

The hotel is immaculate! The staff is attentive. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. The bathrooms are remodeled. Some of the rooms have Etruscan paintings on the ceiling and walls. The breakfast is fantastic. The staff is helpful at organizing side trips, and they share your excitement while you discover Tuscany.

The location allows you to soak up the town’s atmosphere, particularly in the mornings and evenings while there are no tour buses. You almost feel like you are a part of the community.

While there, I met a couple who had been returning for 13 years! This is a very special place.

Room Tip: 20 is the room with paintings. 102 and 212 overlook the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you very much for sharing with great details your experience at L'Antico Pozzo!

We are all real happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay, reporting such lovely memories,we are proud of your mention about the homely feel, which is a real gratification for all of us!

We all hope to welcome you soon in your next trip to our lovely town!

With warmest regards

Emanuele Marro
owner
info@anticopozzo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
4.1 km away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#8 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.9 km away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Antico Pozzo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Antico Pozzo

Property: Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Address: Via San Matteo 87, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#5 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,678 - ₹ 11,251
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Antico Pozzo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish hotel in San Gimignano. Located in a superbly renovated historic building within the ancient walls of the medieval town, L’Antico Pozzo is the perfect backdrop for art lovers and travelers looking for sober and refined elegance. The peaceful and inspiring atmosphere of the hotel reflects the incomparable charm of the town that surrounds it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel L'Antico Pozzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Antico Pozzo
l Antico Pozzo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing