We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most stunning views of Tuscany in a wonderful location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cisterna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Cisterna Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Walton on the Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The most stunning views of Tuscany in a wonderful location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

My husband and I stayed in various hotels and villas in San Gimignano over 7 nights. We didn't pre-book our accomodation and were lucky to secure one night at La Cisterna Hotel. This was by far the best accomodation we had during the whole week.

We were offered the choice of three rooms and were given the keys to choose which one we wanted beforehand. Although we initially thought we would want the room with a view to the square, we were blown away when we saw the views across the countryside from a room at the back of the hotel. We stayed in room 81 on the second floor which had dual aspect views across Tuscany (from the bedroom) and another window with a view from the bathroom. There was a man playing a harp on the path below the room and we could smell the amazing Italian cuisine smells from the restaurant below (garlic and basil). It was the most romantic and memorable place (for location) that we have ever stayed.

The room was nice and very clean, and the bathroom the same. I wouldn't say there was anything fancy about the room itself but it has to have had the best views of any hotel room in Tuscany, it was truly unbeatable. The hotel is probably the best 3* I have ever seen, although having seen three different rooms there, I can see that you could have a completely different experience depending on your room.

The location is fantastic as you step out of the door into the main San Gimignano square and are surrounded by cafes and restaurants. We didn't have dinner in the main hotel restaurant but were very happy with the breakfast provided (the best we had). The lady serving the coffee at breakfast was very polite and friendly as were the reception staff (I note that others have had different experiences of friendliness but everyone was nice to us).

Our only disappointment about the stay was that it was not for longer, as unfortunately the room was booked for the rest of the week meaning that we had to vacate after one night. We wished we had have booked this hotel in advance for the entire week but will ensure we do so in the future (although we'll make a special request for room 81).

All in all, great value, a very comfortable room and views to die for!!!

Room Tip: Would recommend opting for countryside views rather than views of the square as the room was bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PHOTOFAB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    298
    99
    28
    7
See reviews for
109
396
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goring on Thames
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Invited to a wedding in the beautiful Collegiate church in San G, we opted for four days in Hotel La Cisterna which is central and we had no wish to hire a car. When we booked through Thomas Cook, the only room available was a four bedded room at 160 euros, so we winced but booked it all the same. When we (two) arrived, the receptionist checked to see if another room was available, but there wasn't, but immediately reduced the rate to 120 euros which seemed decent enough. We would have liked a room overlooking the Tuscan hills, as recommended by Tripadvisor contributors, but no luck. We had Room 69, which with the two extra beds removed was quite spacious and overlooked the square with large double shuttered opening windows. No aircon, which didn't seem to matter even at 29C as the room had a very high vaulted ceiling.We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, and the 'grumpy middle aged man with glasses' referred to by an earlier reviewer was, we thought, just somewhat shy, and self-conscious of his less than comprehensive english. He ran the restaurant quietly and brilliantly. He was very warm and welcoming to us anyway, and went to some trouble on the first night to get us a table for dinner when we hadn't reserved one. We loved the breakfasts and dinners of wild boar, stuffed rabbit and reasonably priced house wine and local grappa to finish. Coffee very weird though. We had lunch outside a couple of times as well. San G is quite unforgettable and so is Hotel La Cisterna. We bought an old photograph from 1925 of the square and there is the hotel La Cisterna looking much the same, with two mafia-like cars parked nearby! Incidentally, we found the journey by public transport from Pisa airport to be quite difficult - two train changes and a bus. We opted for the easier option of a taxi on the return journey at 120 euros. Would love to come here again. We haven't eaten in a nicer environment for a very long time.

Room Tip: Nothing wrong with 69 but would have loved one with a balcony overlooking the splendid countryside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenFrankel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crib point
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

The room was old but very clean & very well appointed. There is an airconditioner but it took a long time to cool the room. It was located in the Piazza & central to everything. The bathroom was huge. Staff are very helpful & offers free Internet.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank didi3958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasse, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Great facility,
Great rooms and view,
mediocre food at best and
a very, very, very Grumpy restaurant manager. (middle age man with grey hair and glasses who is one of the owner). The desires or likings of his guest are far from being as important as the newspaper morning news........
Thank god the servers and some of the other staff are smilling because this gentleman is the reason we will not choose that establishment again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank labonnebouffe026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

My boyfriend, Dave, and I, Natash, a visited the unforgettable town of San Gimignano in Tuscany for 4 days during our Italian adventure.

We chose San Gimignano as the center point for our tour of Tuscan’s Chianti Region. We read so much about this town, and expected a lot, but nothing compared to the amazing reality. This has to be one of the most magical places we have ever seen! Books and websites do not do it justice. When you arrive to San Gimignano you feel as if you have been transported back to medieval times.

San Gimignano is a walled town in the heart of the Chianti Region of Tuscany. It is located on top of a hill at over 1000 feet above the sea level and surrounded by lush, green countryside. With its 14 original towers still standing intact, it is easy to see why San Gimignano is nicknamed Medieval Manhattan.

After our visit to Florence, we took our Fiat Cubo hot rod on an easy 45 minute drive to San Gimignano.

We chose Hotel La Cisterna because of its central location on the main piazza of the town, Piazza della Cisterna. . This family-owned hotel is charming and quaint with only 50 rooms. We booked a room in their nicest category, with a balcony and the view overlooking the endless Tuscan countryside. It was very comfortable, spacious and furnished with nice antiques. Our room’s balcony was the perfect place to see the sunset while enjoying a Limoncello and some delicious prosciutto. To fully appreciate the beauty of the green Tuscan countryside, we highly recommend this room category. Room rate includes a basic, cold breakfast.

Tourists are prohibited from parking within the town walls. You are allowed to drive to the hotel to unload or load your luggage, but after that you are required to park at one of the remote parking lots. Parking lots 1 and 2 are closest to the hotel. After parking you can take a walk uphill or hop on one of the frequent shuttles that drop you off right in front of the hotel. We chose to take the long walk the first time to absorb the atmosphere, but since it was very hot, we decided to opt for shuttle service the rest of our stay.

During our San Gimignano visit, we dined at several restaurants around town. The best restaurant by far Ristorante Le Terrazze, was right inside our hotel. We dined there twice. Located on the top floor of the hotel, the restaurant offered a warm atmosphere with wonderful panoramic views of the Tuscan valleys and hills. The cuisine consisted of typical, rustic Tuscan dishes paired with delicious local wines. Dinner reservations are required. We highly recommend Ristorante Le Terrazze.

Located on the bottom floor of the hotel is the Bar lounge. You can enjoy a tasty aperitif, cocktail, grappe, limoncello or a glass of wine from mid-afternoon into the evening.

Small, stone streets and piazzas of the walled town boast many shops, restaurants and tasty gelato shops. For something a bit unusual we highly recommend a visit to the Museo della Tortura (Museum of Torture) where you can see many medieval torture devices including the original Iron Maiden, and I am not referring to the rock band.

During our San Gimignano stay we took two day trip. These were wonderful, scenic drives through the lush, green countryside of the Chianti Region.

During the first day trip we visited the quaint villages of Castellina, Radda and Gaiole in Chianti. While in Radda, we visited the Casa Porciatti Wine Store where we tasted some amazing local wines. We bought a few bottles of delicious wine including a rare bottle of Chianti that we were not supposed to open for 3 years. We are anxiously awaiting the time that we can enjoy this wine. This store also offered a nice variety of Limoncello and the owner taught us that authentic Limoncello specifies the amount of lemon peel on the bottle with 15% being ideal.

Continuing on this day trip we visited Castello di Meleto. This beautiful, imposing castle is located on top of a hill near the village of Gaiole. Guided tours of the castle are offered several times a day. Prior to the tour and decided to have lunch at the restaurant at the foot of the hill. We are sorry that we forgot the name of the restaurant, but it is the only restaurant on the right side, at the bottom of the hill on the way up to the castle. We enjoyed some delicious Tuscan dishes and the chef actually gave us his recipes for Tuscan pork and beef and bread soup. We are happy to say that we have made these several times and they always turned out great!

On our second day trip we visited Siena. Being a popular tourist destination, and since parking within city is not permitted, finding parking was difficult. We ended up parking at the bottom of the cliff in the San Francesco parking lot. It is connected to a set of escalators that take you right to the walled city. It is very convenient and we recommend this parking lot. While in Siena we had a lovely lunch and visited a number of attractions including the magnificent Il Campo and the breathtaking Duomo.

Visiting Tuscany was the highlight of our trip to Italy. Having had such a memorable, amazing experience, we hope to return to Hotel La Cisterna in San Gimignano someday soon. Arrivederci amici!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms with view of the countryside are the best option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SunFloater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#10 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cisterna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cisterna Hotel

Property: La Cisterna Hotel
Address: Piazza Della Cisterna 23, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,357 - ₹ 11,655
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cisterna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cisterna Hotel, located in the earth of San Gimignano, is the right place to be close to the main attractions and to the little shops of the main street. The elegance and simplicity of the furniture is combined with discretion with all modern comforts, a harmonious fusion of past and future. The family's commitment has always been to welcome its guest with hospitality and professionalism. Comfortable rooms with air conditioning, TVsat, mini fridge, hairdryer, safe and Wi-Fi Internet. Buffet breakfast with gluten free products . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your La Cisterna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Cisterna
La Cisterna San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing