We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Podere Bellavista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Podere Bellavista
Ranked #8 of 67 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Great under-stated accommodation in Tuscany. Beautiful setting in the hills of Tuscany, surrounded by vineyards and olive trees. We stayed in Villino La Quercia which is lovely and private with its own terrace to sit on and sip away at the wine collected from the day's adventure. Other apartments may not have the same privacy but there are still common areas to enjoy the views. Warm and helpful hosts. San Gimignano is not far away if you want some more dining out options, but there is also a lovely local restaurant up the hill.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla8_0_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2010

It's not too hard to find , we managed to set the TomTom GPS to Racciato, then when you reach Racciato just follow the sign all the way to Bellavista !

We lived in Virginia's dreamy little house overlooking the hill with short trees and a swimming pool....

We really really enjoy our stay in Bellavista nevertheless a big disaster happened! Our car stucked in the garage for some reason we can't make it out , the more we tried the more we stucked and finally we hit the wooden column at the right and the front! GReat! The BMW!

we seeked for help from other residents , yelling like nuts , but can you imagine how nice and friendly those residents were ? and also, they were really smart! i don't know how they make it , after discussing in italian which we didn't understand a bit and using all the gestures , our car was out ! safely ! without any scratches on it ! Amazing isn't it? i mean, what kind of physics professor could solve this kind of problem? And they made it ! they 've tried it for at least 40 minutes i guess...even now, my heart is still filled with profound gratitute to the old italian couple and the artist from Netherland. So , my advice : do not park your car in the wooded trap...the sandy road could make you crazy...

one thing i have to mention, Virginia's pastry was really nice ! and she is pretty too! The host will ask you what time do you want to have your breakfast and then she will be waiting for you at the dining area the next morning preparing human coffee and patries and others ....we loved Bellavista !

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woanroulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Stayed for 2 nights in the Virginia apartment which was set round the back of the main building parallel to the lovely clean pool.

The facilities in the apartment were good, the place was clean, the kitchen well equipped and just outside there was an adequate bbq on a private terrace.

The walk into San Gimignano via a small wild area of trees etc was an experience and the large numbers of fire flies made the dusk stroll almost magical. Be careful though the path is very uneven and shouldn't be attempted too late in the evening when it's getting too dark.

Virginia is a lovely host who never stops smiling.

All in all a wonderful place, highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank MartinLLivingston_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Hotel is great location in that you can walk easily to san gimignano and its pretty enough but be warned that in Cecila room there are just very thin partition walls between rooms. It felt like being in a caravan. When the neighbours cooked the smells even came straight through like we were in their kitchen when we were in bed! In the end we had to ask the next door to not have tv on or even talk above whispers! Luckily they were going to bed themselves so we agreed to whisper too but it really was the thinnest wall I've ever had in a hotel/appartment! Be warned

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PODERE-BELLAVISTA, Proprietario at Podere Bellavista, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Hello again!!


I' m sorry for your bad experience in our place! Yes you had reason, because the Cecilia bedroom has a thin partition wall, but last year we did renovation works in the bedroom to solve the proble you encountered and now the situation is much better!!
I hope that you can come again in our place!!

All my best

Virginia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

This was our fifth visit to Bellavista and each time it seems to get better.The views are spectacular from every angle particularly from the Villa Alice at sunrise.Family could not be more helpful. If you like typical rustic Tuscan cuisine then the occasional meals that Virginia conjours up in the small enoteca above the apartments will be appreciated particularly their own red and white wines and the in house Olive Oil , all for 25 Euros.

Could go on but after five or six adjectives it would become a little boring to the point that you might think i am in their employ. Go visit it yourself you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerrad0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.5 km away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,349 reviews
4.9 km away
Molino di Foci
Molino di Foci
#7 of 29 in San Gimignano
225 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
670 reviews
1.5 km away
Residenza d'Epoca Palazzo Buonaccorsi
4.3 km away
Il Vicario
Il Vicario
#5 of 67 in San Gimignano
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Bellavista

Address: Localita Racciano 43 | Siena, Toscana, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range: ₹ 5,315 - ₹ 8,276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Podere Bellavista is an old refurbished country house, in the middle of Tuscany,consisting of a manor house and two cottages sorrounded by wide meadows, vineyards and oliveyards. Situated on the slope of the hill opposite San Gimignano (Siena), Podere Bellavista offers a panoramic view of the old town and of the stunning hilltop skyline of towers. Podere Bellavista offers accommodations in both rooms and apartments, to satisfy the different needs of guests, who have the chance to join us in our charming dining room on the first floor of the manor house and feast upon our genuine Tuscan cuisine (only for the evening). Each apartment is self-catering and available with a private, outdoor area with chairs and tables, and a personal barbecue to eat, relax, and enjoy the beautiful view. Guests can enjoy wide meadows equipped with sun beds, lounge chairs, and tables, and an outdoor swimming pool, that faces San Gimignano and the surrounding hills complete with patio, sun beds, and bath towels. Due to its location, only three kilometres far from San Gimignano which can be reached by foot through a country path (1,5 kilometres), and only 700 metres from the road to Volterra, Podere Bellavista is the ideal place to discover Tuscany and its many treasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Podere Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing