We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and clean, good for a short stay in Pisa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bonanno
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Abingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and clean, good for a short stay in Pisa”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This hotel has many good points and has a good feel.
Breakfast buffet is excellent - choice of fresh or tinned fruit, juices, yoghurts, 3 types of cereal including unsweetened muesli, egg (scrambled or boiled) with sausuage and bacon, cold meat and cheese, croissants and pastries, bread rolls, spread and choice of jams, plus teas and (strong) coffee. Dinner menu has choice of about 4 items for 3 savoury courses, plus desserts. The breakfast and dinner menus don't change.
There is a separate bar serving hot and cold drinks and a range of snacks.
Wireless internet and safes in bedrooms are included at no extra charge. There is also a free computer from which boarding passes etc can be printed. Free car parking is available behind the hotel - often quite full so a smaller car is easier to park.
Staff are extremely helpful, most speak good English.
Our room (315) was spotlessly clean.
The hotel looks out over an underpass with very noisy drain covers (although the double glazing cuts out almost all the noise, and the road is quiet at night).
Walking time to the Campo dei Miracoli (leaning tower, etc) is around 10 minutes. Walking to Pisa Central Railway Station is about 30 minutes, but the local "LAM ROSSO" (red) bus line stops a few minutes walk away - runs direct to central PISA and the airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormanGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    599
    352
    98
    40
See reviews for
303
670
42
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

WE stayed for on e night recently as we had an early flight from pisa airport we decided to stay in pisa for a nite. we arrived early at twelve and the hotel checked us in withhout any fuss . this allowed us the extra few hours in the room. the hotel is close to all pisa has to offer. the staff were superb also free parkinfg. it is very easy to reach by car and only a ten minute drive to drop off rental car early the following morning. the bed was very comfortable too.. all in all very well run hotel and very comfortable.. i would reccomend this hotel to anyone ..

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalysty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed at The Grand Hotel Bonanno during May for 5 nights using it as a base to tour Pisa, Lucca, Siena, Cinque Terre and Florence. The hotel is a short walk from Pisa San Rossore railway station and from there you can catch trains to all place visited. The station is unmanned and tickets can be purchased from a machine which is not too difficult to operate.

We found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Booking in at reception was swift. We had a room on the car park side of the hotel on the first floor. In the room there is a free safe where you can programme in your own security code. The room has a safe feel about it and outside the window was an electronic shutter which acts as a black out for those who need a little extra sleep. We found the room very comfortable although fairly small, it had air conditioning, a TV, refrigerator, hair dryer and a very comfortable bed.

Breakfast was very good with a selection of fruit juices, cereals and yogurt. There was also cooked food as well as cold meats and cheese. Tea and coffee was also available although the hot water for tea could have been hotter. We dined in the hotel once and found the food and service excellent. The menu in the restaurant remains the same every day. The hotel bar is reasonably priced compared to other hotels we have stayed in.

The quickest way to walk into Pisa was via the underpass outside, its not pretty and can be noisy.

On the whole we would recommend this hotel for people wishing to tour the Tuscany area. There is not much to do in Pisa apart from the obvious tower which can be done in half a day. But be there early to avoid thousands of tourists!!! Make use of the train, all the destinations we visited are about an hour away, Florence was beautiful, Lucca was our favourite place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the car park side, it is much quieter and away from the underpass which at times c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owlincallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel and were pleasantly surprised how nice it was after reading some of the reviews. Short stroll to the Leaning Tower, even though the immediate vicinity was not too appealing. It was in a quiet, and safe residential area, but no shops or restaurants until you got to the tower area. All areas of the hotel were immaculate, breakfast was excellent, and you could order freshly made espresso or cappucinos. The rooms has electric shutters, operated from the bedside light switches, which shut out the noise and light. The bathroom was spotless, and modern. All staff were immaculately turned out, and very helpful and polite. An excellent choice if you are staying for a few nights in Pisa and dont want to be too far from the airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeleedsLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

On arrival at the hotel, we were a bit disappointed to see grafitti on buildings nearby and an underpass where vehicles regularly drove over a noisy grate (which we could hear in our room which was at the front). Our room was very dated and tired but joy of joy, my husband was pleased at the ash tray on the dressing table - yuk! The location is great for the Leaning Tower and for returning to the airport the next day, which was the reason for our stay.

We had an evening meal in the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised - very helpful waiters and good food. Overall a pleasant stay but one night was enough.

Room Tip: Not really a 4 star hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaileyL40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
4.6 km away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,680 reviews
1.2 km away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
1.6 km away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#8 of 68 in Pisa
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
727 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel Repubblica Marinara
0.6 km away
Allegroitalia Pisa Tower Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bonanno? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bonanno

Property: Grand Hotel Bonanno
Address: Via Carlo Francesco Gabba 17, 56122, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,908 - ₹ 13,497
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bonanno 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Grand Hotel Bonanno is just 800 mt from the Leaning Tower and the old town center, strategically placed near the main road of access to the town. The Hotel has 89 rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, Sky TV, minibar, hair dryer and safe.Furthermore the hotel has a free private parking area, perfect for your trip in Tuscany. Monuments, university, railway station, motorway, the Galileo Galilei International Airport, and the Congress Hall are not far away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Bonanno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa
Hotel Bonanno Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing