We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
162
32
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
32
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard garden yogurt an oasis of calm place to stay a wonderful stay central location would definitely stay here again train station cinque terre tortoises fiona apartment florence tower taxi comfort earplugs
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Relais Sassetti last year during my trip to Italy. I cannot say enough about this bella B & B located in Pisa. I came across Relais Sassetti when searching on the tripadvisor website. I booked immediately due partly because of the excellent reviews, the accommodation website, and because I was looking for a small B & B that provided the true Italian experience. Simona's hospitality was lovely and she was very helpful, even offering to book a taxi for my departure if I required one. Simona provided maps of Pisa and sightseeing advice as well. I had the joy of staying in the Well Room and having access to the lovely courtyard...a piece of paradise. The breakfast in the courtyard or outside the Well Room was devine with fresh pastries and delicious caffe. The location in Pisa was excellent. I highly recommend staying at Relais Sassetti for anyone who wants to experience the real Italy, rather than just another hotel room.

Room Tip: I had the pleasure of staying in the Well Room which included a large bed with ensuite, and was ideal for singles or couples. I also had the opportunity of touring the apartment which has a kitchenette and would suit either couples or families.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Our stay in Italy included various stops in all the major touristy cities. Our criteria for choosing an hotel/B&B is pretty much uniform but we were pleasantly surprised upon arriving at our B&B in Pisa. We expected all the standard offerings of an international establishment: cleanliness, punctuality, and compliance with the services advertised (breakfast, parking pass, etc.) but Simona received us at the Relais Sassetti with all the typical warmth and openness of a traditional italian family and went above and beyond the experience we were expecting. She provided us with more maps and brochures, local information and tips on where to eat and what to see than we knew what to do with. We felt at home in our well preserved 14th century setting, and despite the beauty and history of the B&B we had all of the modern comforts that we could possibly need. The B&B is well thought out and the layout is comfortable for couples or families or even pairs of couples travelling together. We had a well stocked kitchen, air conditioning and heat, hair dryer and all the little details in the room from soaps to reading material made us feel like we weren´t in a hotel far away from home, but in another world where the frenzy of our daily lives couldnt touch us. The garden outside the window is private and quaint and the tranquility is refreshing. The location is also ideal, walking distance from the train station, Leaning Tower, and central boulevard BUT simultaneously far enough removed that you don´t feel like you´re "just another tourist". If you want to get away, travel literally to another world without feeling out of place, the Relais Sassetti is the place to make it happen. My husband and I fell in love all over again and were sad to say goodbye to our little piece of Heaven. We will definitetly be going back again on our next trip to Italy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The entrance to Relais Sassetti is behind a large door on Via San Francesco (make sure you press the B&B button, as there are several Sassettis at the same address) and leads through the entrance hall to a gate in front of the grassed courtyard.

We stayed in the Well Room on the ground floor, which opens directly on to the courtyard.
The Well Room has a beautiful ceiling fresco and terrazzo floor. The en-suite bathroom, by contrast, is all modern Italian design with an excellent shower. We also had the use of the sitting room next door - although we sat outside in the evening, along with the two tortoises.

The location is wonderful, with all the major sights only a ten minutes' walk away and many restaurants very close by. Despite being in the centre of Pisa, the house and courtyard are very quiet, especially with the doors and windows closed (you will need to close them anyway to discourage mosquitoes).

Simona served breakfast in the courtyard, which included fresh pastries and excellent coffee and also yoghurt, rolls, jam and so on. She was very friendly and helpful, telling us about the history of the house and her family. On our final day, she booked a taxi for us and we were able to leave our luggage in the sitting room while we walked around the city.

We would certainly stay at Relais Sassetti in future and would recommend it to anyone visiting the historic centre of Pisa.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxonWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We've recently returned from our fourth stay at Relais Sassetti so that says everything about how comfortable the apartment is and how welcoming Simona and her family are. Pisa is a great centre for exploring Tuscany and the Relais Sassetti is perfectly positioned in the centre of the old town so within walking distance of many restaurants and bars. Pisa's big advantage is that most tourists only visit during the day so by evening it's mainly locals and students from the university left and, as a result, restaurant prices are much lower than in tourist Meccas like Florence and Venice. The apartment overlooks an inner garden so it is peaceful and quiet and when the weather is warm breakfast outside is a real treat. We're already planning to return in 2012.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendys353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Simona was very helpful and nice during our family stay September 2011. Our family of 6 included two children ages 7 and 10. We stayed in the Lion apartment. The boys had fun with the Ping Pong and watching the turtles in the yard. There is a market directly across the street that came in handy. The apartment was clean and had a nice kitchen. It was close enough to walk to everything. It was like staying with family in Pisa.
We enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews