We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$128
eDreams$125
FindHotel$128
Agoda.com$125
Etrip$128
Tripadvisor$125
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
205
51
7
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
205
51
7
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed longer breakfast is served large bathroom old city heart
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2019 via mobile

Look no further, this is the best B&B in Lucca. Great value. This is my second stay at San Lorenzo. Will stay there again on my next visit. It’s outstanding in every way. The rooms are very clean, great showers, very comfortable beds. Breakfast is plentiful and includes eggs if you wish. Daniela and staff are warm and welcoming and very helpful with information. It is centrally located, just steps from the Main Street, Via Filllungo, yet on a quiet street. I highly recommend it, you won’t be disappointed.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank beatriz337
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 October 2019 via mobile

What a hidden gem this place is.
The staff could not be more helpful and made your stay feel like you were somewhere very special.
The abbiance takes you back in time with its decor and good old fationed service.
With it being in the heart of the old town, nothing is too far to walk to. That's if you don't get lost within the winding cobbled streets. But that just adds to the charm.
We will be going back to the San Lorenzo some day in the future for sure.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RikkiL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 September 2019

This splendid establishment within the walls of Lucca is just the perfect venue for an excellent Tuscan experience. The property is housed in a former palazzo which exudes the class of the past. The modern ensuite bathrooms however afford todays modern convenience. The fact that there are only five bedrooms on offer coupled with the large exquisitely decorated sitting room lends to the feeling of a private and relaxing venue.
Breakfast is well varied. What really sets Relais San Lorenzo apart though are the wonderful people. It is rare to be hosted by people of such grace and kindness. Polite, very friendly and always willing to help or advise. They are beyond superb.
We have just had the most perfect stay of five nights of sheer enjoyment and can absolutely without question give the highest recommendation to just book and see for yourself. We can't wait to go back.
Thanks to Daniela, Michele and Anil from Robert and Jennifer.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2019

This B&B is well located for exploring the city of Lucca. It is based in an old building and is a mix of traditional elegance and modern facilities. The staff are very helpful. We had a minor problem with our room and it was resolved immediately and effectively. We had forgotten to book a parking space and were directed to free parking, a bonus in this busy city. Breakfast was very good and served in a lovely room.

Date of stay: September 2019
2  Thank joyceclemie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2019

Stayed for only one night in June in the room labelled "Turandot".

The first issue is in trying to find this place. Maps brought us outside of a three storey building with two large wooden doors and a large sign advertising the Museo Domus Romana Lucca which exhibits the ruins of a first century AD Roman villa. The building sits on top of the old villa. Relais San Lorenzo shares this doorway but it is only when you walk well into the foyer of this building towards the courtyard at the back and effectively into another foyer that you see the first sign post for Relais San Lorenzo in the form of a wooden arrow pointing to a steel grated doorway that is locked and has a bell.

Someone on reception came down and showed us into the parking area which is a gated uncovered courtyard. Parking cost EUR 15-00 per night.

We were then shown up to reception and our room. Second issue. There are 28 steps up to reception - no lift. The gentleman who showed us to the parking helped us up the stairs with our bags and, when we left the next morning, someone else helped us back down to the car.

Our room was very large with quite high ceilings. Most of the furniture was antique which suited the room. There was a queen sized bed (medium comfort), two cabinets either side of the bed with lamps on them, a dressing table with mirror, a padded chair and an ordinary chair, a free standing floor lamp, a table with tea and coffee making facilities and a small wardrobe with hanging space and some shelves. There were several large rugs on the floor and a flat screen TV mounted on the wall.

There was a safe but this was issue three. The safe was small and in a corner in the very bottom of the wardrobe such that you had to get down on hands and knees to read the instructions and enter the numbers.

WIFI was included and worked fairly well.

What didn't work well was issue four being the non-existent air-conditioning that was advertised on the B & B's website. We looked high and low but definitely no air-conditioning in our room. This lead to issue five - noise. It was hot in the room and we couldn't open the windows because it was too noisy outside and there was also a lot of noise coming from the room opposite with lots of banging of doors.

The bathroom was very large with a pedestal wash basin but a three shelf cabinet on wheels to store tolietries. There was a walk in shower with both rainwater and hand held nozzles. Water pressure was good. There was no bath but there was a bidet.

Both the room and the bath room were very clean.

Issue five was that reception was only staffed at certain times of the morning and afternoon. This meant that when you went out you needed to carry a bunch of four keys being one for the huge outer entrance shared with the museum (as this door was locked when the museum closed), another to the gated doorway to the stairs, another at the top of the stairs into the B & B and then one for the door into your room. First world problem I know but somewhat annoying.

Breakfast was a continental affair held in the lovely communal lounge/dining area. Breakfast consisted of a selection of two types of cereals, milk, orange juice, yoghurts, jam, cheese and a number of different types of tarts, biscuits and pastries. Not a great selection for anyone who was gluten free.

Staff at both check-in, check-out and breakfast were friendly and helpful.

Location. The B & B is more to the north of this walled city whereas the Cathedral and some of the other attractions are more towards the centre and south of the city. However, nowhere in Lucca is more than a 10-15 minute walk away and there is lots to see along the way.

Date of stay: June 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews