We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing! Paper thin walls...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Corte Degli Dei
Ranked #21 of 173 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing! Paper thin walls...”
Reviewed 2 November 2010

On the surface this hotel seemed good- decent location, parking, nice swimming pool and oudoor area, and not far to walk into the centre of Lucca. However, there were several things that we found very disappointing (especially after reading good reviews on here?!). First of all- we were given a room on the ground floor next to reception so we could hear traffic passing by as well as every word that was said at the reception desk!!. There is also a gate outside that buzzes as people put code in and unlock it. We went to bed at around 11.00pm and couldn't get to sleep til around 1.00am as every time a hotel resident came back we heard the gate buzz, open and then bang shut! Then you clearly hear people talking outside the room, walk up the stairs to their room, and even go to the toilet! So this along with the traffic noises meant we had a VERY bad nights sleep! However- we mentioned this and were moved to another room (2nd floor) but told we could only stay in it for a couple of nights and then were told we had to move again- a little inconvenient!! Other rooms were quieter but walls still seemed paper thin- and again could hear people using their toilets! In all 3 rooms we stayed in- hairdryers were not working properly which was a huge issue for me having long hair! And in the 2nd room the heating didn't work so it was very cold! I was also surprised that although rooms were cleaned everyday there was no attention to detail- towel rails and heaters were thick with dust. Other problem for me was having to eat breakfast in a large tent outside- it was VERY cold. To be fair after 3 days breakfast was then served inside but I had 3 days of shivering my way through the packets of cakes! So overall- location ok for Lucca (15 min walk), rooms look quite nice (and spacious) on the surface and beds comfy- but sound-proofing a real issue!! If you do choose to stay here make sure you don't get a ground floor room- you will be VERY disappointed if you do! My husband and I (both aged 30) go on a lot of short breaks in Europe and this is the only time I have felt the need to write a bad review on here!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heathlovescitybreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STEFANO G, Proprietario at Villa Corte Degli Dei, responded to this review, 24 May 2017
Try to come now and see our difference, we wait you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    131
    54
    15
    21
See reviews for
81
199
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gliwice, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Perfect, tranquil weekend in Lucca in a hotel that looks like a Medieval castle...a Tuscan villa. We asked the owner for a pick-up from Pisa airport so we got to the place with no problems -no stress, no worry in the evening, no searching for the place. Just got to the hotel and the apartment was waiting for us - 2 rooms (one with a cooker, table and kitchen utensils). Breakfast at the pool - cereal, coffee, cheese, yoghurt, croissants. The weather was gorgeous for that. We asked for white wine....and we got that! Very friendly and helpful people. The pool was clean with deck chairs and small tables around. It's a 20min walk to Lucca walls but it was a nice walk. The hotel looks great..so stylish..cozy.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franeczka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Beautiful, typically Tuscan style villa with rooms on 3 floors. I requested a ground floor room as I am expecting and read about (steep staircase from others reviews) which was huge - no problem with noise from road or hotel itself prob due to the thickness of the walls and blackout shutters and curtains kept it dark and cool. Breakfast is served poolside in a permanent marquee and is help yourself to toast, cereal, eggs, ham and cheese. The pool itself is GORGEOUS (not heated) and surrounding garden is landscaped with gazebos, sofas and a hammock. This place was heaven, we spent lazy days on loungers by the pool and walked into Lucca each evening which took approx 15mins to the city walls. Felt perfectly safe walking home again near to midnight.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helipad1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2009

Villa Corte Degli Dei is in a great location and has a lovely swimming pool for those hot Tuscan days. Unfortunately our stayed was ruined by the fact our air-conditioning was not working on 2 nights of a 3 night stay and on the last night it was 'fixed' and continually leaked a great amount of water on to the floor. The staff informed us the air-conditioning systems were a constant problem so why do the owners not update them? We went to Villa Corte Degli Dei for a relaxing break for our wedding anniversary but in fact we were so tired that we were glad when we got home. Lucca is a beautiful place, do visit, but as it's so hot, make sure you book somewhere that actually keeps you cool!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJT76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STEFANO G, Proprietario at Villa Corte Degli Dei, responded to this review, 24 February 2017
thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2007

Just come back from a week at this lovely bed and breakfast. Stefano, the manager was incredibly helpful and would bend over backwards to make your stay more comfortable. Unfortunately, the owner was visiting the week we were there and he wasn't very child friendly. The accommodation was comfortable, the breakfast was typical continental breakfast but be warned that all other food is frozen, microwave meals. The location is perfect as both Pisa and Florence are very easy to get to by train from Lucca. The pool at the B & B is absolutely wonderful and my kids thought it was the best part of the trip!

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Loubyloo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STEFANO G, Proprietario at Villa Corte Degli Dei, responded to this review, 24 February 2017
Google Translation
grazieeee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
2.2 km away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#9 of 48 in Lucca
910 reviews
2.9 km away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 48 in Lucca
375 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#7 of 48 in Lucca
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Relais Inn Lucca
Relais Inn Lucca
#20 of 173 in Lucca
180 reviews
0.5 km away
La Chiusa delle Monache
La Chiusa delle Monache
#24 of 173 in Lucca
51 reviews
1.6 km away
B&B L'Antica Bifore
B&B L'Antica Bifore
#4 of 173 in Lucca
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Corte Degli Dei? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Corte Degli Dei

Property: Villa Corte Degli Dei
Address: Via Dei Franceschini 328/B, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,337 - ₹ 20,535
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Corte Degli Dei 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Corte Degli Dei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing