We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
101
24
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
24
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews her husband train station bed and breakfast visited lucca pastries benito anna hostess bikes cycle mosquitoes snore city cyclists cheese
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2014

A charming B&B outside the city walls of Lucca. We loved this delightful place. We were sorry that we were staying only one night on our way to Bologna. The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms are also large for Europe. The proprietors were so welcoming and warm. We could not not get over the generous delicious breakfast with Italian arias playing while we ate. It was magical.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseR197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four nights, using Al Tondone as base for excursions in the area. The owner, Anna, was very helpful and genuinly caring. For example, she went with us to the pharmacy to help with translating.

The property feels like living in someones home, and the veranda was perfect for breakfasts (served with homegrown tomatoes and fruit) as well as for afternoon reading/ playing games. Our 4-bed room was fine, but would on its own not stand out as extraordinary.

Lucca city is an easy 10 min bike ride away from the property, and bikes can borrowed (although they were not all in perfect condition). My husband found that the trip to Lucca, one lap in the city wall and back was a perfect morning run (8-9 km)! There was even a bakery on the way.

Our only complaint was the many mosquitoes, which probably hatch in the stream nearby..

Date of stay: July 2014
1  Thank moosemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I'm tardy writing this, for my wife and I stayed at Al Tondone on June 19. Al Tondone is convenient to the old city of Lucca. Our room was very nice, spacious, and clean. The custom-built breakfast room is magical, breakfast was extremely nice, and proprietor Anna is so very warm and pleasant. We could not have been happier.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srqtpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Al Tondone is a Bed and Breakfast very nice in Lucca. The owners, Anna and Benito, make you feel very welcome. Although it is not located in a central area, it is very easy to get there using the free bikes provided by them.
The breakfast is very good. Wi-Fi connection worked very well.

Room tip: All bedrooms seem to be quiet and nice. If you like air conditioning, just make sure it is working very well.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anamariaahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We booked to stay 4 nights in this B&B in March 2013, received my confirmation number. I also spoke to Anna the proprietor and received a confirmation email from her dated 19 March 2013.

When we arrived in Lucca on 5 September we were told by Anna there were no rooms available for us.

Thank goodness I didn't pay a deposit in advance.

Jim Mc

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews