We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Al Tondone
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (126)
    Filter reviews
    126 results
    Traveller rating
    98
    24
    3
    0
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    98
    24
    3
    0
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsb bair conannahostessbikescyclecity
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    25 - 30 of 126 reviews
    Reviewed 16 October 2011

    Anna welcomed us with warmth and made our stay memorable. The inn and grounds are idyllic, especially the sun room where we had breakfast feasts every morning. Anna helped us navigate our way around Lucca and to the Cinque Terre, and called around, so that we could visit a winery during our stay. She provides WiFi, as well, so that we could talk to family back home. Although we didn't use the bicycles, they were available, so next time we will cycle the short distance to Lucca and pedal around the ramparts of the old city.
    Arnie and Peggy Johnson, Granada Hills, CA


    A

    • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank pegjohnson
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 September 2011

    Everybody reading this post must keep in mind that I am not a B&B fan, but due to previous excellent opinions expressed here, my husband and I decided to give this place a chance.
    We will never be interested in coming back to Al Tondone, even though Lucca is a great place to visit.

    First, the location- even with our performant GPS we barely found it. Also, the road to Lucca passes through unpleasant sites; you can’t enjoy a bike ride in an industrial area!

    The room was very basic, no air conditioning, no TV, nor the mentioned balcony. We couldn’t spend any time in the praised garden because mosquitoes would attack even during the day hours.

    The breakfast, except some bruschetta, consisted mainly in some groceries (cheese and ham) you can buy from a gas station, nothing cooked or home-made.
    The first day we had to wait more than an hour on the front gate, no one cared about our previous mail announcing the estimated time of our arrival.

    All in all it was a disappointing accommodation, meeting only budget requirements.

    • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank alex a
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 August 2011

    This place is a gem. We loved that it was outside the city of Lucca, but with bikes provided so we could ride into Lucca through the countryside. Anna was a delight. The breakfast was superior to other places we stayed, served in a great porch roomoverlooking the gardens. Would stay here again just to see Anna. Benito was a gem, too.

    • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank moonlake68
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 August 2011

    My husband and I had a lovely time staying at Al Tondone outside of Lucca. The house was charming as was Anna, one of sweetest hostesses we've ever met. She went out of her way with everything. The breakfast was very thorough (from cereal, tea, coffee, cheeses, yogurt etc) and our room was clean, pretty and well maintained. My husband and I also shared a bottle of wine on the porch listening to classical music and crickets...very surreal. The walk into town is far so use the bikes (which are free) or take your car. If we are ever able to stay in Lucca we will most definitely be returning to Al Tondone.

    • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank KTB78
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 August 2011

    Expectations were high after everything everybody has posted about this place and we were not disappointed. Anna & Benito were so incredibly welcoming and lovely it really made our visit to the lovely city of Lucca special. Their home is beautiful with a great garden. The room was spacious and clean with a good en-suite bathroom. Hot water was a bit hit & miss but in July this wasn't an issue as we mostly wanted cool showers. Breakfast was good and plentiful, they lent us bikes to get into town and showed us all the interesting places to go on the map they gave us. It's not a top-end hotel, it's a B&B, but it's great. Would love to go back.

    • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank RichardBrighton_Hove
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews