We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
100
24
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
24
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews her husband train station bed and breakfast visited lucca pastries benito anna bikes cycle mosquitoes snore city cyclists cheese
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Anna welcomed us with warmth and made our stay memorable. The inn and grounds are idyllic, especially the sun room where we had breakfast feasts every morning. Anna helped us navigate our way around Lucca and to the Cinque Terre, and called around, so that we could visit a winery during our stay. She provides WiFi, as well, so that we could talk to family back home. Although we didn't use the bicycles, they were available, so next time we will cycle the short distance to Lucca and pedal around the ramparts of the old city.
Arnie and Peggy Johnson, Granada Hills, CA

A

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pegjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Everybody reading this post must keep in mind that I am not a B&B fan, but due to previous excellent opinions expressed here, my husband and I decided to give this place a chance.
We will never be interested in coming back to Al Tondone, even though Lucca is a great place to visit.

First, the location- even with our performant GPS we barely found it. Also, the road to Lucca passes through unpleasant sites; you can’t enjoy a bike ride in an industrial area!

The room was very basic, no air conditioning, no TV, nor the mentioned balcony. We couldn’t spend any time in the praised garden because mosquitoes would attack even during the day hours.

The breakfast, except some bruschetta, consisted mainly in some groceries (cheese and ham) you can buy from a gas station, nothing cooked or home-made.
The first day we had to wait more than an hour on the front gate, no one cared about our previous mail announcing the estimated time of our arrival.

All in all it was a disappointing accommodation, meeting only budget requirements.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alex a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This place is a gem. We loved that it was outside the city of Lucca, but with bikes provided so we could ride into Lucca through the countryside. Anna was a delight. The breakfast was superior to other places we stayed, served in a great porch roomoverlooking the gardens. Would stay here again just to see Anna. Benito was a gem, too.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonlake68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My husband and I had a lovely time staying at Al Tondone outside of Lucca. The house was charming as was Anna, one of sweetest hostesses we've ever met. She went out of her way with everything. The breakfast was very thorough (from cereal, tea, coffee, cheeses, yogurt etc) and our room was clean, pretty and well maintained. My husband and I also shared a bottle of wine on the porch listening to classical music and crickets...very surreal. The walk into town is far so use the bikes (which are free) or take your car. If we are ever able to stay in Lucca we will most definitely be returning to Al Tondone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Expectations were high after everything everybody has posted about this place and we were not disappointed. Anna & Benito were so incredibly welcoming and lovely it really made our visit to the lovely city of Lucca special. Their home is beautiful with a great garden. The room was spacious and clean with a good en-suite bathroom. Hot water was a bit hit & miss but in July this wasn't an issue as we mostly wanted cool showers. Breakfast was good and plentiful, they lent us bikes to get into town and showed us all the interesting places to go on the map they gave us. It's not a top-end hotel, it's a B&B, but it's great. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardBrighton_Hove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews