We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying hard, nearly there”
Review of Resort Dei Limoni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Resort Dei Limoni
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Although the title 'Resort' would seem to imply a complex of buildings and facilities with multiple swimming pools, to our relief this turned out to be a small country house hotel with a single very pleasant pool. There are just eight suites each decorated distinctively but with an old-world and slightly worn-out feel about them. My husband's and my rooms were a riot of pink regency stripes and chintz curtains including the canopy of the comfortable four poster bed. The bathroom was not luxurious but more than adequate in size with both bath and separate shower, plenty of space for personal toiletries and an excellent magnifying mirror. There is a conservatory restaurant where we had a couple of excellent meals and enjoyed talking with the charming waiter, who was also very good with our 6 year old grand-daughter. The gardens have well kept flower beds but the grass at the beginning of September was a bit rough and the garden furniture could do with renewal. Staff were enormously pleasant and helpful, particularly Anne Marie.
The hotel, which aspires to the luxury category, appeared to have no other guests until our party, needing three rooms, arrived unexpectedly (having rejected a hotel on the other side of the road). We enjoyed our stay there but wondered how long they could stay in business with such a low occupancy rate and having to sustain a high end restaurant. There was an air of being slightly frayed round the edges and paddling frantically under the calm surface.

Room Tip: Suite 31 (odd when there are only 8 of them) has the stripes and chintz and looks over front of hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highgateglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Firstly I will complement the staff for their friendliness and helpfulness in ensuring that we had a great Tuscan Holiday experience. Anna Maria was helpful in planning days out and she was very knowledgeable with respect to the localities and in particular where free parking was located. Danellie was always helpful, polite and friendly. Mario the waiter was a culinary enthusiast and Elanora was also friendly.

We arrived at the Hotel with certain expectations with respect to the price point , but having holidays in Italy since 2014 I have experienced far better elsewhere. The Hotel is charming , the decor interesting and is well kept.

The Hotel is located near a main road which can be a distraction when sunbathing by the pool. The breakfast offerings in the restaurant are predictable and not extensive. We had dinner in the restaurant on our first night and we were not impressed. The pool furniture appeared tired and in need of updating. At the price paid I would have expected better and indeed I have had far better hotel experiences elsewhere in Italy.

To conclude, I had a pleasant stay at Resort Di Limoni and thanks to the efforts of the staff a great start to my Tuscan Holiday. I was glad that I stayed elsewhere for the remainder of my Holiday. I believe that this is a young enterprise, having been in business for less than 1 year. I can understand that the hospitality trade is a learning curve and considering the price point, it has yet to deliver.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Travelmonkey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 August 2017

Dear Travelmonkey22,

thank you for compliments to the staff, they help us to do our best all the time.
We are glad you have had a pleasant stay at our Resort Dei Limoni.
We will keep all your suggestions in great consideration.

Kind Regards
Annamaria Cioffi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

The resort is within a 10 minutes drive from Lucca and takes you out of the city for a relaxing atmosphere. The staff is superfriendly, but the rooms are a bit "dusty". The garden is ok, but fairly close to the road, which you do not hear in the rooms though. The setting in the garden is a bit of "let us be prepared for all events, with a party tent too close to the restaurant, which does not offer to sit outside btw. All and all an ok experience if you want to stay a couple of days near Lucca and Pisa.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fam5houses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 August 2017

Dear Fam5houses,

thank you for your kind feedback from whole staff.

The garden and the pool are close to a road but fortunately, trucks cannot ride it.
All along the property, we planted some bamboo to stop the road noise.
All the room are soundproofed.


Thank you for having a nice experience with us.

Best Regards
Annamaria Cioffi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Loved this 'oldish' mansion once owned by a French general of Napoleon. The service is excellent extremely kind and professional personnel. The swimming pool is very nice. No fitness however.
The room is very spacious and elegantly furnished not like the bathrooms which are cheaply equipped.
We loved the restaurant excellent food, very pleasant chef and service. Too bad they did not have many clients the Gazebo restaurant as it is called deserves much better.
Important to note that you need a car to go to Lucca .
Good value .

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Noodle1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 July 2017

Dear Noodle19860,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate it very much.
We are glad that you have had enjoyed the food at our Restaurant that is open since last June.
Thank you also for your suggestions, we are working on it.

Please accept the greetings from the whole staff.

Kind Regards
Annamaria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

This place to me was the perfect example of natural (almost effortless) Italian hospitality. They were so lovely and good to us without any expectation except that we have an excellent time. We did! The historic town of Lucca and the surrounding towns were wonderful to visit but it was so nice to go back to our peaceful Tuscan countryside villa hotel at the end of the day. Our room was clean and perfect and we especially loved Anna Marie who checked on us periodically to make sure we were happy. We also had fun at the pool which was beautiful and very well kept. Highly recommend!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lizisaacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 July 2017

Dear Lizisaac,

We are grateful for your kind words and we are happy you have had an excellent time with us.

It was a pleasure to met you.

With love
Annamaria and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
8.7 km away
Villa Casanova Lucca
Villa Casanova Lucca
#1 of 1 in Balbano
104 reviews
4.7 km away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.3 km away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 47 in Lucca
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#3 of 47 in Lucca
659 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#16 of 47 in Lucca
377 reviews
6.4 km away
Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Dei Limoni? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Dei Limoni

Address: Via Nuova Per Pisa 1952, 55100, Lucca, Italy (Formerly Hotel Locanda l'Elisa)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
Price Range: ₹ 10,566 - ₹ 19,458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Resort Dei Limoni 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Resort Dei Limoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda l`Elisa Hotel Lucca
Locanda l Elisa Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing