We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
100
80
34
26
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
100
80
34
26
16
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Excellent view of Tuscany, perfect location, authentic feel of the venue. Nice rooms, very clean. wonderful meal. Excellent service and interesting facilities. Original and unique experience. Lovely landscape for walk around. Nice pool.

Room tip: best views
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MagiiBata
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Villa Volpi deserves 85% of the total score. The only drawback is the management and their cunning attitude towards clients. Having read the reviews of the property, we made sure we booked the Castello di Mammoli. It is a property of the same owner about 500 away from Villa Volpi. Castello has obviously better reviews and higher score on Booking.com and TripAdvisor itself. Before we came to Lucca, I double-checked we really have a booking in the Castello. Castello has no reception so when we arrived we went directly to Villa Volpi to check-in. We were told that Castello has no restaurant, we will have to drive everyday for the breakfast, that they made a mistake and have not the rooms ready in Castello for us, the rooms are not that beautiful as in VIlla Volpi and that Villa Volpi is more expensive but they give us comparable price to Castello so that we dont feel fooled. We got a room in the top floor which was not good, the furniture was creaky and old, there was a mould in the bathroom etc, we came back to the reception and insisted on moving to Castello as we originally booked.The lady called her colleague who showed us some free room in Castello. We were a larger group and wanted to stay altogether, thats why we accepted an offer, they would give us better room the following day in Villa Volpi. When we woke up in the morning, they showed us the new room which was perfect. Since that moment, everything was great. The first room was nr. 33, it was in the top floor. This room is definitely not worth EUR200 per night. If you book the room in Villa Volpi, ask for the rooms nearby the pool (starting with number 8). The other room we spent the rest of the stay in was perfect, clean, neat and had a sound bathroom. Few steps away was beautiul infinite pool with amazing view over the olive groves around. I do truly recommend this property and feel like coming back the next year but must be sure I get the right room that is worth the money. Furthermore, dont expect you will be happy with the local restaurant and be ready to eat elsewhere everyday. Both breakfast and dinner is really bad and will not please you. Despite these drawbacks, I am really sure I am coming back the next year, the setting is simply one-of-a-kind and beats the drawbacks.

Room tip: Make sure you book the room outside the main building nearby the swimming pool.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rad288
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 October 2015

This hotel is a refurbished villa high on a hill, accessed by a long winding road and with endless views over the surrounding hills, vineyards and olive groves. Wonderful bathroom, bed, safe and A/C but dreadful TV that staff simply couldn't get to work in any fashion (but who cares). Beautiful pool in great setting. Superb outdoor restaurant for breakfast (excellent, wonderful coffee) and dinner (even better). This hotel is a treat not to be missed.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KandTCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Are you planning a trip to Italy and want to stay in a beautiful setting alongside olive groves and grape vines, far enough away from noise but close enough to major attractions such as Pisa and Lucca? Do you gravitate to the poolside with a glass of wine or beer after a long day of touring or travel? Will you be able to live with wifi access in a few common areas inside the historic building? If you answered "yes" to any of these three questions than Villa Volpi your kind of place. My partner and I tripped over the property listing on Bookings.com just several hours before we left Moterosso del Mar on the Cinque Terre. We called to make sure we could arrive after 10pm and the manager, Marco, could not have been kinder. We booked a very good rate for two nights on line and checked in several hours later. We sensed Villa Volpi was a special place when we arrived to the property in the dark; it's splendor was confirmed as we woke up to a room with a view of sunny skies and the invitation to walk through the olive groves up a slight hill to arrive a the main building for breakfast. I'll end here because each of you should create your own impressions and stories at Villa Volpi. What I will say is that, 1) after two nights, we did not want to leave, 2) we will be back, and 3) it was the perfect place to balance out a busy week touring Italy.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gretchen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 September 2015

We were looking for somewhere to stop over for two nights as we traveled from Pisa down to Rome and my husband came across Villa Volpi on the internet. By the time we arrived from the airport it was late and the restaurant (attached to the hotel but not run by the hotel owners) had just closed. The hotel owner asked if they would keep it open for us and they very kindly did. We enjoyed a typically rustic and delicious Italian meal. The room was absolutely delightful, on two levels and with a veranda. It was very close to the stunning pool area with its infinity edge looking out to a glorious view of lush green hills. The owners were so pleasant and extremely welcoming and helpful. We would happily return for longer. If you are looking for nightlife you would need to look outside the hotel, but if you are wanting to relax you don't need to go anywhere else!

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Balloolah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews