We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - what a great place!”
Review of Hotel Villa Volpi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Volpi
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Lucca
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wow - what a great place!”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We loved it here. It is high up in the hills above Lucca, but absolutely beautiful. And if you follow the signs up the hill, it is easy to find - just hold your nerve as you drive up the twisty-windy road. The villa is an old Tuscan farmhouse that has been respectively restored. The lounge areas are all very comfortable, and there was often a fire lit in the evening as the nights were cool in the autumn. We would love to go back when the weather was warmer, as there is an infinity pool, and it would be great to have drinks on the lawn overlooking the hills below. The rooms are wonderfully appointed - great showers, beds, toiletries, TV, extra pillows on request. The included breakfast was amazing - normally, breakfast in Italy is bread and coffee, but their breakfast was extensive - eggs, cold meats, cheese, fresh salads, and freshly baked breakfast pastries. They charged us once for Wi-Fi access for the entire time we were there.
We ate at the associated restaurant on site - Il Naso - once, the evening we arrived, as we didn't want to leave again to find a restaurant in the village. The food is a level or two above the average Italian restaurant - we had risotto with parmasan cream and liquorice, and pork loin wrapped in bacon with a guiness and potato puree sauce - followed by a pineapple cake..the food was fantastic - a very high caliber of cooking (the kitchen is manned by two young sisters who are the chefs - definitely out to make a name for themselves). Considering the location, the restaurant has to be a "destination restaurant" - hence it is expensive. If you just want a plate of pasta and a bottle of wine - go down to the village to Erazmo or Antica Locanda di Sesto which are more traditional. However, if you wanted something more unusual, this is a great place and was one of our restaurant highlights of our entire trip.
We were there for three nights in the middle of the week, and the place was almost full. We would definitely go back. It's close enough to Pisa airport for a long weekend, and we thought it was great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MidwesternGirl77797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    68
    28
    22
    11
See reviews for
46
115
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This place is heaven.
You are up in a hill in Mastiano,surrounded by nothing,with an amazing view of the valley.

All you want from an holiday in tuscany.

Just a tip for improvement : maybe you need a more organized staff :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie_Food_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2011

This is a great villa-style hotel - it's more like a bed & breakfast, as it's a converted monastery. The location is beautiful - up in the mountains of Tuscany overlooking the region around Lucca. The view is splendind, it's quiet, and a perfect place to relax and visit the surrounding region of Lucca, Pisa, Forte dei Marmi, etc.

It was ALMOST perfect except I would say they could improve the quality of some of their beds and the window blinds. For one, I went there with my wife for relaxing on a honeymoon trip, but we would be waking up very early as the windows had very poorly installed shades that would let the sun shine through very early on. The bed springs were also very noisy and it felt we were sleeping on an old farm mattress...lol...nothing really major, but it did tend to disturb restful sleep. The air-conditioning system also seems pretty old and did not have enough power to really cool off the room, so if you are going there on hot days, it could be an issue...

Other than that, the breakfast was good (but not great) with a variety of things to enjoy. There is also a pool (not heated) where you can relax and enjoy the great views of this location. (As a smaller aside, they charge for wireless Internet access). Finally, the few people we interacted with were very nice and welcoming.

If they just fixed the issues described above, this would be a 5-star location. As it is, I give it 4 1/2!

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a view, it is worth it given the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuhrken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2011

It's not easy to make a trip with your boyfriend and his parents romantic but Villa Volpi did the trick! I was a little nervous about renting a car and driving in a foreign country to get to this hidden treasure, but it was much easier than expected. (TIP: when renting make sure to check with your credit card company to see if they cover the insurance so you don't have to buy extra. Mine did.) Lucca was very navigable and I was lucky that my boyfriend's mother had her ipad for step by step directions.

When we arrived, they showed our group to a "suite" that was located right off the main lobby with a sliding pocket door. My heart sank. It was a dark room with a bed upstairs and a pull out couch below. This is not what I thought that I reserved. The staff working the desk worked with me and moved us to the suite I had my heart set on (and had actually reserved) with little problem.

The only other issue with our trip was I didn't schedule this leg of our journey long enough! It was absolutely dreamy! The suite was in a separate building and gorgeous with a panoramic view of the entire valley. The pool was wonderful so don't forget your suite too!

And OH THE FOOD! I'm still salivating thinking of the dinner I had at Il Nosa! It was pricey but worth every penny! (or should I say Euro?) Don't miss ordering the roasted red onion in a gorgonzola cream sauce and the steak is a MUST! The best I have EVER had! It was served on a great slate plate too. The dessert? Just order one of each. And don't miss the story of Miss Nose. Make sure to hunt down the darling artist who made her and get the scoop! (She is also a cook and master of pastries on the premise.)

This was my favorite piece of our Italian adventure. Thank you Villa Volpi!

Room Tip: The suite in the old wine production cellar is worth the splurge! It's a building separate from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brookefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed here in September 2011 as an antidote to busy the busy city[Florence] we had stayed in previously, it was perfect in every way!
The setting is magnificent, it's just like having your own private hotel .
The rooms are all different but all perfectly finished with expensive drapes and beautiful funiture.
It feels more like a castle when you are in it as it has beautiful Italian antique furniture .
There is an independant restaurant onsite which is top class, it is as good as Michelin Star restaurants!
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel near Lucca....a perfect hideaway.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
10.7 km away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 48 in Lucca
375 reviews
11.6 km away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#2 of 48 in Lucca
643 reviews
6.9 km away
Antica Residenza dell'Angelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#16 of 48 in Lucca
353 reviews
5.9 km away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#7 of 48 in Lucca
427 reviews
7.3 km away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#9 of 48 in Lucca
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Volpi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Volpi

Property: Hotel Villa Volpi
Address: Via di Giuliano 47 | Mastiano, 55029, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,364 - ₹ 27,971
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Volpi 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Volpi Hotel benefits of a splendid vista the villa was erected in the countryside nearby Lucca, however it is not far away from the walls of the Tuscan city so rich in Art and History. It is surrounded by an estate of 20 hectares of olive trees and vineyards where organically certified products are produced by Villa Volpi farmhouse. Its elegant architectural design and green surroundings are perfectly combined with the high quality services and hospitality offered and, together with the high quality services provided, contribute in making it the grand hotel it is. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Volpi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volpi Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing