We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ostello San Frediano
Nearby Hotels
US$ 115
US$ 110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Albergo San Martino(Lucca)(Great Value!)
US$ 114
US$ 104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 221
US$ 208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Albergo Villa Marta(Lucca)(Great Value!)
US$ 248
US$ 185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Celide(Lucca)
US$ 146
US$ 134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 175
US$ 157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 181
US$ 175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 220
US$ 174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 257
US$ 236
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
56
104
29
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
104
29
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno air confantastic locationhostelcitywallsluxury
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Dusty hostel but good location in a beautiful town. Very large spaces with lots of sofas!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenjellybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

My husband and I don't usually stay at hostels, but we were only in Lucca for one night and wanted a cheaper alternative. We booked a private double room, and we ended up with a quad all to ourselves. There were two beds downstairs and two beds upstairs in a loft. Unfortunately, all the beds were singles, but we didn't mind for just one night. The hostel is very spacious with lots of common areas and free Wi-Fi in the lobby. Breakfast was offered for a small fee, but we chose to get breakfast on our own. Our room was right above the lobby so we could hear some noises of people coming in and out, but the hostel locks out at midnight so it was quiet by then. My only complaint is that the floors really needed to be swept. There was a lot of dust, but the bathroom was clean and towels and linens were provided. Overall, this was a great budget option for Lucca.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tera T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

This is not a hotel - it is a hostel. The building it occupies is huge and grand - I was told it used to be an old monastery. We got a double room (not dorms) and it was a huge family room on two levels. Spacious and clean, good value for 50euros. Location is brilliant. Could not be closer to everything! Piazza Frediano just outside is where you can get a coffee in the morning sun - beware though, extremely expensive for what you get. A coffee was 2.80 euros and a croissant 2 euros so for two people a simple pastry and coffee costs 10euros (in other parts of Italy I paid 1.20euros for good coffee). Free parking round the back.

We were looking for somewhere cheap to stay that was within walking distance of everything - this is it.

Only downside is the halls are not carpeted and sound travels so you could get noisy kids running around late at night. We did not experience this luckily (we did earlier in the day).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraLovesTravel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

The San Frediano is in a perfect spot in Lucca...close to the walls where you can enjoy a stroll; close to the main shopping street...via Fullingo; close to the best pizza we had while in Italy......it's right across the street. Sammy, at the front desk, is very helpful and friendly. There is also an internet point in the lobby where you can check your emails (1 E for 60 minutes of time). It is not a luxurious place but it is spotlessly clean and the rooms are larger than most rooms we stayed in on this trip.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank osuorangefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

We didn't book before our arrival, so, unfortunately, all 2-bed rooms were occupied. But the staff was very cooperative: they gave us a bigger one at the price of a 2-bed-room. The room itself was simple but perfectly clean! Absolutely no bug-alarm! Furthermore, there was no problem to store our luggage in a special room on our last day, so we could spend the afternoon in the town without luggage. The service is fine and the staff super-friendly! Only disadvantage may be the relatively high price for single or family rooms compared to other hostels. But compared to a hotel it's certainly cheaper.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwimania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews