We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the passport "joke"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ostello San Frediano
Ranked #8 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beware the passport "joke"”
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Although the building is beautiful and we were very pleased with our double ensuite room, we cannot give high marks to an accommodation in which we saw absolutely appalling behavior from a member of the staff, behavior which included refusing to return passports to guests (including us) and behaving very cruelly towards a young, solo, female traveler.

We watched as the problem staff member, a man on duty the evening of 15 June 2011 (we hope you are reading this, Ostello San Frediano) refused for some time to return the passport of another guest, taunting and being deliberately hostile towards her, apparently for his own sport. He also refused to return my passport until we (my husband and I) resorted to yelling at him.

Here are the details, which begin before his treatment of the young woman: Upon arriving, we were given our key by a different, and perfectly pleasant, individual, after he asked to see my passport. He informed us that he needed to keep the passport for an hour, and that we should return after at least that time to retrieve it and make our payment for the room. We returned after two hours to find a different man on duty (the one who would prove to be a problem). He initially deadpanned that he did not have my passport, but shortly revealed that he was joking. Not surprisingly, we did not share his sense of humor. He then informed us that he couldn't - for unclear-to-us reasons - give it to us just then, but that we should go our, have dinner, enjoy the city, and retrieve it upon our return (in hindsight we should have irately demanded it then). We returned two hours later to find the same man on duty. We waited on line at the desk while this manager engaged in a very animated and prolonged - at least ten minute - discussion with two Italians, while the line steadily grew. Behind the Italians and ahead of us was a young woman who, it turned out, was also trying to get her passport back and had also tried to get it earlier, so we gleaned that this appeared to be a pattern with this man. When it was finally her turn, we watched him be deliberately cruel and rude to her; his behavior included flatly refusing to answer her questions when she very politely asked if she could ask two. His reason, after she had patiently waited in line and did nothing to hold it up once it was her turn, was that he needed to deal with us (my husband and I, who were behind her in line) first. We insisted that he answer her questions; his "answers" were to refuse to give her wifi access, and to literally throw a map at her. We then arrived at the front of the line and demanded our passport. He said that we'd have to wait, as he had to take care of the lights and other business around the hostel first. We irately told him that this was unacceptable and that he needed to return the passport now. After a few voices-raised rounds of this, and of us reminding him that he could have given it to us hours earlier, he acquiesced and finally accepted our payment and returned the passport (after procrastinating with paperwork at the desk for several more minutes). Having to deal with this little-dictator-wannabe completely soured us on Ostello San Frediano.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank katystava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    98
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
28
46
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Dusty hostel but good location in a beautiful town. Very large spaces with lots of sofas!!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenjellybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

My husband and I don't usually stay at hostels, but we were only in Lucca for one night and wanted a cheaper alternative. We booked a private double room, and we ended up with a quad all to ourselves. There were two beds downstairs and two beds upstairs in a loft. Unfortunately, all the beds were singles, but we didn't mind for just one night. The hostel is very spacious with lots of common areas and free Wi-Fi in the lobby. Breakfast was offered for a small fee, but we chose to get breakfast on our own. Our room was right above the lobby so we could hear some noises of people coming in and out, but the hostel locks out at midnight so it was quiet by then. My only complaint is that the floors really needed to be swept. There was a lot of dust, but the bathroom was clean and towels and linens were provided. Overall, this was a great budget option for Lucca.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tera T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2011

This is not a hotel - it is a hostel. The building it occupies is huge and grand - I was told it used to be an old monastery. We got a double room (not dorms) and it was a huge family room on two levels. Spacious and clean, good value for 50euros. Location is brilliant. Could not be closer to everything! Piazza Frediano just outside is where you can get a coffee in the morning sun - beware though, extremely expensive for what you get. A coffee was 2.80 euros and a croissant 2 euros so for two people a simple pastry and coffee costs 10euros (in other parts of Italy I paid 1.20euros for good coffee). Free parking round the back.

We were looking for somewhere cheap to stay that was within walking distance of everything - this is it.

Only downside is the halls are not carpeted and sound travels so you could get noisy kids running around late at night. We did not experience this luckily (we did earlier in the day).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraLovesTravel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

The San Frediano is in a perfect spot in Lucca...close to the walls where you can enjoy a stroll; close to the main shopping street...via Fullingo; close to the best pizza we had while in Italy......it's right across the street. Sammy, at the front desk, is very helpful and friendly. There is also an internet point in the lobby where you can check your emails (1 E for 60 minutes of time). It is not a luxurious place but it is spotlessly clean and the rooms are larger than most rooms we stayed in on this trip.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osuorangefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 51 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
1.1 km away
Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast
0.5 km away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.7 km away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 51 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 51 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ostello San Frediano? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostello San Frediano

Property: Ostello San Frediano
Address: Via della Cavallerizza 12, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Lucca
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,491 - ₹ 5,753
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the historical center of Lucca, in an old restored building, close to the main attractives of the town, with a wide garden that looks upon the beautiful city walls.We have several kinds of accomodation: double rooms, family rooms for 4 or 6 persons, shared rooms with 6 or 8 beds, most of them with private bathroom; moreover we have toilets and showers on each floor. Besides the comfort that you can find in the spacious bedrooms, we have also TV room, library, dining room, meeting areas, internet point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ostello San Frediano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostello San Frediano Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing