We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“fresh squeezed orange juice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alla Corte Degli Angeli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“fresh squeezed orange juice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2007

Lucca is a wonderful town. I have visited twice. It’s the type of town I would like to submerse myself is for several months and really live like the Italians. I visited on a day trip 10 years ago; this time we stayed two nights and I wished we could have stayed one more (as part of a two week trip to 5 parts of Italy – Lake Como, Florence, Radda/Chianti, Rome).

Hotel:
We selected the Alla Corte hotel strictly based on the Trip Advisor reviews. While some of the reviews seem over the top I wasn’t disappointed in the hotel. The location is very convenient for walking all over town. (Definitely stay inside the wall). It was noisy at night outside our room but quiet by midnight. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and shops. Its one street off the main shopping street – via Fillungo. Can't beat the location. Townspeople are friendly and try to speak English.

Transportation:
Take the train to Lucca - driving is not advised or needed – It’s a small town. Take a taxi from train station to hotel (5 euros?) to get oriented and then you can walk everywhere. We rented a car as we were leaving town and bang it up before getting out of the town – seriously don’t drive. The streets are about a car width wide! Be sure to rent bikes and ride around the wall (2.50 euros for an hour) – very fun and relaxing and good people watching!

Our Room:
We stayed in the Camelia room on second floor above reception. It was probably midsize by Europeon standards. We had a large window that looked down to the street in front of the hotel. Bath had a very nice tub and shower. All the amenities like shampoo, hairdryer, etc included, plus mini bar and flatscreen TV. It also had a room safe with a personal combination. The bed wasn’t the most comfortable but that may be personal taste. There is a computer with free internet in the reception level.

Breakfast:
The breakfast was very good by European standards - (breads, cheeses, meats, cereal, yogurt, fruit). Plus they had a do-it-yourself fresh orange juicer and a big basket of oranges. I spent most of my time making OJ since I like freeze squeezed much more than bottled. Breakfast is served until 11am so you don’t have to be rushed in the morning and you can take food with you for snacks during the day.

The Staff:
The two male front desk attendants are sufficient in answering questions but not obviously friendly. On the day we were leaving there was a young female who was nicer, but she advised us on driving the car back to the hotel to get our luggage and that was not good advice. If you do want to rent a car as you leave – take a taxi and exit the wall to get your car and do not drive back in!

Other Food:
Of all our Italy travels we had the best sliced pizza in Lucca. Unfortunately I didn’t write down the name of it but it was a tiny shop with just a couple of tables. Contemporary store front in a very old building near a piazza. Most places sell the whole pizza so perhaps you can ask around for the places that sell by the slice. For other meals we just picked a restaurant while wandering around. We had one of our best desserts at Osteria Baralla – chocolate pear cake.

  • Liked — breakfast, location, bathroom, in-room safe
  • Disliked — staff - not overtly friendly
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia-and-Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    159
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
71
373
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2007

Lovely little hotel in a great location just around the corner from the hustle bustle of Lucca. The hotel is clean, welcoming and full of character. Our room was gorgeous with wonderful murals on the walls and ceilings. Good sized, clean bathroom with good shower and jacuzzi bath.

Breakfast was lovely - great coffee!

This was our first time in Lucca and we loved it.

Would recommend hiring bikes and cycling around the old town walls. We went to a wonderful deli and bought hams, cheeses, bread and wine etc. and sat at one of the picnic spots around the wall watching the world go by.

Would highly recommend this hotel and Lucca!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Doobie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2007

this hotel is lovely its also called maison de charme in there literature which it has gots lots of, tucked away in quiet back street 1 minute from main shopping street in Lucca its the best location.

the room was very well presented each room has a different theme named from flowers we stayed in bird of paradise.

we walked to main piazza took 5 minutes maximum and surrounded by fantastic restaurants, also you can cycle the wall around the city we took a tandem cost around 6 euros for the hour and took half an hour to complete the circle(or you can go into city).

Hotels wireless internet was good they didnt charge for this service.Breakfast was fair not as nice as the room you eat in....

  • Liked — the room decoration
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pooleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2007

We had reservations for one night in May of 2007 and loved Lucca and the Alla Corte degli Angeli so much we changed our plans and stayed an additional two nights! The location is great and the hotel fits perfectly with the historic setting of Lucca. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They were just getting their WiFi internet service set up when we were there and a few bugs remained. They spent a great deal of time helping me get my laptop connected.

The hotel is situated on a quaint, quiet side street less than one block from Via Fullungo, the main walking/shopping street. We parked in the fenced, outdoor parking area across the street, which worked out well. One piece of advice, make sure you have very precise directions if you plan to drive to the hotel from one of the entrances through the wall surrounding the town. I thought I knew the route, but ended up going the wrong way down a narrow one-way street, much to the displeasure of the local residents coming the other way!

All and all, we treasured our time in Lucca and our stay at the Alla Corte degli Angeli. We can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew4850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2007

The Alla Corte degli Angeli is a charming small hotel that is family run. It is situated within the Walls tucked away in a quiet central location close to the main shopping area.

The staff both male and female are friendly and offer service with a smile. They gave us a warm welcome. We enjoyed a clean charming room and a spacious bathroom. The buffet breakfast was varied and decent. Given the opportunity we would return to Maison de Charme, Lucca without hesitation.

  • Liked — Quiet, clean and efficient
  • Disliked — The hot air in the bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.5 km away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.5 km away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.0 km away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#10 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.3 km away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Corte Degli Angeli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Corte Degli Angeli

Property: Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Address: Via Degli Angeli 23 | Centro Storico, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#4 Family Hotel in Lucca
#4 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,025 - ₹ 14,080
Hotel Class:4 star — Alla Corte Degli Angeli 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I would like to add information for all the customers that book to our hotel,because cause the limit traffic zone there are a lot of mistake and trouble, so I would like to add in the form confirmation or straight away in the hotel's information, the right route for to reach us. Below there are description in english and Italian.1) YOU CAN REACH THE HOTEL BY CAR You are allowed to get inside the walls from Santa Maria gate ONLY. As soon as you pass through the gate turn right taking Via della cavallerizza St. keep going straight on and you'll get into San Frediano Piazza where the church is, you mustgo all around this church untill you'll find Via cesare Battisti St. on your letf side. Get into via Cesare Battisti St. take the secondstreet on your left side wich is Via degli angeli St. Our staff will help you out with your luggage. HOTEL STAFF WILL TAKE THE PLATENUMBER OF YOUR CAR, that has to be send it to the police department and then they will show you where to park. YOU MUST LEAVE YOUR CAR KEYSAT THE FRONT DESK DURING ALL YOUR STAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Alla Corte Degli Angeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Corte Degli Angeli Hotel Lucca
Alla Corte Degli Angeli Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing