We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Luna
Nearby Hotels
US$ 135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 247
US$ 174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 141
US$ 128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residenza Centro Storico(Lucca)(Great Value!)
US$ 120
US$ 116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Principe Calaf B&B(Lucca)(Great Value!)
US$ 75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 166
US$ 162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 127
US$ 122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi(Lucca)(Great Value!)
US$ 109
US$ 103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 256
US$ 205
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
78
143
36
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
143
36
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationwood beamsitalian citypuccini festivalbit datedrental carmain shoppingmiddle of townbreakfast buffetstar hotelstayed here for one nightold cityside streetpastrymain buildingtown wallssmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Having visited Lucca several times in the last 15 years and stayed at Hotel La Luna on 3 previous occasions we appreciate that such an historic builing cannot have all the modern attributes, such as lifts, car parking spaces and regular shaped rooms. But Hotel La Luna is charming, clean, lovely shower and bathroom. Comfy bed (but here, each to his own!!) helpful staff and a very good location. They do have other rooms across the courtyard and these I believe have the luxury of a lift, but I've not seen them, so can't comment. My only gripe is the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, as coffee in Lucca, along with almost everything else, is very expensive it would have been a nice touch, especially first thing in the morning!!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front of the hotel can be noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Lucca is quite hard to find - the hotel's website site says to come off the A12 to the centre of Lucca but there is not a sign for that only east Lucca or west Lucca.

We came off at the West Lucca as we realized that there was no exit for the Centre and Lucca was then quite hard to find but once we found Lucca the directions were super. The room was quite large and the bathroom roomy enough (although we found hair in the shower). There is a lift although a previous review says there isn't, maybe they have put it in recently. Anyway no trouble with getting the suitcases up and down to our room.

On the negative side we could hear the people in the next room to us so the walls are a bit thin. The staff were really helpful, particularly about parking our car and then getting it for us on our departure. The guy (Paulo) even reversed it for us onto the small street.

They have a computer and we used it to check into our flight and they printed our boarding passes for us. The hotel is right in the centre so very well placed. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Lucca is a beautiful old city and the hotel is in the middle of it!

The hotel has a garage close to the hotel (don't get lost...) for €15 per day, which is reasonable.

After parking the car we walked to the hotel which is on a tiny square just of the main street.
I hardly ever complain, if you want quality book a more expense hotel!
However if the hotel wants to distinguish itself from other 3 star hotels in Lucca and get my excellent rating it has to do more then it does now. For me it is an average 3 star hotel.

When we arrived, my better half has a big suitcase and the hotel has no lift, the staff did not offer to carry it up.
The breakfast (what is it with breakfast in 2/3 star hotels in Italy) and especially the coffee, NOT good, not bad but NOT good. Skip it and go to the bar around the corner, Di Simo for coffee and cake!
I discovered tripadvisor during this trip (where was I?) and wireless internet is not for free and only available in the lobby and very slow.

In my opinion the hotel just needs to make little changes for a higher rating, now its just average which is fine.

We stayed for 2 nights in Lucca and to be honest 1 day is enough.
rent a bike in the morning
have a nice lunch
visit one (or more) of the houses / musea (all very close to each other) in the afternoon
have a nice diner

Room Tip: I think all rooms are about the same, except 1 on the third floor, that 1 is smaller.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronald1499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We were pleased to discover the Hotel La Luna in Lucca is still the friendly and comfortable little place run by the same family who were there on our last visit ten years ago. In fact Nedo Barbieri’s family has owned this historic little gem for 45 years and the hotel continues to offer a warm welcome in characterful surroundings.
La Luna is set in the heart of the medieval walled city in a quiet little cul-de-sac off bustling Via Fillungo. Our cosy air-conditioned room had a timber-beamed ceiling and overlooked an ancient courtyard at the rear of the building. There was satellite TV, a minibar and comfy bed, and the ensuite had a decent shower.
The hotel has a bar and a small room providing continental breakfast. You don’t have to walk far to find good restaurants, such as such as the renowned Buca di San’Antonio and the informal La Canuleia with its pretty garden.
Lucca is our favourite small Italian city. A walk, or cycle ride, around the city ramparts is a must and its winding streets are a delight to explore. There are no end of glorious churches, grand architecture and other historic attractions – along with designer fashion boutiques.
Composer Giacomo Puccini’s newly-restored birthplace re-opens in mid-September and fans can enjoy his operas at the wonderful Puccini Festival each summer in nearby Torre del Lago. We could also have watched Jamiroquai performing in Lucca’s grand Piazza Napoleone as part of the season of rock concerts.
La Luna is only a 20-minute walk from the station (handy for visiting the Tuscany coast or Florence) and Lucca is small enough to explore on foot. The hotel is perfect for anyone seeking friendly and affordable accommodation that’s bang in the centre of things.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyril1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This is a lovely hotel near the Roman amphitheater. It can be a little hard to find when you arrive but once you've made your way their it is easy to locate again. Our bathroom was a bit small but everything worked well and there was plenty of hot water. Our room was a comfy haven after a day exploring Lucca. The staff here is very helpful and willing to answer any questions. A special thanks to Lulu! Make sure Lucca is part of trip to Italy and be sure to stay at the Hotel La Luna!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary42avellino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews