We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Located within the old city”
Review of Hotel La Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Luna
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Perfectly Located within the old city”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

A nice hotel located within the walls of the old city of Lucca. Our room was spacious, comfortable, clean, and we actually had a bath tub. Wi-Fi was available for a 3 Euro charge. He staff was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was excellent. My wife and I felt very safe wandering around the area the hotel was in after dark.

Room Tip: Hotel was part of our Rick Steves tour and it's in his tour guide
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Mannino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    134
    29
    7
    2
See reviews for
48
88
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Having visited Lucca several times in the last 15 years and stayed at Hotel La Luna on 3 previous occasions we appreciate that such an historic builing cannot have all the modern attributes, such as lifts, car parking spaces and regular shaped rooms. But Hotel La Luna is charming, clean, lovely shower and bathroom. Comfy bed (but here, each to his own!!) helpful staff and a very good location. They do have other rooms across the courtyard and these I believe have the luxury of a lift, but I've not seen them, so can't comment. My only gripe is the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, as coffee in Lucca, along with almost everything else, is very expensive it would have been a nice touch, especially first thing in the morning!!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front of the hotel can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Lucca is quite hard to find - the hotel's website site says to come off the A12 to the centre of Lucca but there is not a sign for that only east Lucca or west Lucca.

We came off at the West Lucca as we realized that there was no exit for the Centre and Lucca was then quite hard to find but once we found Lucca the directions were super. The room was quite large and the bathroom roomy enough (although we found hair in the shower). There is a lift although a previous review says there isn't, maybe they have put it in recently. Anyway no trouble with getting the suitcases up and down to our room.

On the negative side we could hear the people in the next room to us so the walls are a bit thin. The staff were really helpful, particularly about parking our car and then getting it for us on our departure. The guy (Paulo) even reversed it for us onto the small street.

They have a computer and we used it to check into our flight and they printed our boarding passes for us. The hotel is right in the centre so very well placed. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Lucca is a beautiful old city and the hotel is in the middle of it!

The hotel has a garage close to the hotel (don't get lost...) for €15 per day, which is reasonable.

After parking the car we walked to the hotel which is on a tiny square just of the main street.
I hardly ever complain, if you want quality book a more expense hotel!
However if the hotel wants to distinguish itself from other 3 star hotels in Lucca and get my excellent rating it has to do more then it does now. For me it is an average 3 star hotel.

When we arrived, my better half has a big suitcase and the hotel has no lift, the staff did not offer to carry it up.
The breakfast (what is it with breakfast in 2/3 star hotels in Italy) and especially the coffee, NOT good, not bad but NOT good. Skip it and go to the bar around the corner, Di Simo for coffee and cake!
I discovered tripadvisor during this trip (where was I?) and wireless internet is not for free and only available in the lobby and very slow.

In my opinion the hotel just needs to make little changes for a higher rating, now its just average which is fine.

We stayed for 2 nights in Lucca and to be honest 1 day is enough.
rent a bike in the morning
have a nice lunch
visit one (or more) of the houses / musea (all very close to each other) in the afternoon
have a nice diner

Room Tip: I think all rooms are about the same, except 1 on the third floor, that 1 is smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald1499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We were pleased to discover the Hotel La Luna in Lucca is still the friendly and comfortable little place run by the same family who were there on our last visit ten years ago. In fact Nedo Barbieri’s family has owned this historic little gem for 45 years and the hotel continues to offer a warm welcome in characterful surroundings.
La Luna is set in the heart of the medieval walled city in a quiet little cul-de-sac off bustling Via Fillungo. Our cosy air-conditioned room had a timber-beamed ceiling and overlooked an ancient courtyard at the rear of the building. There was satellite TV, a minibar and comfy bed, and the ensuite had a decent shower.
The hotel has a bar and a small room providing continental breakfast. You don’t have to walk far to find good restaurants, such as such as the renowned Buca di San’Antonio and the informal La Canuleia with its pretty garden.
Lucca is our favourite small Italian city. A walk, or cycle ride, around the city ramparts is a must and its winding streets are a delight to explore. There are no end of glorious churches, grand architecture and other historic attractions – along with designer fashion boutiques.
Composer Giacomo Puccini’s newly-restored birthplace re-opens in mid-September and fans can enjoy his operas at the wonderful Puccini Festival each summer in nearby Torre del Lago. We could also have watched Jamiroquai performing in Lucca’s grand Piazza Napoleone as part of the season of rock concerts.
La Luna is only a 20-minute walk from the station (handy for visiting the Tuscany coast or Florence) and Lucca is small enough to explore on foot. The hotel is perfect for anyone seeking friendly and affordable accommodation that’s bang in the centre of things.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyril1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 52 in Lucca
1,061 reviews
0.1 km away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.6 km away
San Luca Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 52 in Lucca
502 reviews
0.2 km away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.9 km away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#10 of 52 in Lucca
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Luna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Luna

Property: Hotel La Luna
Address: Via Fillungo | Corte Compagni 12, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Lucca
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,016 - ₹ 14,443
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Luna 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Luna Hotel
La Luna Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing