We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treasure in Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergo Villa Casanova
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Lucca
Hucknall, Nottingham
2 reviews
“Treasure in Tuscany”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

My son and I had the most amazing week in this area of Tuscany at Albergo Villa Casanova. Ideally placed for lovely countryside and visiting Pisa, Lucca and Florence. The suites are huge and luxurious. Nothing is too much trouble for the attentive staff and the meals are a delight.

I would suggest hiring a car, though public transport is closeby.

Free wifi available throughout the property.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krog007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    7
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
55
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed in the Albergo Villa Casanova for 3 nights recently and absolutely loved it-it's one Of the most beautiful hotels we have stayed in and the staff and meals were wonderful-they were very warm and friendly-Kerry the manager was lovely-and Scottish! We went into Lucca every day but you wouldn't have to-it's lovely to stay by pool!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kb8111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We came across this villa on luxury hotel site Prestigious Venues and loved what we saw so had to make the trip. We visited Albergo Villa Casanova in September and had the most amazing weekend. Nestled in the countryside far away from any hustle and bustle, the moment you arrive peace and tranquility descends. Our room on the top floor was beautiful, we particularly loved the bed, the deep bath and the views down the valley. The dinner was sensational and the service by the sommelier was excellent. The walk up the track to the look out is a must when staying, as is a walk in the gardens and a look around the beautiful old out houses. Simply can't wait to return and definitely will, wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supremetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at Albergo Villa Casanova in August as a 'get away' on our own from the kids - our time is precious and we weren't disappointed at all. We had a wonderful welcome from the friendly staff, immediately felt at home and relaxed - whereas some high end hotels I have stayed in have been stifling - not the case here.

Every attention to detail has been thought about, the suites are huge and stunningly decorated with the biggest walk-in shower imaginable! The food was exceptional and we were lucky enough to be staying at the same time as the owner who over excelled to ensure we were looked after impeccably.

We left rested, refreshed and the only downer was that we didn't have more time!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe Park, MI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

In all of my travels in Italy my husband and I like to stay in luxury villas that usually have less than 20 rooms, are family owned and operated and in interesting areas. Italy has some magnificent villas.
Albergo Villa Casanova is without a doubt, the most exquisite villa we have stayed in.
It was recently rennovated by a couple from England, top to bottom, no expense spared. The rooms are magnificent, the bathrooms spectacular. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the fine linens and bedding just engulfed you for a sound nights sleep. The grounds are lovely with a wonderful swimming pool that overlooks the countryside. Stunning.
And the restaurant serves incredible cuisine. Every night we had dinner there the chef outdid himself.
If you want to stay in a luxurious villa, this is the one. I highly recommend it.
It's close to the city of Lucca (Puccini's home) and there is lots to see in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1lilcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
7.3 km away
Resort Dei Limoni
Resort Dei Limoni
#34 of 51 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
6.6 km away
San Luca Palace Hotel
8.1 km away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#5 of 51 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#15 of 51 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
6.7 km away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
7.1 km away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Villa Casanova? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Villa Casanova

Property: Albergo Villa Casanova
Address: Via di Casanova 1600 | Localita Balbano, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lucca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,813 - ₹ 35,866
Hotel Class:5 star — Albergo Villa Casanova 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergo Villa Casanova is the result of a complete renovation of an 18th-century Tuscan farmhouse set in 360 acres of mixed woodland just ten minutes from Lucca. Newly reopened in December 2009, Albergo Villa Casanova is now a distinctive and relaxed, luxury boutique hotel with 14 incredibly spacious suites, restaurant, magnificent terraces, infinity swimming pool and tennis court. The valley of Lucca and the tower of Castello Nozzano can be viewed from the hotel and the area is ideal for walking, cycling and exploring the historical walled town of Lucca, home to Puccini. It's also a perfect location to just relax with a book and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere. Numerous festivals take place throughout the year. The world famous Puccini Festival takes place at the open-air theatre at Torre del Lago, a few Kilometres from the hotel. Albergo Villa Casanova has its own chapel (see section on Weddings) and several adjoining country houses, one of which dates back to the 15th century. The original owners were the Balbani family who later gave their name to the locality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Albergo Villa Casanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Villa Casanova Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing