We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveller rating
500
98
11
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
98
11
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationwithin the wallspastriestop floorhard boiled eggsquiet locationan easy walkthe ownerinside the city wallsb and bperfect basetea and coffeelovely luccasan michelenight stayreception deskexcellent breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 610 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We thank our lucky travel stars that we chose to stay at II Seminario for a full week last July. My husband and I were traveling like a couple of 20 year olds on a month long European adventure spent mostly in Italy -- making our travel and accommodation decisions usually no more than the day before. Visiting Lucca for the first time, I knew it was best to stay inside the old walled city. The hotel's exterior is centuries old and the interior is modern and chic with a great Italian decor & design sense. That paired with the warm Italian welcome from Paulo, we knew we had made the perfect choice. A nice variety of breakfast foods were presented daily along with cappuccino's that make you wish you could live in Italy forever. The staff is professional, friendly and eager to answer questions you may have about the city or region. The free wifi works great too. II Seminario is in a convenient location -- even walkable from the train station. It's also just a 20-30 minute drive/train ride from Pisa. Lucca is a wonderful Tuscan town to enjoy on its own as well as setting out on day trips in any direction -- such as the Cinque Terre villages. Should we ever return to Lucca, staying at II Seminario would be our first choice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Refined-Bohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Our party of 5 needed 3 rooms and we just showed up in town just before dinnertime. With no reservations it could have been a complete disaster. Need a nice B&B for the night? Ask a shopkeeper where to stay and she will give you a phone number of a friend and in short time you will be settled in. We had large and very lovely rooms - mine opened up into the garden. Paolo put our car in the the parking lot around back and recommended a restaurant for dinner. Located near one the entrances to Lucca's wall, an early morning walk around the town before taking our coffee on the sunny patio was the topper to a wonderful stay. Family run with care and graciousness, I couldn't have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just a quick note echoing many of the other reviews. We (a fmily of four with two teenage children) stayed at Il Seminario for 6 nights in one of their suites. I have nothing but good things to say about the B&B and the staff (Paolo, Emmanuela and Rosana). The breakfasts were great (more options than most), the room was clean and spacious, and Paolo even offered to give us and our luggage a ride to the train station, even though it's only a 10 minute walk away. Lucca is a gorgeous city, somewhat less touristy than other areas of Tuscany, but a very "livable" place, and it served as an ideal home base for trips by train and car to Volterra, Pisa and the Cinque Terra.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boco_Darwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed at Il Seminario for 2 nights in May. We were delighted by the Puccini room, which was very large and elegant, with high ceilings. The bathroom was also very roomy. Breakfasts were served on a patio under a gazebo, buffet style, with lots of choices ranging from yogurt to meat and cheeses. Best of all, the coffee cups were huge and the server refilled our cups several times. It was the only time we had enough coffee in Italy! We loved Lucca with its walks along the ramparts and medieval streets. It was not touristy at all. The B&B is near the cathedral and botanical gardens and was very quiet.

Room Tip: The Puccini room was very large, with a queen-sized bed and a couch. The bathroom was also roomy. Exceptionally quiet at night.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheverlyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Il Seminario was everything that was promised. Lovely ambience, spacious clean bedroom, large bathroom, excellent breakfast and, above all, wonderful staff. Paolo, Rossana and all did everything to make my 8 night stay happy and smooth in their beautiful city. I hope to visit Lucca again, and if so, shall only stay at Il Seminario.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aiw-nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews