We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 176 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just a quick note echoing many of the other reviews. We (a fmily of four with two teenage children) stayed at Il Seminario for 6 nights in one of their suites. I have nothing but good things to say about the B&B and the staff (Paolo, Emmanuela and Rosana). The breakfasts were great (more options than most), the room was clean and spacious, and Paolo even offered to give us and our luggage a ride to the train station, even though it's only a 10 minute walk away. Lucca is a gorgeous city, somewhat less touristy than other areas of Tuscany, but a very "livable" place, and it served as an ideal home base for trips by train and car to Volterra, Pisa and the Cinque Terra.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boco_Darwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 171 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed at Il Seminario for 2 nights in May. We were delighted by the Puccini room, which was very large and elegant, with high ceilings. The bathroom was also very roomy. Breakfasts were served on a patio under a gazebo, buffet style, with lots of choices ranging from yogurt to meat and cheeses. Best of all, the coffee cups were huge and the server refilled our cups several times. It was the only time we had enough coffee in Italy! We loved Lucca with its walks along the ramparts and medieval streets. It was not touristy at all. The B&B is near the cathedral and botanical gardens and was very quiet.

Room Tip: The Puccini room was very large, with a queen-sized bed and a couch. The bathroom was also roomy. Ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheverlyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Il Seminario was everything that was promised. Lovely ambience, spacious clean bedroom, large bathroom, excellent breakfast and, above all, wonderful staff. Paolo, Rossana and all did everything to make my 8 night stay happy and smooth in their beautiful city. I hope to visit Lucca again, and if so, shall only stay at Il Seminario.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aiw-nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

“Tuscan jewel”

Pending review




We stayed at Il Seminario B&B for 4 days from 23rd May 2012.
We paid €110 per day for B&B but there are lower prices for some rooms and obviously a better rate outside of high season.
The accommodation (Guinigi suite) was everything as descibed in their website. Good size bedroom with seating area, small kitchenette and a wonderful bathroom. (Better than most 4 star hotels we have used over the years). The suite was spotless and cleaned each day when towels were replaced.
The room had large wooden beams and velux windows that were operated by remote control so you could open these with ease in the morning both in the main bedroom and the bathroom. What if you forget to close these and it rains? No problem-they close automatically! The rooms have A/C also which was a necessity at times.
On arrival by bus from Pisa airport (1 hour approx) I telephoned Paolo who is manager/owner who came and collected my wife and I at the bus stop. We were at the B&B in minutes whereupon he took our cases up the 3 flights of stairs to our room. This is not too arduous and withn help with cases This was approx 8-00pm so he said we could leave the booking in process until the next morning which was great. He then surprisingly handed me a notebook computer for use during our stay with free internet connection within the hotel! This he said could be left in our room with no worries about security as all of the staff have been with him many years and completely trustworthy.
He then circled a number of local restaurants on the local map he recommended for our stay. So within 5 minutes of our arrival we were on our way to the first restaurant on the list (Georgios on Via san Giorgio) which is about 15 minutes walk from the B&B. Predictably the food and wine were great with excellent pasta dishes on offer and reasonably priced.
Got lost on the way back which is par for the course in a new place (and after a few glasses of vino!)
The other restaurants were also of high quality. Another great place to eat is Piazzali Napolean where there are plenty of good trattorias and restaurants to suit all budgets!
The breakfast at Il Seminario is first class with a good selection of fruit, cereals, cheeses, ham and boiled eggs available and served up by Rosanna each morning with fresh coffee. We had the choice of eating either in the inside breakfast room or in the small but quaint outdoor garden area.
Our stay ended with Paolo driving us to the train station for our 3 day trip to Florence. Incidently the quality of service in Lucca overall was significantly better.
I cant speak highly enough about the quality of service from the staff during our stay and recommend Il Seminario B&B for anyone thinking of visiting Lucca. We will certainly be back.

Stayed May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GNR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

We have just stayed at this B&B and it was perfect. The location is great. It is only a five minute walk to the trainstation and to all the major sites. Our room was very clean ad the bed was so comfortable. But what really made our stay so great was the fantastic service we received. Everyday we were welcomed with a good morning and delicious breakfast. The coffee was delicious and the breakfast was plentyful and very tasty! The hosts would go out of their way to help you. Nothing was a problem for them. Paolo even drove us to the train station when we checked out. We would definately stay there again and would recommend this B&B to anyone. Thankyou for a most enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 47 in Lucca
1,135 reviews
0.6 km away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.9 km away
San Luca Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Guest Apartment Margherita B&B
1.3 km away
Villa Alexandra
Villa Alexandra
#2 of 176 in Lucca
162 reviews
0.4 km away
B&B L'Antica Bifore
B&B L'Antica Bifore
#5 of 176 in Lucca
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via del Seminario 5 Centro Storico, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range: ₹ 3,970 - ₹ 11,676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have air conditioning and all rooms have private bathroom There is also wireless internet connection so that you can always stay in touch with the outside world. For a pleasant distraction you can switch on the satellite television instead. If you have any pets please do not leave them at home, they are more than welcome in our apartments. Private parking 10 € per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Seminario Bed And Breakfast
Il Seminario Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing