We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (614)
Filter reviews
614 results
Traveller rating
502
100
11
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
502
100
11
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station within the walls pastries top floor hard boiled eggs quiet location an easy walk the owner walking distance to everything inside the city walls b and b perfect base tea and coffee lovely lucca san michele night stay reception desk
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 614 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

“Tuscan jewel”

Pending review


We stayed at Il Seminario B&B for 4 days from 23rd May 2012.
We paid €110 per day for B&B but there are lower prices for some rooms and obviously a better rate outside of high season.
The accommodation (Guinigi suite) was everything as descibed in their website. Good size bedroom with seating area, small kitchenette and a wonderful bathroom. (Better than most 4 star hotels we have used over the years). The suite was spotless and cleaned each day when towels were replaced.
The room had large wooden beams and velux windows that were operated by remote control so you could open these with ease in the morning both in the main bedroom and the bathroom. What if you forget to close these and it rains? No problem-they close automatically! The rooms have A/C also which was a necessity at times.
On arrival by bus from Pisa airport (1 hour approx) I telephoned Paolo who is manager/owner who came and collected my wife and I at the bus stop. We were at the B&B in minutes whereupon he took our cases up the 3 flights of stairs to our room. This is not too arduous and withn help with cases This was approx 8-00pm so he said we could leave the booking in process until the next morning which was great. He then surprisingly handed me a notebook computer for use during our stay with free internet connection within the hotel! This he said could be left in our room with no worries about security as all of the staff have been with him many years and completely trustworthy.
He then circled a number of local restaurants on the local map he recommended for our stay. So within 5 minutes of our arrival we were on our way to the first restaurant on the list (Georgios on Via san Giorgio) which is about 15 minutes walk from the B&B. Predictably the food and wine were great with excellent pasta dishes on offer and reasonably priced.
Got lost on the way back which is par for the course in a new place (and after a few glasses of vino!)
The other restaurants were also of high quality. Another great place to eat is Piazzali Napolean where there are plenty of good trattorias and restaurants to suit all budgets!
The breakfast at Il Seminario is first class with a good selection of fruit, cereals, cheeses, ham and boiled eggs available and served up by Rosanna each morning with fresh coffee. We had the choice of eating either in the inside breakfast room or in the small but quaint outdoor garden area.
Our stay ended with Paolo driving us to the train station for our 3 day trip to Florence. Incidently the quality of service in Lucca overall was significantly better.
I cant speak highly enough about the quality of service from the staff during our stay and recommend Il Seminario B&B for anyone thinking of visiting Lucca. We will certainly be back.

Stayed May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GNR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

We have just stayed at this B&B and it was perfect. The location is great. It is only a five minute walk to the trainstation and to all the major sites. Our room was very clean ad the bed was so comfortable. But what really made our stay so great was the fantastic service we received. Everyday we were welcomed with a good morning and delicious breakfast. The coffee was delicious and the breakfast was plentyful and very tasty! The hosts would go out of their way to help you. Nothing was a problem for them. Paolo even drove us to the train station when we checked out. We would definately stay there again and would recommend this B&B to anyone. Thankyou for a most enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Travelling to Italy for 1 week (just got back) we decided to spend one day in Lucca because we'd heard it was beautiful. Ideally situated inside the famous walls, Il Seminario was a great choice. It was reasonably priced (95 euro for a large double with private bath, 75 euro for the single ( which turned out to be a double room anyway)and spotlessly clean. The staff (Paolo and Emmanuela) were just terrific and very helpful including their suggestion for dinner. Two of us got the attic suite (which could have slept 4) in the 3rd floor attic complete with kitchenette and eating table, a couch and skylights. Two of us less mobile got a room on the ground floor. The breakfast was more than continental and included eggs (boiled), cappucino, cheese, ham and fruit. They also let us park our van (there were 5 of us) in the garden and didn't rush us out the next day while we eplored the city again in the morning. The food in Lucca was fabulous and I will write more about that in other reviews. It is a real gem. And for opera fans, you can visit Puccini's birthplace. Everything inside the walls is walkable. Finding it was a bit tricky because we were using a GPS which didn't know about one ways, etc. But that didn't delay us more than a few minutes. And we ended up asking the folks at the fabulous patery shop which turned out to be just around the corner.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMSantarossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights at this B&B and loved it. It was convenient from the train station. We booked the San Frediano room which was quiet, adequately sized and had a view of the courtyard below. Decor was minimalist but included ample space for our check- in sized luggage. The bathroom was modern and of ok size. Both breakfast and WIFI were included in the room price and at 100 Euros per day was the cheapest hotel rate we paid during our three-week exploration of Tuscany. The hotel staff was very helpful in suggesting excellent restaurants. For instance, we highly recommend Tratoria de Leo for dinner. The location of the B&B was convenient to everything in town. A walk around the city wall is a must thing to do in Lucca - very picturesque and so many photo ops. The best thing is the vibe of the town which is not just for foreign tourists. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the courtyard are probably quieter than those facing the street
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamusaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The directions the owners sent to us to find the hotel were perfect. They have free parking which is a real bonus. The location was terrific, the hotel was very nice and the simple (included) breakfast was very tasty. We were given excellent restaurant suggestions. The hotel is very close to the train station, when you follow the short cuts the hotel recommends. We turned our rental car in at Lucca and took the train to Florence, which worked out quite well. This B&B is a very good value considering the cost of the room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews