We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$189
View deal
Expedia.com
$186
View deal
FindHotel
$161
View deal
Priceline$203
Hotels.com$186
Trip.com$179
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveller rating
233
201
69
23
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
233
201
69
23
9
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 535 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2021

A great place to spend a few days in beautiful Lucca. The surroundings are fantastic. The hotel sits majestically at the end of the avenue. The outdoor restaurant serves fine Italian cuisine. The swimming pool at the back gives peace of mind. Breakfast is good. But the very best is the staff who provide an incredible service. They help guests with everything - and a little more. There is no doubt where we will be staying during our next visit to beautiful Tuscany.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hansinger2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 July 2021

I came back to Villa Cheli after 3 years and it still is a first class experience. The villa is beautiful, the swimming pool is huge, there is a good buffet breakfast and their Camelia restaurant for dinner is absolutely amazing. However, what really stands out is the staff, always so kind and willing to go out of their way to help you, especially Silvia, but all the staff members are top notch.
The location is 10 minutes drive from Lucca city center, so you can enjoy the beautiful city and relax in the afternoon.
Highly recommended!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dany
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 October 2020 via mobile

Suggest not to buy the olive oil, its a scam. We had dinner this summer at the restaurant with a group of friends and they opened a fanatic bottle of olive oil for us. We were so impressed that we all bought one or two bottles to take back home. When we opened it back home we all discovered its not the same. Colour is very light green and tastes like sunflower oil. Disgusting and so disappointed from this place. We had a fantastic meal, very friendly owner and family, we were not expecting such a scam. Especially since I’ve brought several clients in the past to this hotel.
The owner reassured me that it was the same oil, this is the most disappointing part, we spent some time talk about the oil. I’m keeping the open bottle and taking it back to him when I return to Lucca. I’ll make sure he enjoys it.

Date of stay: August 2020
1  Thank FabioLU2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
vincenzo zaffora, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Cheli, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2020

Goodmorning,
we're really sad to read your words and we're sorry about that but the maintenance of the oil also depends on the temperatures to which they have been exposed, such as exposure to the sun or heat sources.
Our olive oil is always made with our olive trees that you find in the property.
We have no intention of scamming our customers, especcially those like you.
We kindly ask you to send us your address where we will be able to send others olive oil bottles.
We want assure you that the oil served at the restaurant is the same that we sell in our cellar.
Hope to receive your reply as soon as you can.

Best Regards
Hotel Villa Cheli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2020

When you arrive to the place and see this nice mansion at the very end of cypress alley, you are very impressed - kind of typical Tuscany picture.
Once in your room, the dream quickly fades away. rooms would definitely require a massive refurbishing as clearly outdated and bathrooms are really average.
We did not try the restaurant but only the breakfast and was so-so.
Good point is the big swimming pool on the back of the house but keep in mind that it is in the shade quite early in the afternoon (because of the big hill nearby).

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank bruno l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 31 August 2020 via mobile

Impressive outside, and has a nice pool surrounded by AstroTurf and wasps.
Inside, the rooms have plastic shelves and rusty fittings. The housekeeper is really loud, and wakes everyone up at 6.45am by slamming doors and cupboards and dragging things around. As for breakfast, not quite sure how you can get toast and cereal wrong, but they managed it. There was no milk, a complete refusal to make the bread even slightly brown. Very friendly receptionist though, which is why the score isn’t lower. There’s no bar. Dinner is worth it, should you choose not to go into town.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
vincenzo zaffora, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Cheli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2020
Google Translation

la governante è impossibile che possa fare rumore alle 6.45 visto che entra in servizio dopo le 8.00
la colazione dica cosa non le è piaciuto purtroppo con covid non possiamo fare buffet e siamo molto limitati ma offriamo tutta la colazione continentale compreso uova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews