We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast La Martellina
Ranked #2 of 17 Fiesole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2009

After reading the reviews on this website I was stoked to have the opportunity to go to this B&B. I thought it was going to be the highlight of my trip to Florence. But what I found what quite the opposite. The surroundings were beautiful yes but the actual accomodations less than satisfying. The host, Claudio did nothing to make us feel at home. We wanted to use the internet and felt uncomfortable getting in and out of his room marked "private". We wanted to go out to eat for lunch and there were no places in town to eat and he didn't even suggest making us lunch there so we had to trek back into town. The accomodations were satisfactory, the bedding seemed a little dirty and the bathroom smelled like dead pine trees. I would suggest going else such as Signoria Di Firenze in the heart of Florence, that hotel is excellent!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank W0rldtraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Bed and Breakfast La Martellina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2009

Our advise: Just book this and enjoy !
My wife, our daugther and I stayed for three nights in La Martellina. We had a wonderful time: quiet surrounding, beautifull house, good and clean beds and sanitary. Take bus 14 (at 100 m) and without stress you're in 10 minutes a the Duomo.
Refrigerator, coffeebar, fresh fruits at breakfast, maps and usefull information.
Next time i'll lend Claudio's bike and drive along the Arno to Florence.
Go to Florence - il Girone, note sign at traffic lights

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eduveloper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

My cousin, brother and I recently stayed with Claudio on our trip to Tuscany. This B&B was one of my favorite parts of our trip. Claudio was very helpful and kind and did his best to make us feel comfortable. The B&B was clean and beautiful! And, what better way to wake up in the morning than to the sound of the Arno? We had no trouble at all going in and out of Florence. While staying, I felt that I was at my own home. I would recommend this inn for travelers who want to stay in one of the best values in Tuscany. I will definitely plan on staying here again on my next trip. Hopefully it is sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likehow22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

After a hectic day of museums in Florence, La Martellina was a perfect place to relax and unwind. The B&B is located in an old mill on the Arno River, east of Florence in the village of Girone. Breakfast provided multiple healthful and nutritious choices on the terrace in sunny weather or in the spacious dining room in foul weather. Girone is the last stop on Bus 14A from Florence, about a 20-minute ride. (Also there is a bus that runs regularly from the Girone stop to Fiesole for convenient sightseeing there.) We loved our stay with Claudio and his two dogs in the rustic and peaceful setting and decided that we would like to live there. There is a restaurant in Girone but a smart traveller might rather eat in Florence where choices are more varied or return to La Martellina with a bottle of wine, a loaf of bread, etc..

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rusty-johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2009

My husbands family and I stayed at La Martellina last April and loved it! The house alone is beautiful but it's serene surroundings makes this bed and breakfast exceptional. So close to the Arno River that it basically sits on top of it, there are plenty of outdoor areas to sit and relax while enjoying the italian countryside. We stayed in the Salcio Suite and Olivio. All the rooms were unique, comfortable and had a lot of character. La Martellina is an ideal retreat after spending a long day in florence and perfect for a little downtime with your family. It's very easy to get to by a 10-15 minute bus ride and short walk to the gated property. Claudio was very helpful and served us a delicous breakfast every morning. Staying at La martellina and visiting Florence were the highlight s of my trip around Italy. We enjoyed it so much that we are returning for our second stay in January!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princie918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fiesole
5.0 km away
Pensione Bencista
Pensione Bencista
#2 of 11 in Fiesole
372 reviews
5.2 km away
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
#3 of 11 in Fiesole
515 reviews
4.2 km away
Fattoria Di Maiano
Fattoria Di Maiano
#6 of 11 in Fiesole
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Villa dei Bosconi
Villa dei Bosconi
#7 of 11 in Fiesole
80 reviews
11.4 km away
Demidoff Country Resort
Demidoff Country Resort
#1 of 1 in Pratolino
449 reviews
5.1 km away
Villa Miralunga B&B
Villa Miralunga B&B
#7 of 17 in Fiesole
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast La Martellina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast La Martellina

Address: Via della Martellina 19 | San Jacopo Al Girone, 50061, Fiesole, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Fiesole
Price Range: ₹ 4,403 - ₹ 6,952 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Ancient 13th century mill, with charming garden on the river, Florence lies less than 5 Km away. Private parking. The bus stop within 200 meters for the center of Florence. Bikes available. Only the background murmur of the river you whisper in the ears! Located near a small village is completely surrounded by green countryside. A lovely outdoor garden and a hearty breakfast awaits you in the morning and you will spend a pleasant stay with family. The B & B can be both an ideal base to visit Florence or a starting point for hiking or walking and cycling in the Florentine countryside.The garden is a pleasant break after a day visiting monuments and museums. A few hundred meters guests have at their disposal, without having to use a car, an excellent restaurant, bar, pharmacy and various other shops, in addition to the movies. Availability of bicycles for walks or to Florence on the beautiful bike path on the banks of the Arno. The bus stop within 200 meters will allow you to reach the center of Florence, with departures every 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Bed and Breakfast La Martellina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast La Martellina Fiesole, Province Of Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing