We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slendid stay at this peaceful B & B.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast La Martellina
Ranked #2 of 17 Fiesole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2015

My husband found this delightful B & B by doing some research. It's in a peaceful location along the river Arno. Parking is limited but is enough however once we'd arrived we didn’t need the car. Just up the road you can catch the bus to Florence. They run very frequently. Claudio who runs the B & B is a very jovial character who clearly loves his two dogs. They're friendly but haven't learnt that over breakfast they are not needed. Our room was in the tower. It's very old, 13th century and full of interesting features with a narrow round staircase up to the room. My husband managed our cases up there but it's not easy. I'm sure Claudio would help if required. The bathroom with shower etc is modern and is excellent. The best part of our stay was the breakfast. A very good selection of breads, jam and savoury meats. There was yogurt and fresh fruit which is perfect for me. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: This is a peaceful location. Anyone who is not agile should avoid the Tower Room as the access isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2015 via mobile

The accommodation was not super clean but the owner was so charming and made us feel so welcome. Definitely worth the stay if you want to visit Florence and stay in a relaxing atmosphere. Thank you for the great experience.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015

One of the most unusual B&Bs we have come across. The mill, around which the house is built, dates from the 13th century and is attractively furnished in an old style. A very comfortable bed, in which you will be lulled to sleep by the Arno rushing over the weir. An ample breakfast is served from 8:30. The polyglot landlord is very friendly, and knowledgable about Florence and the surrounding countryside. His two dogs will also make friends with you. There is a lovely garden with tables and easy-chairs, and ample car-parking space. In the summer, it is also possible to go for a dip in the river. We would not hesitate to come back here when we next visit Tuscany.
Just one word of clarification: La Martellina is not actually in the hillside town of Fiesole: the small settlement of San Jacopo, part of the administrative district of Fiesole, is closer to Florence.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the "Salcio", with en-suite facilities (and space for an extra small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2015

A gracious host - unique and lovely building - I mean, it's like a castle with good heating/cooling and up-to-date amenities.
We stayed in the Salcio double this year and the tower or turret room last April. Both were beautifully decorated and had extraordinary bathrooms.
The Duomo is less than 30 minutes away by bus during rush hour. Why would anyone drive there?
I can't imagine a better place to stay when in the area.

Room Tip: Our experience with WiFi in Italy was not great. WiFi was acceptable for light usage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JimGunther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015

Claudio welcomed me late in the night when I arrived introduced by a friend and he managed for me one of the best rooms I have ever slept.
The place itself is gorgeous, outstanding in one of the most outstanding areas in the world.
Then the fairy gate opened and I was led to the '200 tower atop of a winding staircase tunnelling in a distorted dimension.
Doors opening on the stairs to reveal other magic rooms till the top, where the wooden door opens on an ambient that could be very well carved out of Umberto Eco "the name of the rose". High wooden ceiling, framed from the balcony of a hanging library, far atop of a bed worthy a princess. And then little signs of the sober luxury of a place unique on earth.
I really slept with the ghost there. The revived ghost of the sober content and wonder for the naked beauty of places and things, a content and wonder that our blathering century has buried under piles of massified ornaments.
Claudio, the generous and affable wizard lord of the place, is really a super-host.
When you visit La Martellina, look for the little signs and let them reverberate magic images in your dreams :-)

Room Tip: go for the tower, but consider returning to enjoy all nuances of amazement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PietroMing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fiesole hotels
5.2 km away
Belmond Villa San Michele
0.9 km away
Fattoria di Poggiopiano
Fattoria di Poggiopiano
#5 of 17 in Fiesole
101 reviews
5.8 km away
Florence Country Relais
Florence Country Relais
#3 of 17 in Fiesole
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Villa Di Campolungo Agriturismo
5.1 km away
Villa Miralunga B&B
Villa Miralunga B&B
#8 of 17 in Fiesole
49 reviews
5.8 km away
Guest House Casa Sofia
Guest House Casa Sofia
#9 of 17 in Fiesole
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast La Martellina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast La Martellina

Address: Via della Martellina 19 | San Jacopo Al Girone, 50061, Fiesole, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Fiesole
Price Range: ₹ 4,213 - ₹ 7,490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Ancient 13th century mill, with charming garden on the river, Florence lies less than 5 Km away. Private parking. The bus stop within 200 meters for the center of Florence. Bikes available. Only the background murmur of the river you whisper in the ears! Located near a small village is completely surrounded by green countryside. A lovely outdoor garden and a hearty breakfast awaits you in the morning and you will spend a pleasant stay with family. The B & B can be both an ideal base to visit Florence or a starting point for hiking or walking and cycling in the Florentine countryside.The garden is a pleasant break after a day visiting monuments and museums. A few hundred meters guests have at their disposal, without having to use a car, an excellent restaurant, bar, pharmacy and various other shops, in addition to the movies. Availability of bicycles for walks or to Florence on the beautiful bike path on the banks of the Arno. The bus stop within 200 meters will allow you to reach the center of Florence, with departures every 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Bed and Breakfast La Martellina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast La Martellina Fiesole, Province Of Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing