We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Five Nights!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silla Hotel
Ranked #67 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Five Nights!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I spent most of a week here and there is a long list of kudos. The staff was superb, whether I spoke English, Italian, or French. The room was charming and very quiet, especially the air conditioning, and I am a restless sleeper if it's noisy. I loved being minutes away by cab from wherever I wanted to go (I cabbed it because I'm not big on walking in 90-degree weather). Best of all, the place felt as quiet as a Midwestern cornfield when I'd plunge into almost anywhere on the other side of the Arno which often felt like Times Square. Florence in the summer is a zoo, May or June in my experience, so having a quiet hotel to retreat to, where the noise and commotion of the city are not pressing, is great. I loved the wall of jasmine on the breakfast terrace; the server was quick and courteous and charming, though once I had to wait for a seat.
Breakfast was your basic continental, lighter than what you'd find in German hotels, but satisfying.
One note: you cannot see the Arno from the terrace unless the trees in the tiny neighboring park are bare, but that's okay by me, because they muffled noise from the road along the Arno. Make sure btw that you eat at Zeb Gastronomia nearby for lunch or dinner. It is amazing!

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room with a view. I could see the terrace, the park, and it was quite pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    431
    77
    18
    11
See reviews for
252
539
60
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

My family and I spent 5 nights at Silla hotel in April 2012. It was a big surprise to us to find such a charming boutique hotel with very reasonable price in an expensive city like florence. The hotel is located on the quiet southern side of the Arno river, 5 minute distant from Ponte Vecchio and 10 minutes from the Pitti Palace. Uffizi & Palazzo Vecchio are just 20 minutes away.

The breakfast was very hearty, served in a lovely room next to the lobby. We loved the espresso and the bakery very much. This was quite beyond our expectation.

The guest rooms were clean and well-equiped. We got Arno view rooms which actually faced a small park before the Arno. The bar on the balcony was nice and cozy. We had some wine on the terrace during the sunset. We enjoyed the moment very much.

Most of all, the gem of Silla is the staff's hospitality and helpfulness. We felt at home with their care and service. We were so grateful wtih their help on luggage delivery to Milan, which was not initially planned but successful with their kind assistance. I can't finish mentioning all the good impressions we had with the staff in this review, including the front staff and the barista. They were all wonderful and we can't thank them enough.

If you stay there, which I highly recommend, don't forget to go up to the Piazzale Michelangelo in the neighborhood, 10 min walk from the hotel. The sunrise and sunset views are spectacular and you can see the whole florence.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 101Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We arrived in Florence the day before our tour started, and the SIlla was recommended by our tour company. The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood on the river within walking distance of the Ponte Vecchio. Everything was clean and pleasant, the staff very helpful. The breakfast room is charming, cappuccino was excellent, and the buffet included a delicious fresh fruit salad.
We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IngridRPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Loved our 3 night stay at Hotel Silla. Recommended to us by friends who always stay here when visiting Florence, & we found their praise of this hotel well-deserved. Staff most friendly and helpful re: every aspect of our stay; standard room looked out over small park and toward Arno, though we couldn't see river as trees were leafing and May flowers blooming, but who's complaining! Swallows flying about outside our spacious window, which let plenty of fresh air into room, the best kind of air-conditioning. Room itself spacious and met all our needs. Daily housekeeping excellent. Hotel Silla very quiet, with no noise from adjoining rooms, or from above or below (very important to us). Breakfast was fresh and abundant with plenty of choice, and coffee excellent. Best of all, with the Arno just a few steps away, Hotel Silla is a perfect base for Florence walk-abouts, just enough away from the busiest parts of city and yet close enough to do ALL our touring on foot, reaching every beautiful and moving location in walks of 15 or 20 minutes, and of course each walk was a delight in itself. I wish I could report some small flaw to make this review more believable, but honestly there were none. And, oh yes, this was a 50th anniversary trip for us...

Room Tip: Room facing Arno. Our "standard" rate room seemed just fine to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaveyJsLocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colmurano, Italy
Level Contributor
151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Perfect location to walk down the rivers edge, walk to Ponte Vecchico, service was excellent ask to face the terrace.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#53 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
San Lorenzo
Rapallo Hotel
Rapallo Hotel
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#51 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silla Hotel

Property: Silla Hotel
Address: Via dei Renai, 5, 50100, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Florence
#49 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,239 - ₹ 14,115
Hotel Class:3 star — Silla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your moments of rest in Florence in a XV century palace, away from the tourist crowds but at only 5 minutes walking distance from Ponte Vecchio, Uffizzi Gallery and the Cathedral. Have your buffet breakfast in our lovely terrace or just relax with a refreshing drink after a day among art, history and shopping. Hotel Silla offers a gracious hospitality. Each of our well-furnished rooms has air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, direct-dial telephone and safe. The hotel is provided with a spacious garage, located in the same hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Silla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silla Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing