We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT location, solid hotel (super for the price)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel San Marco
Ranked #345 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“GREAT location, solid hotel (super for the price)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

This was probably the best hotel on our trip. The location was just awesome! 5 mins. walk to Duomo, 2 mins to the Accademia, 10-15 mins. from the train station. Rooms were clean, staff was nice (although the older gentleman doesn't speak much English). AC and WiFi worked well. We had a great room on the top floor (ask for room 16), that felt really tucked away and quiet, almost like a little cabin. Breakfast was good (by Italian standards), the people on here complaining about the breakfasts have obviously never been to Italy (Note: you will not get sausage and bacon unless you go to a specific English/American place). Had a sufficient lift to get our two bags up to the third floor hotel. All in all we had a wonderful time here and would certainly recommend it. I would probably avoid a room on the front street if you could though.

Room Tip: Room 16 (DOUBLE with attached bath) was oustanding for us. There was a snafu from the booking site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trimess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    26
    31
    6
    29
See reviews for
10
48
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We really loved our stay at San Marco's: the brother and sister, who run the hotel, are really wonderfull people, giving us brilliant inside information, even booking tables at restaurants for us and giving wonderfull advice at any given time.
The rooms were simple and clean, the breakfast equally simple, yet perfect, and the hotel provided exactly what we were looking for: a place to stay in walking distance of the duomo.
We'll defenitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ursula63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

The hotel is on the 3rd floor but there is a small lift to get heavier bags upstairs. The stairwell doesn't make the best impression but we liked the hotel overall. The location is excellent, right in the centre of the main sights. We had a double room with en suite. The room was clean and had air con at no extra cost. The rooms are at the back of the building so you get a good night's sleep. The breakfast was good, there was fruit, cereals, melba toast, nuts and fruit juices laid out and the staff would offer croissants then warm them up for you. The staff also make tea and coffee for you. The staff were helpful. I'd go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank br1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

We booked six nights at another hotel, but since they didn't have room for us they sent us to Hotel San Marco. The location of the hotel is perfect - its in the middle of everything. This is a family business, the owners are always on site to resolve all the problems - unlike in other places where nobody cares. They gave us so many tips as where to go, what to do. The hotel has basic accomodations, but it was clean, safe and close to everything. I can recommend this hotel to people on budget.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fp2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

We stayed here for one night so that we could spend a couple of days in Florence, but as we already had accomodation in Rome, we couldn't afford to spend much. This hotel was ideal. It was quite central, only 5 minutes walk from the Duomo cathedral. The room was exremely basic, so don't expect luxury, but it was clean and had air con, which we were grateful for in August! Breakfast was also included which was good. Choice of options in a bright, cheerful room. Basically, don't expect romance and luxury, but good for a cheap night in Florence.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michibaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#60 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Sampaoli
Hotel Sampaoli
#306 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#165 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#133 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marco

Property: Hotel San Marco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 50, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,824 - ₹ 7,061
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel San Marco 1*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing