We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place with a cute neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenze La Mongolfiera
Ranked #357 of 673 Florence B&B and Inns
San Francisco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place with a cute neighborhood”
Reviewed 21 December 2009

I really liked the place. Our bathroom was big and it had a cozier feel than staying at a hotel.

The hotel is hard to find initially. Even our cab driver's weren't entirely sure where it was. Luckily I printed out the map and address. You only have to take a bus to get to the center of Florence and the hotel will give you the information. The hotel offers a computer that you can use for free.

We did eat at a restaurant around the hotel and I thought it served the best Risotto di mare (seafood risotto) that I've ever had!

When we were there only the Father and Son spoke english. If you talk to the rest of the staff I would definitely brush up on your Italian or you can head to the bottom of the house to seek out the Father or Son.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lit2kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    62
    42
    7
    9
See reviews for
27
86
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We spent 3 days in Florence, the B&B is very difficult to find at first and it is really far from the central railwaystation.It takes us at least 30 min(one bus called B1 maybe, 5-6stops) to get to the city central. The bus station is not far away, 5 min on foot. The room is spaciou and bright, the surrouding is great(there is a river), the price is okay, we paid 75euro per day in April, but the location is inconvienent for traveller, so I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahLian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We were looking for a getaway for the weekend and found the Mongolfiere to be perfect for this. I had searched the internet and basically had to decide between the Mongolfiere and a 4* hotel further away from the city. Somehow, the pictures and experiences of other travellers made me chose this hotel. Good decision. However, don't expect a 3 or 4* hotel with 24h service, lobby etc. Actually, it is a bed & breakfast, but probably as good as a B&B can get. It is conveniently situated in a quiet residential area, about 25mins (on foot) from the city centre. You may also want to use public transportation. The bus stop (Maffei) is a mere 50m away. The hotel is extremely charming with a beautiful garden, tasteful interior and very friendly staff. A great choice for a romantic weekend. We found the room to be impeccably clean, the bathroom was modern and all equipment was working just fine. One comment on noise: as the building is not well sound-proofed, depending on your neighbor you might have some noise. In our first night we had two love-bugs next door who really couldn't keep their lust under control, so we woke up after 1am waiting for them to calm down. Other than that, the hotel was quiet. Breakfast was served outside (summer), the buffet itself (with fresh fruit, croissants, toast, cake, corn-flakes and yoghurt) was of good variety, but otherwise not noteworthy. All in all we had our perfect weekend in Florence and La Mongolfiere and their helpful staff definitely contributed to this. A big thank you from Switzerland!

  • Liked — Service, town, Atmosphere, price, extras (free internet)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank maedvafo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2008

We stayed at the Mongolfiera for three nights and found it to be very satisfactory. The room was a good size, clean, and had a very fast acting air-conditioner. The service was excellent. Laura checked us in and gave us a map of Florence. She helped us with bus schedules and museum reservations, which was fantastic. We did not have a car, but the bus stop was very close to the B&B and we actually walked in to town on a number of occassions (about a 30 minute walk, but we found it enjoyable). We were thankful that we did not stay in town, as it would have been very noisy. The Mongolfiera was nice and quiet, even though we were on the first floor adjacent to the lobby. Check out was at 10:00 AM, but they hung on to our luggage in the morning while we did some last minute sight seeing. Overall, we had a great experience.

  • Liked — Freindly staff , spacious room, air-conditioner
  • Disliked — early check out time
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Duccio2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2007

We had a very pleasant three days in Florence recently, and the Residenze La Mongolfiera made a wonderful home base.

We got in very late, and our host Serverio met us and let us into the room, saying we'd deal with registration and paperwork in the morning. They have a private "garage" (more of a car port in US Parlance behind a locked gate) that we were allowed to park in.

There's also a nice garden area with umbrellas and tables, just outside the breakfast room. Breakfast is pretty standard: strong coffee, cereal, ham, cheese, toast and juice.

The neighborhood that La Mongolfiera is located in is about 2 KM from the Historic center of Florence, and is an easy walk. They also have bicycles available for rent.

Extra amenities like satelite tv and network ports in all the rooms is a plus... there's also a computer in the breakfast room with a high speed internet connection available at no extra fee.

The only complaints we had about Mongolfiera was the noise. The rooms all open into a central area where the reception desk is, and the breakfast room and kitchen are off that same area. Because of the wood floors and echoey nature of this central area we weren't really able to "sleep in" during our stay; we heard breakfast being prepared at 7 every morning, as well as people slamming doors and talking to the host at the reception desk. Similarly during the afternoons every closed door or footstep echoed through the house, and made napping difficult.

That being said, however, we had a very pleasant stay and would recommend the Residenze La Mongolfiera to anyone visiting florence - it's less expensive than a hotel near the center and an easy walk or bus ride to get to all the attractions.

  • Liked — Location, quiet neighborhood, free internet and satelite
  • Disliked — Noise in central area that came into the rooms
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank T&HPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
IH Hotel Firenze Business
#226 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile
San Lorenzo
B&B Lanterna Fiorentina
B&B Lanterna Fiorentina
#47 of 301 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villino il Leone
#202 of 673 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residenza Le Rondini
Residenza Le Rondini
#209 of 673 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Select Executive
#529 of 673 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenze La Mongolfiera? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenze La Mongolfiera

Property: Residenze La Mongolfiera
Address: Via Guido Guinizelli, 1, 50100, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 673 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,939 - ₹ 11,081
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenze La Mongolfiera 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Residenze La Mongolfiera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing