We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residenze La Mongolfiera
Nearby Hotels
US$ 246
US$ 232
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
San Firenze Suites & Spa(Florence)
US$ 543
US$ 527
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 765
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Adriatico(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$ 262
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 1,114
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Paris Hotel(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$ 245
US$ 235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 454
US$ 429
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Globus(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$ 265
US$ 246
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Cora(Florence)
US$ 621
US$ 590
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 201
US$ 183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
24
63
42
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
63
42
8
9
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We spent 3 days in Florence, the B&B is very difficult to find at first and it is really far from the central railwaystation.It takes us at least 30 min(one bus called B1 maybe, 5-6stops) to get to the city central. The bus station is not far away, 5 min on foot. The room is spaciou and bright, the surrouding is great(there is a river), the price is okay, we paid 75euro per day in April, but the location is inconvienent for traveller, so I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahLian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We were looking for a getaway for the weekend and found the Mongolfiere to be perfect for this. I had searched the internet and basically had to decide between the Mongolfiere and a 4* hotel further away from the city. Somehow, the pictures and experiences of other travellers made me chose this hotel. Good decision. However, don't expect a 3 or 4* hotel with 24h service, lobby etc. Actually, it is a bed & breakfast, but probably as good as a B&B can get. It is conveniently situated in a quiet residential area, about 25mins (on foot) from the city centre. You may also want to use public transportation. The bus stop (Maffei) is a mere 50m away. The hotel is extremely charming with a beautiful garden, tasteful interior and very friendly staff. A great choice for a romantic weekend. We found the room to be impeccably clean, the bathroom was modern and all equipment was working just fine. One comment on noise: as the building is not well sound-proofed, depending on your neighbor you might have some noise. In our first night we had two love-bugs next door who really couldn't keep their lust under control, so we woke up after 1am waiting for them to calm down. Other than that, the hotel was quiet. Breakfast was served outside (summer), the buffet itself (with fresh fruit, croissants, toast, cake, corn-flakes and yoghurt) was of good variety, but otherwise not noteworthy. All in all we had our perfect weekend in Florence and La Mongolfiere and their helpful staff definitely contributed to this. A big thank you from Switzerland!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank maedvafo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

We stayed at the Mongolfiera for three nights and found it to be very satisfactory. The room was a good size, clean, and had a very fast acting air-conditioner. The service was excellent. Laura checked us in and gave us a map of Florence. She helped us with bus schedules and museum reservations, which was fantastic. We did not have a car, but the bus stop was very close to the B&B and we actually walked in to town on a number of occassions (about a 30 minute walk, but we found it enjoyable). We were thankful that we did not stay in town, as it would have been very noisy. The Mongolfiera was nice and quiet, even though we were on the first floor adjacent to the lobby. Check out was at 10:00 AM, but they hung on to our luggage in the morning while we did some last minute sight seeing. Overall, we had a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Duccio2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2007

We had a very pleasant three days in Florence recently, and the Residenze La Mongolfiera made a wonderful home base.

We got in very late, and our host Serverio met us and let us into the room, saying we'd deal with registration and paperwork in the morning. They have a private "garage" (more of a car port in US Parlance behind a locked gate) that we were allowed to park in.

There's also a nice garden area with umbrellas and tables, just outside the breakfast room. Breakfast is pretty standard: strong coffee, cereal, ham, cheese, toast and juice.

The neighborhood that La Mongolfiera is located in is about 2 KM from the Historic center of Florence, and is an easy walk. They also have bicycles available for rent.

Extra amenities like satelite tv and network ports in all the rooms is a plus... there's also a computer in the breakfast room with a high speed internet connection available at no extra fee.

The only complaints we had about Mongolfiera was the noise. The rooms all open into a central area where the reception desk is, and the breakfast room and kitchen are off that same area. Because of the wood floors and echoey nature of this central area we weren't really able to "sleep in" during our stay; we heard breakfast being prepared at 7 every morning, as well as people slamming doors and talking to the host at the reception desk. Similarly during the afternoons every closed door or footstep echoed through the house, and made napping difficult.

That being said, however, we had a very pleasant stay and would recommend the Residenze La Mongolfiera to anyone visiting florence - it's less expensive than a hotel near the center and an easy walk or bus ride to get to all the attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank T&HPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews