We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful honeymoon stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Locandiera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Locandiera
Ranked #67 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful honeymoon stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at La Locandiera for four nights during our honeymoon in April 2012. We thoroughly enjoyed this B&B. The quick walk from the train station was super convenient, and the room was beautiful, a bit small, but had everything we needed. Silvia was the best part. She helped us with everything we needed from a map, to the bus schedule, to booking a half-day excursion to Chianti. Breakfast was delicious every morning and it was actually very romantic to eat together in our room. The only negative thing would be the comfort of the bed. It seemed to be on par with other places we stayed in Europe, but it could definitely have been more comfortable. Also the "double" bed was two twin beds pushed together creating an uncomfortable bump in the center. Nevertheless the stay was wonderful and we would without a doubt recommend La Locandiera to a friend!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Areidnacol, Proprietario at La Locandiera, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Anne,
thank you very much for your feedback, I really appreciate that you spent 5 minutes of your time to write your experience at my b&b. I am sorry that you found the bed not so comfortable, unfortunately I only have one room with a big bed (queen size) all the other rooms have two twins pushed together, I have to keep those kind of beds as often I have guests that need a twin bedded room, I always try and like to satisfy all the different requests I receive.
Anyway next time you come to Florence and you decide to stay with me again, just require to have a big bed and I will keep it for you..!!
Thank you agian and see you next time.
Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    74
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
129
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

The location is so conveniently located about a five minutes walk to the SMN train station and about 10 minutes to the city centre just by going straight down Via Della Scala! So easy. Silvia provided excellent service - she let us check in early to our room since it was ready and the room was quite spacious and airy, probably because of the high ceilings. Having complimentary wifi was a bonus. She was always ready to answer our questions. And it was really nice to have breakfast in our room. She asks you want time you would like it and she brings it to you at that time on this big tray. Feels like you are being pampered! Her place is like one large apartment so when you first arrive you have to ring a buzzer and she will buzz you in. The building foyer was a bit dark and at first we weren't sure where to go but Silvia came half way down and met us to show us the way (one level up and you can either take the stairs or elevator). Once you are inside her place, it's warm and inviting. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliellathe6th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

First this hotel is a 5min walk from the station, and about 10-15 min to the center of Firenze. It is very quiet while the room is big with a very warm feeling thanks to the wood flooring. The shower room is a bit small but it is well equipped, water is hot and with enough pressure. More than all that, the hostess Silvia is awesome. Nice and warm welcome, really adjusting to your needs (I stayed for new year's eve and was able to get breakfast served at 11:30am on Jan 1st, which by the way was a very nice breakfast). There was an "at home" feel that made my stay truly enjoyable. I absolutely recommend this place to anyone going to Firenze. Will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre-Yves B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
207 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Echoing other reviews, this place is extremely well located near the train station, spotless, fluffy towels, comfortable beds, air conditioning, wifi, decent breakfast, competitively priced, elevator, quiet. What more can you want? The B&B is extremely well managed by Sylvia. She has many years experience in 4-star hotels, and her personal and caring touch is evident. She booked museum tickets for us, lunch reservations and make inquiries about other sights. And she boxed up and shippped somthing I had left behind. Great service. Our room had a tiny shower, but I had to think hard to find something to complain about. Seriously, the tiny shower aside, you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretEllen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaBrunori, Proprietario at La Locandiera, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Dear Margaret,
I really thank you for your beautiful words, please, on this occasion let me thank also all those who have spent 5 minutes of their time to write their comments, which I appreciate so much because they are always a great help to improve the quality of services . It will be a pleasure for me to have you and your husband again my guests. Greetings from Florence. Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piacenza, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

The room was very clean and comfortable, with wood floor.
Close to the train central station "Santa Maria Novella", is the best place if you arrive with big luggage.
WIFI is for free and satellite TV is in every room.

You can choose breakfast among brioche, cappuccino, coffee, orange juice, yoghurt and others, and it's served in room among 8-10 AM.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianluigi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Bella Firenze
Hotel Bella Firenze
#132 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#144 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#149 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
I Sleep B&B
I Sleep B&B
#147 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
San Lorenzo
La Residenza dell'Orafo
La Residenza dell'Orafo
#43 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Bellevue House
Bellevue House
#15 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locandiera? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locandiera

Property: La Locandiera
Address: Via della Scala 48 | First Floor, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,519 - ₹ 12,074
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Locandiera 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"La Locandiera" is a small and charming bed and breakfast very welcoming and warm, where the modern services goes well with the Florentine style of the essential and classic furnishings, the spacious rooms all recently renovated give a feeling of refined and elegant harmony . The bathrooms are all in marble, the warm wooden floors, the breakfast served every morning in your room, the modern comfort, the hospitality and the desire to make our guests feel at home are all distinctive and exclusive of "La Locandiera" Our goal is to make your stay in Florence an unforgettable one, bringing home a precious souvenir of the city and the satisfaction of having chosen the right place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your La Locandiera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing