We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What else to say?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Locandiera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Locandiera
Ranked #75 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
205 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“What else to say?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Echoing other reviews, this place is extremely well located near the train station, spotless, fluffy towels, comfortable beds, air conditioning, wifi, decent breakfast, competitively priced, elevator, quiet. What more can you want? The B&B is extremely well managed by Sylvia. She has many years experience in 4-star hotels, and her personal and caring touch is evident. She booked museum tickets for us, lunch reservations and make inquiries about other sights. And she boxed up and shippped somthing I had left behind. Great service. Our room had a tiny shower, but I had to think hard to find something to complain about. Seriously, the tiny shower aside, you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretEllen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaBrunori, Proprietario at La Locandiera, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Dear Margaret,
I really thank you for your beautiful words, please, on this occasion let me thank also all those who have spent 5 minutes of their time to write their comments, which I appreciate so much because they are always a great help to improve the quality of services . It will be a pleasure for me to have you and your husband again my guests. Greetings from Florence. Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    74
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
130
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piacenza, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

The room was very clean and comfortable, with wood floor.
Close to the train central station "Santa Maria Novella", is the best place if you arrive with big luggage.
WIFI is for free and satellite TV is in every room.

You can choose breakfast among brioche, cappuccino, coffee, orange juice, yoghurt and others, and it's served in room among 8-10 AM.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianluigi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Close to train, clean, large rooms, great breakfast and Silvia is a joy. Oh, and reasonably priced! Can't go wrong booking here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

I am always hesitant with booking through the internet because you never know what you're going to get, but after reading the reviews here I went for it, and boy, was I happy with my choice!
This lovely B&B is located just minutes away from the main train station in Florence, so you can walk there, thus both getting a first glimpse of Florence and saving your cab money. Do note one thing: Google Maps has it wrong! If you type the address, Via della Scala, 48, 50123 Florence, into Google Maps, you get a different hotel, while this is one is actually located one block up the street, marked by its name on Google maps. That means that once you leave the train station and arrive at via della Scala, turn right, not left, and walk up a block and a half. In any case, it is very easy to find.
The great location doesn't stop there! It is within a walking distance of all that is happening in Florence, including all the major and minor tourist attractions. There is also a bar right near the B&B, so you can get a coffee any time you like, as well as two internet places to be in touch with home.
Sylvia, the ever-present owner, is always there to take care of everything, from your arrival, through you tailor-made breakfast, to pointing you to the really important sites of the city and just to making you feel as at home as possible.
The room I had was wonderful - a huge bed, perfect air conditioning (generally a weak point in Italy), a flexible shower hose (so I didn't have to stand in one spot like you would do in most showers), sound-proof openable windows and 4-meter high ceilings, making you fell on a true vacation.
All in all - a perfect spot to stay in Florence, will definitely go back there!

Room Tip: I had room 6 and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex_Greenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

With its discreet entrance and unfussy rooms, La Locandiera is unassuming and unpretentious. Its quiet modesty is a refreshing break from tourist packed Florence.

A warm welcome is guaranteed and the hospitality continues with breakfast served in your room. Including fresh fruit would make a decent breakfast a great one, but hey, it still sets you up for the day.

Located just round the corner from the train station and only a 10-15 minute saunter to all the main sights, La Locandiera is a great B&B and a place I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uncle_Badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Bella Firenze
Hotel Bella Firenze
#126 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#145 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#78 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
I Sleep B&B
I Sleep B&B
#125 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Bellevue House
Bellevue House
#16 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
San Lorenzo
La Residenza dell'Orafo
La Residenza dell'Orafo
#48 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locandiera? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locandiera

Property: La Locandiera
Address: Via della Scala 48 | First Floor, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,527 - ₹ 11,790
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Locandiera 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"La Locandiera" is a small and charming bed and breakfast very welcoming and warm, where the modern services goes well with the Florentine style of the essential and classic furnishings, the spacious rooms all recently renovated give a feeling of refined and elegant harmony . The bathrooms are all in marble, the warm wooden floors, the breakfast served every morning in your room, the modern comfort, the hospitality and the desire to make our guests feel at home are all distinctive and exclusive of "La Locandiera" Our goal is to make your stay in Florence an unforgettable one, bringing home a precious souvenir of the city and the satisfaction of having chosen the right place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Locandiera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing