We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay in Florence”
Review of La Locandiera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Locandiera
Ranked #73 of 640 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay in Florence”
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I am always hesitant with booking through the internet because you never know what you're going to get, but after reading the reviews here I went for it, and boy, was I happy with my choice!
This lovely B&B is located just minutes away from the main train station in Florence, so you can walk there, thus both getting a first glimpse of Florence and saving your cab money. Do note one thing: Google Maps has it wrong! If you type the address, Via della Scala, 48, 50123 Florence, into Google Maps, you get a different hotel, while this is one is actually located one block up the street, marked by its name on Google maps. That means that once you leave the train station and arrive at via della Scala, turn right, not left, and walk up a block and a half. In any case, it is very easy to find.
The great location doesn't stop there! It is within a walking distance of all that is happening in Florence, including all the major and minor tourist attractions. There is also a bar right near the B&B, so you can get a coffee any time you like, as well as two internet places to be in touch with home.
Sylvia, the ever-present owner, is always there to take care of everything, from your arrival, through you tailor-made breakfast, to pointing you to the really important sites of the city and just to making you feel as at home as possible.
The room I had was wonderful - a huge bed, perfect air conditioning (generally a weak point in Italy), a flexible shower hose (so I didn't have to stand in one spot like you would do in most showers), sound-proof openable windows and 4-meter high ceilings, making you fell on a true vacation.
All in all - a perfect spot to stay in Florence, will definitely go back there!

Room Tip: I had room 6 and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex_Greenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    78
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
134
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

With its discreet entrance and unfussy rooms, La Locandiera is unassuming and unpretentious. Its quiet modesty is a refreshing break from tourist packed Florence.

A warm welcome is guaranteed and the hospitality continues with breakfast served in your room. Including fresh fruit would make a decent breakfast a great one, but hey, it still sets you up for the day.

Located just round the corner from the train station and only a 10-15 minute saunter to all the main sights, La Locandiera is a great B&B and a place I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uncle_Badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hotel is in the heart of Florence - a small wander and you're wherever you wish to be!

The host, Sylvia, is absolutely lovely - ever-ready with a smile and happy to assist in any way! The room was large, spacious and clean upon arrival. The breakfast selection was sufficient and delivered at whichever time you desired.

Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wandering_Trolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath, maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I had a great experience here. The location was very good; Florence is quite small compared to Rome and very walkable, and although it was very close to the main train station it was a nice area and not too noisy, as well as close to the biggest park in Florence where I went walking every morning. Sylvia was an excellent hostess, always available to give suggestions and directions to sights and restaurants, and delivered breakfast every morning to the room. The breakfast was pretty decent, not a huge variety and I would have liked fresh fruit, but the cappuccino was very good. The room itself was very nice, with white stucco walls and very high ceilings as well as a huge window overlooking a courtyard, and marble bathroom which was small but functional. There are only a few other rooms which lent a homey feel. It was easy to hear noise from the hall and other rooms but it wasn't really a problem, no one was rowdy. My only issue was arrival, which was my fault really- I was supposed to get in at 9pm but due to a delayed flight missed my train from Rome and the only other train that night was at 10:30 pm, putting me in Florence at 1 am. I showed up and buzzed the door, waking Sylvia, but luckily she was there to let me in. I had no way of getting in touch with her to tell her I was late because apparently there is nowhere in the entire Rome airport to buy a sim card for a phone and no wireless signal, so be aware that if you arriving late it's better to let Sylvia know if you can because it is not a big hotel but rather just her running a small B&B. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmersarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2011

The location was perfect. I agree with other comments that Silvia was ever so helpful and nothing too much trouble. Her mum's baking was excellent. The room was very large and airy and bathroom also pleasant. Great shower. Silvia recommended lovley restaurants and pre booking of sight were arranged in advance. Car parking was expensive but at least it was close by. Everywhere was within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grainne64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#167 of 411 in Florence
385 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Bella Firenze
Hotel Bella Firenze
#128 of 411 in Florence
116 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#115 of 411 in Florence
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Boccaccio
Hotel Boccaccio
#218 of 411 in Florence
490 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#84 of 411 in Florence
828 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
I Sleep B&B
I Sleep B&B
#161 of 640 in Florence
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locandiera? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locandiera

Property: La Locandiera
Address: Via della Scala 48 | First Floor, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,830 - ₹ 12,083
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Locandiera 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"La Locandiera" is a small and charming bed and breakfast very welcoming and warm, where the modern services goes well with the Florentine style of the essential and classic furnishings, the spacious rooms all recently renovated give a feeling of refined and elegant harmony . The bathrooms are all in marble, the warm wooden floors, the breakfast served every morning in your room, the modern comfort, the hospitality and the desire to make our guests feel at home are all distinctive and exclusive of "La Locandiera" Our goal is to make your stay in Florence an unforgettable one, bringing home a precious souvenir of the city and the satisfaction of having chosen the right place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your La Locandiera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing