We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel away from historic center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Florence Metropole
Ranked #147 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Ct., USA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Business hotel away from historic center”
Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

Our tour operator had to accept this hotel as a replacement for the overbooked downtown hotel we were originally booked. In this my third trip to Florence I was very annoyed at being in the highway and other than our tour bus taking us in twice, we were not able to stroll in the evening, traffic into the city was heavy and took average 25 minutes to get to the historic center. If you are driving or on business then it is OK I guess. But for the rest of us (honeymooners beware!!!) it was an inconvenience. The bar has a happy hour with many finger sandwiches, Parma ham and other delicacies. And they make awesome Mojitos and Piña Coladas!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyrellaCt_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your very detailed review on Tripadvisor.
Any constructive criticism is always appreciated in order to improve our performances and try to do better and better.

Concerning the hotel location, our complimentary shuttle bus has 29 seats available and offers the free service every hour from/to the City center.
About other inconveniences, we apologize for any issues but you can be sure we always provide a functional service, with a professional and friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms as per guest’s expectations.
Hoping to welcome you again in Florence, we send our

Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    822
    362
    125
    58
See reviews for
323
823
68
359
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

.................booking into one of the 'club' rooms giving you access to the club lounge on the 17th floor was a little disappointing.
Reason: Although the club lounge is open for members until 10.30pm, the poor selection of canopies / snacks certainly didn't fill a gap! Added to this, all the complimentary spirits / beer was removed at 9.30pm??? Breakfast in the lounge too was disappointing : (

On a positive note, the hotel is easy to find and they do run a shuttle into the centre of Firenze if you don't mind a little wait.

Room Tip: Try for a club room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _forevergreen_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Guest,

we are extremely sorry for your words but especially for the experience you have had during your stay at Hilton Florence Metropole.
We always try to do our best paying attention to every detail, including the hospitality and breakfast at the Executive Lounge, our private area on 15th floor.

Hoping to welcome you again in Florence,
Best regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Location: The hotel was far from the city center. We found the shuttle to be reliable. We didn't take it at night and just decided to stay near the hotel for dinner. Unfortunately, there are no restaurants by the hotel, minus a little pizza place. The food at the Hotel restaurant was overpriced, and hit or miss.

Room: Our room was pretty and had a nice view of the City of Florence. The issue with the room is that they tried to make it so modern that it was not that functional (example: you have to insert a key and keep it in there to turn on the lights). The bed was VERY uncomfortable. Hard as a rock. On top of that they have temperature controls on the room. We could only change the temperature by 4 degrees and then it would rise again.

Executive Lounge: The man that hosted the lounge our first day was so nice. The food and spread needed much improvement, but he made it a great place to be. The woman that hosted the lounge the next day was so incredibly rude. She was short and made us feel uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind words posted on Tripadvisor and for taking the time to review our Hotel.

We are waiting for your return and we really hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards
Alessandro Carletti
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I have come to Florence for ten years. I discovered the Hilton Metropole four years ago. THe property has had issues. I find the value for a room quite good. The staff is wonderful and always remember you from year to year. Overall the hotel is very nice. They offer free shuttle service to the main part of Florence on a regular basis. When you look at their location you may be hesitant to book here because it is somewhat remote. The hotel takes every step to get you to the city center so don't use that as an excuse. That said, there are a few things that I don't like. For one the rooms are a bit small. I tend to stay for 3-5 days. It gets too small for that amount of time. The bathroom is adequate but also small (whoever ordered the glas sinks should be scolded), glass sinks with little or no room to even rinse your tooth brush! The Executive Lounge is good, but the best I've seen. The staff there however makes up for any lack of goodies. It is apparent that all the workers in the lounge love what they do. They also remember you from year to year and keep everything stocked and fresh. I like the hotel, I think you will too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1921Pack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind words and your criticism posted on Tripadvisor and for taking the time to review our Hotel.

Courtesy and service are important pillars for our work and we love to take care of our guests!
We are waiting for your return and we really hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
159 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Nice hotel, a bit far from the center of Florence. 20 minutes ride in the free bus. The free bus service works when it works, but unless you are early and wait you might not get a seat in the bus. Several passengers were turned back. Taxi from the city costs 15 Euros. The rooms are OK, some of the light and bathroom controls are too modern for my taste.
I would give this hotel an average rating except that on Saturday evening we were chased out of our room by an unbearable stink of hashish coming out of the air conditioning. I suspect but cannot verify that the people in the room next to ours were smoking and the smoke got into the AC. The night manager was kind enough to move us to another room, but unfortunately that room was smaller and less well located. Other than profusely apologizing and being very very sorry for our incovenience there was no attempt at compensation for both the inconvenience, the less comfortable room, and the headache from the hash stink in our room. Not what I expected in a high-end hotel.

Room Tip: Find a room where the neighbors don't smoke!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocketleech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Guest,

We are extremely sorry about your disappointment and I am sure you will understand that the satisfaction of our customers is very important to us.
I already sent you an email with all details of our investigation and you know we are completely far from this kind of actions.
We thank you for your suggestions; we will take the opportune action to avoid any future lack of this kind of service.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Starhotels Tuscany
#101 of 422 in Florence
724 reviews
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#129 of 422 in Florence
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Firenze
#167 of 422 in Florence
1,167 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#47 of 422 in Florence
1,118 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Florence Metropole? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Florence Metropole

Property: Hilton Florence Metropole
Address: Via del Cavallaccio 36, 50142, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Florence
#86 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#134 Family Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,395 - ₹ 16,731
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Florence Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Florence Metropole is a contemporary hotel with a strategic location adjacent to all important traffic hubs. It is only 3 km (10 minutes) away from the Florence International Airport and the city business district. Hop on our complimentary shuttle bus from/to the city centre in order to reach in only a few minutes Florence major attractions like the Uffizi Gallery and the Duomo Cathedral. The 15-floors building offers, from the Executive Lounge’s terrace, a breathtaking view of Florence. It has 212 guestrooms - including 32 Executive rooms, 22 deluxe and 4 suites. Each guest room is furnished with a warm, contemporary style; wooden floor and spacious marble bathrooms can ensure maximum comfort for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel is provided of complimentary parking facilities: external parking (50 boxes) and covered garege (80 boxes) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Florence Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Florence Metropole Hotel Florence
Florence Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing