We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great room and helpful staff. Grazie!”
Review of Palazzo Galletti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Galletti
Ranked #143 of 657 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Stayed in the Selene suite for 3 nights this weekend - one of the best rooms I have stayed in, had all the hotel comforts you need but with a relaxed b&b feeling. Good central location and kind helpful staff - overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexmatcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2011

If you want excellent location and awesome romantic room and good breakfast. This is the place. No wii fii in the rooms just in the looby. This is a bed and breakfast type of hotel please check this category it is not a hilton but is nice, and classy.

Recommend this to my friends

Real 4 blocks from the duomo.....!!!! perfect located...

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

I chose Palazzo Galletti from Karen Brown's "Italy Bed & Breakfasts" 2010 edition. Very confident that this would be an outstanding place for our family to culminate a fantastic vacation in Italy, I booked 3 rooms for us for two nights. I was really looking forward to treating our family to a stay at this hotel because I had booked two other B&B's in France recommended by Karen Brown in the past and had been very impressed. Palazzo Galletti, however, was a huge disappointment.

After climbing a couple flights of stairs with our luggage, we were kept waiting for 15 or more minutes while the Front Desk staff barely acknowledged our arrival. They were too busy talking on the phone. We were eventually shown to our rather average rooms (for the price charged) and told that there was no Internet or Wi-Fi available. This turned out to be incorrect since we learned a day later that by paying via credit card, we could use our computers in our rooms. Had we known this from the start, it would have made a big difference, since we had to find alternative places to get Internet access until we figured it out on our own.

The breakfast staff was not attentive, only moving to clear tables when they were asked so that new arrivals to breakfast had a place to sit. Food was nothing special, especially since the book talks about a fresh buffet breakfast served in the original kitchen dating back to 1550, etc. Hot chocolate was made with instant hot chocolate, like “Swiss Miss,” for example.

Bathrooms were pretty nice but there were no amenities other than shampoo (no conditioner) and bars of soap. For over 200 Euros a night for an average room, you'd expect that there might be a shower cap, some lotion, etc.? Not here!

There was one very nice young man at the Front Desk a couple of mornings who did help us out with some questions we had. The first lady (who checked us in) had booked our private tours for the Uffizi and Accademia Galleries and actually gave the tour company the wrong dates, so there was some confusion when we turned up on the right day for our tours.

I would like to know how to contact Karen Brown about this hotel, since she may not be aware of the low standards.....they may be "coasting" now that their hotel has been included in her book? She should visit again...."secret shop"....and she would likely be very surprised.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Balancedreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We've visited Florence on many occasions and have generally been pleased with our accomodation - it can be expensive but there are some excellent places to stay at very reasonable rates. Palazzo Galletti didn't disappoint us in any way.
The place is just a little tricky to locate because of its relatively low key sign. However, the location is great - close to the Duomo but set back from the street to allow a really quiet stay.
The staff were invariably helpful and friendly. Our room was rather more spacious than typical hotel rooms and it was clean, well equiped and very tastefully decorated.
The breakfast buffet was definitely above average and allowed a good selection of options. The small dining area was rather dark but it is in the oldest part of the building (?16th century) and we loved it.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glidingtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Located about two blocks from the Duomo, and walking distance to all the sites, we loved this hotel. The breakfast was good, not great, but the room itself was very nice, clean, and comfortable (with an amazing shower). It was quiet and the front desk was very helpful. The outside balcony was a nice place to relax after a long day of seeing the sites. If staying there, just make sure that you have the address as it is a little hard to locate the first time (it is in a building with several others businesses, located on the second floor), and be aware that there is no pool on site (despite the pictures).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murph07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
J & J Historic House Hotel
J & J Historic House Hotel
#178 of 410 in Florence
463 reviews
Duomo
B&B Emozioni Fiorentine
B&B Emozioni Fiorentine
#27 of 657 in Florence
381 reviews
San Marco
Antica Dimora Johlea
Antica Dimora Johlea
#34 of 657 in Florence
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Casa Rovai Guest House
Casa Rovai Guest House
#87 of 657 in Florence
471 reviews
San Marco
Antica Dimora Firenze
Antica Dimora Firenze
#84 of 657 in Florence
547 reviews
Duomo
Panella's Residence
Panella's Residence
#67 of 657 in Florence
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Galletti? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Galletti

Address: Via Sant'Egidio 12, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 657 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: ₹ 6,162 - ₹ 16,946 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Galletti 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Florence's historic heart, Palazzo Galletti B&B is a 5-minute walk to the Duomo and Santa Croce Church. You will be captivated by the atmosphere of antiquity and informal luxury of this unusual boutique B&B, even surprised by the frescoes uncovered in some of the rooms, named after the planets in the solar system.The eleven beautiful and spacious rooms- seven superior-rooms and four suites with private luxurious marble bathrooms- are furnished with all modern comforts. Spa access and all treatments have additional costs. Reception open: from 9 a.M. Until 7 p.M. Please inform in case of late check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Palazzo Galletti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Galletti Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing