We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An elegant homey place in the historic center of florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Howard Guest House
Ranked #62 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My 11 year old daughter and I began our Italian Renaissance voyage at Casa Howard in Florence. It was perfect for us: charming, quiet, central location, very warm and friendly staff...and a great big bath tub by the window!!! Great for sore feet after a long day of walking in a great city. Its so much nicer to stay in an historic building that allows one to feel as though you are living there..... As a seasoned traveler with very high standards, I can't recommend Casa Howard too highly.

Room Tip: I think some of the rooms have small terraces...ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietro G, Direttore at Casa Howard Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dearest Guest,
thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.
We're glad to read you enjoyed your experience by our Guest House,
as you report in your review, our staff, the position and the unique furnishing are the top features of our structure.
We invite you to consider our structure again for a future holiday and/or business trip.
Best regards,
Casa Howard's Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 202 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

Was very much looking forward to this stay, but unfortunately encountered a few issues. I had booked the Garden room 5 months ago, but when we turned up was 'upgraded' to another, the 'twin room'. I was surprised and wasn't sure if it was indeed an upgrade...then was offered another room. This room had a little balcony (I like to be able to sit outside, hence the reason the garden room was booked) so the second one suited us better. This room, however, we now know, adjoins to Santa Maria Novella Farmacia which is currently undergoing renovations. the sound of hammer drills and other noisy equipment actually went on ALL night, both nights we stayed. We both needed to wear earplugs to get any sleep and were disappointed to receive a fairly cursory 'sorry we can't do much about it' response to our complaints. Not good enough Casa Howard, sorry but we won't be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mistylaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My husband and I spent a few nights at the Casa Howard in Florence. We loved it. The room was charming, unique, comfortable, clean and beautiful. I would definitely return and stay again. I have and will continue to recommend it to others. It was an experience I will never forget.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KRWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietro G, Direttore at Casa Howard Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dearest Guest,
thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.
We're glad to read you enjoyed your experience by our Guest House,
We invite you to consider our structure again for a future holiday and/or business trip.
Best regards,
Casa Howard's Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My daughter, husband and I stayed in the Drawing Room at Casa Howard during our recent stay in Florence. Each room has been decorated with a unique style that invites a guest to relax and take in all the details. The Drawing Room is spacious with a sitting area and two very comfortable double beds. Although small, the bathroom offers all the necessities. Sally and Malin recommended excellent restaurants and made the necessary reservations for us. They also arranged a cooking class for us. Our daughter had a bad cold for part of our stay and both Sally and Malin were very attentive to her and provided tea, honey and homemade goodies to make her feel better. Our only regret was not being able to take a peak at all the other rooms in order to delight in their decor.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietro G, Direttore at Casa Howard Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dearest Guest,
thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.
We're glad to read you enjoyed your experience by our Guest House,
as you report in your review, our staff, the position and the unique furnishing are the top features of our structure.
We invite you to consider our structure again for a future holiday and/or business trip.
Best regards,
Casa Howard's Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed in the 'hidden room' and found the whole experience more unique and more affordable than staying at the Westin or any of the other 5 star places.

While it is not trying to be one of those places nor does it have the service or amenities... it does make up for it in character. We like to stay at centrally located places, with a more modern appeal and this scored well on both fronts. You can roll your bags right from the Maria Santa Novella train station too which is nice.

Yes two of the housekeepers are the only people you will see, this doesn't mean they are not friendly and helpful with reservations etc... We enjoyed the level of service they provided. It feels like you are borrowing the place for a couple days from a relative.

Room Tip: You should be a couple if you rent the "hidden room".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VTSweetG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietro G, Direttore at Casa Howard Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dearest Guest,
We truly appreciate you for taking time to share your experience by our structure!
Your nice words cheer us up to keep on improving our services and our job, we are really glad you spent a great time! Hope to see you again by one of our structures in Florence. Best regards,
Casa Howards's Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Bellevue House
Bellevue House
#18 of 659 in Florence
571 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
La Locandiera
La Locandiera
#77 of 659 in Florence
271 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Novella House
Novella House
#143 of 659 in Florence
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
DEDO Boutique Hotel
DEDO Boutique Hotel
#67 of 659 in Florence
273 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Residenza d'Epoca Palazzo Riblet
Home in Florence B&B
#78 of 659 in Florence
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Howard Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Howard Guest House

Address: Via della Scala,18 Black, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: ₹ 3,615 - ₹ 18,075 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Howard Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Guest House - Casa Howard is neither a hotel nor a B&B. As the door will open, you will step into an eccentric guest house that will make you feel at home and will inevitably capture your heart. The Guest House is a large family house that is only partially used as such. Each room recreates a different setting, where the well-finished details emphasize the experience for the traveller. Casa Howard is the perfect alcove for couples who dream of a romantic retreat, as well as the most comfortable solution for families travelling with children or domestic animals. Choose one of the rooms with a view and seize all the emotions that transpire while looking at the rooftops of the Renaissance neighbourhoods. A stay in Florence has never been more emotional, sophisticated and enchanting. You will be given the house keys, and you will be able to live the city as local inhabitant. You will realise that this Guest House is the ideal starting point to discover the wonders of the city centre. Its location is at a walking distance from Santa Maria Novella and from many other major touristic sites, such as the David of Michelangelo (at the Galleria dell’Accademia), the San Frediano borough, the Mercato di S.Ambrogio and of San Lorenzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Howard Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Howard Guest Houses Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing