We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wanted to love it..but found it overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Howard Guest House
Ranked #173 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“I wanted to love it..but found it overpriced”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

On the plus side: The concept is cool, the location is great, and the bathrooms are stocked with really nice toiletries from the Santa Maria Novella Pharmacy next door.

On the minus side: Prices are quite high for what it is, breakfast is an additional 12 euros/person/day, and the mattress in the Library Room, where we stayed was *extremely* thin and uncomfortable.

Overall, I really wanted to love this place, and maybe I would have if it had been 25 or 50 euros less a night, or if breakfast had been included. Also beware of the newly-instituted Florence City Tax, which is an additional 4 euros/person/day that is on top of the room rate.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natasha96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    114
    51
    25
    17
See reviews for
69
230
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Casa Howard is simply one of the more delightful places I have ever stayed. It truly feels as though you are a privileged guest at a close friend's home, but with the privacy of a hotel!

As a solo traveller, I found the garden room exquisite. The bed is comfortable, the bathroom small but with everything you need close to hand (love the SMN Farmacia products), and a door opening up to a cute courtyard. The decor is charming. As a guest, you are only steps away from the train station and a short walk away from the "sights" for seeing but you would never know it once the door shuts behind you. The only sound I heard was the bell of Saint Maria Novella and a knock at my door delivering a beautiful and delicious breakfast in bed. If I could only get more of that honey . . .

The staff was incredibly helpful and ever so kind. I can't wait to come back to Florence and stay at Casa Howard.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Loved the nesspresso machine - quirky room shower only but clean and close to station and all the sights - cool place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Château-d'Oex, Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

A unique and special place ! We stay in the library. Great feeling to sleep in the middle of all those books, pictures, old new paper review. We imagined the life from the person who where supposed tp own these library. Still not ure if Casa Howard was ones a real place were people lived...or just some decoration concept...but it's nt important. Room was nice, clean, perfectilly centered in Florence. The bathroom was beatifull with all those mirrors and the red shower superbe ! And the staff friendly and efficent. An nothing to complain .-)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leylâ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I stayed at Casa Howard on a recent trip to Florence. We stayed in 3 different rooms. All lovely and unique. Our favorite was the Fireplace room. The layout is welcoming and cozy, and the bathtub is heaven! Sally, the innkeeper is friendly and helpful. The neighborhood is close to everything and quiet at night. I want to live in the Fireplace Room!

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JetSetMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#156 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#74 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#71 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Boccaccio
Hotel Boccaccio
#216 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#82 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Howard Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Howard Guest House

Property: Casa Howard Guest House
Address: Via della Scala,18 Black, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,594 - ₹ 19,846
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Howard Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Guest House - Casa Howard is neither a hotel nor a B&B. As the door will open, you will step into an eccentric guest house that will make you feel at home and will inevitably capture your heart. The Guest House is a large family house that is only partially used as such. Each room recreates a different setting, where the well-finished details emphasize the experience for the traveller. Casa Howard is the perfect alcove for couples who dream of a romantic retreat, as well as the most comfortable solution for families travelling with children or domestic animals. Choose one of the rooms with a view and seize all the emotions that transpire while looking at the rooftops of the Renaissance neighbourhoods. A stay in Florence has never been more emotional, sophisticated and enchanting. You will be given the house keys, and you will be able to live the city as local inhabitant. You will realise that this Guest House is the ideal starting point to discover the wonders of the city centre. Its location is at a walking distance from Santa Maria Novella and from many other major touristic sites, such as the David of Michelangelo (at the Galleria dell’Accademia), the San Frediano borough, the Mercato di S.Ambrogio and of San Lorenzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Howard Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Howard Guest Houses Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing