We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cheap/cheerful” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Erina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Erina
Ranked #370 of 422 Hotels in Florence
southend
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cheap/cheerful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2008

This hotel costs around 65 euros a night don't set your expectations bar too high. Faded elegance/shabby choose your description - the staff were friendly & helpful, the lift was to be avoided, but quaint to look at. There were smells outside, but the hotel was clean enough. Some rooms had a small bathroom, others did not, the shower was a challenge but got you clean.
Breakfast was not a feast or for the health conscious but the cappuccino was good and a second cup not a problem.
If you want a cheap, no frills hotel near the station & not too far from the sights stay here, If you want more don't!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank steveolucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    12
    26
    10
    19
See reviews for
18
23
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2008

I didn't read TripAdvisor reviews before booking Hotel Erina...and I'm pretty happy of my choice!

The hotel is completely refurbished and shows a nice and personal style. The real plus of this small hotel was its location, 10 minutes from Florence main monuments, and a stone's throw from CAF tours I really appreciated (don't miss the Chianti, I want to live there one day!)

Very spacious (completely different from European standards), spotlessly clean rooms. The staff seemed really polite and always at disposal (I'm not the kind of traveler with 10 thousand requests, though).

I think this is a great choice for families and travelers that seek comfort most of all. If you're looking for luxury, please see somewhere else :)...

  • Liked — Spaciuos and clean rooms - central location - excellent breakfast
  • Disliked — poor high-tech room services
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank matt67_cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2007

I have to tell you after reading these reviews I almost called my travel agent to get our hotel changed. I'm very glad I didn't! We arrived at the hotel a few hours before check in time at the hotel (3:30pm). They were kind enough to clean our room first and have us in by 1:30. After reading the review we were vigilent about bad smells and other unsanitary problems...we didn't find any of these problems. There was a bad smell a few hotels down though. The hotel is very close to the train station and is just outside of an area where buses park..so I am not suprised that such problems could exist. However, no problems on the day we were there. The room was beautifully decorated. Large and clean. In fact, we were given a triple room for the price of a double. The shower was tiny, but this is not the first time I have seen such a small shower in Italy. The bathroom looked new and was pleasantly decorated also. Breakfast was ok, simple but good enough. Staff was helpful in regards to questions about how to find places. We were given a map with directions. Various tourist information was made available. The only problem that I should mention is that I did find ants in the room. About 1/2 an hour before we were to check out. I did have sweets in my backpack..which may have attracted them...but I was dismayed none the less. No apologies were made for this problem...just a comment about letting the manager know. If I were to stay again I'd look really close for ants before checking in for good!

  • Liked — Hotel decor
  • Disliked — The ants in my bed!!!!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingEurope2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2007

We stayed at Hotel Erina in May 2007. We are a family of 4 that was traveling through Italy via train. Hotel Erina was very conveniently located around the corner from the train station. A big plus when you have 4 people all pulling suitcases! It is kind of a boutique hotel that is located on the 3rd floor of an office building. Very small. Front desk help was always very friendly and helpful. Room was perfect for what we needed it for ...sleep. As a family of 4 it is often hard to find a hotel. The Quad room at the Erina was just right. A double bed for me and my husband and single beds for our children. Breakfast was typical European (meat, cheese, yogurt, fruit). The cappachino was excellent! This is not a high end hotel but it is perfect for the traveler that will be spending most of their time out sightseeing and needs a good bed to sleep in at night.

Helpful?
1 Thank FitMom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2007

This hotel does not offer what it promises on its website. The hotel is part of a consortium of hotels that advertise Florence accommodation and hence a generic posting is made; however, one is led to believe that the hotel you are booking into can offer many amenities, such as laundry facilties, phone in the room, internet connnections, night watchman, 24 hour reception, in room safe, air conditioning - none of which was actually available. We had booked into this hotel as part of a last minute deal. We had a terrible 2 days stay at this hotel.
The first morning we attended breakfast at 8.45 am, only to learn that there was no more cereals, the cold meat was finished and we got what seemed to be the left over croiisants from another visitors bread basket. When we enquired about restocking the cereals and meats we were met by a disinterested shrug by the gum chewing girl who was serving.
Our shower had a black film of soap scum all around the edge and when we complained to the owner about this, he denied that it was dirt and said that it was black plastic sealant (which seems to dissolve when you spray hot water on to it ...) We noticed however that later that day that shower had had a film of white sealant added to it - and this time it really was sealant!
The hotel is situated on the third floor and the lift was out of order for most of the time that we were there.The area outside of the hotel, although conveniently close to the station had a very strong smell of urine around it. When we arrived back in the evening there was a used syringe on the stairs.
When we checked out we confronted the owner about his misleading advertising. His reply was that the laundrette was about 3 street blocks away from the hotel, similarly there was an internet cafe further down the street and we have our own mobile phones, why would we want to use a room phone then? He became very rude and insisted that there was nothing wrong with his hotel, stating that after all, we had paid a lower rate and should therefore be satisfied with what we got. He even added that seeing as we got 2 cappucinos at breakfast we should consider ourselves doubly privileged to have stayed at his hotel. Needless to say , we did not get an apology or amendment to the bill to compensate for a very bad experience. Do not stay at this hotel, even if you are offered discount rates, it definitely is not worth it.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — extremely poor customer service
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Deonette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Lilium Hotel
Lilium Hotel
#273 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Angelica
Hotel Angelica
#186 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Serena
Hotel Serena
#345 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Beatrice
Hotel Beatrice
#264 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Duca D'Aosta
Hotel Duca D'Aosta
#261 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
San Lorenzo
Lombardi Hotel
Lombardi Hotel
#201 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erina

Property: Hotel Erina
Address: Via Fiume 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,967 - ₹ 10,738
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Erina is located in the heart of Florence'€™s historic centre, just in front of Santa Maria Novella SMN station, a short walk from Dome of Florence, the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Inside an elegant building in the nineteen-thirties, the hotel has been completely renewed in 2008 to accomodate visitors with quality services; the hotel offers a warm and personal environment of a small hospitable pension. Very bright and spacious rooms, they will be your peaceful retreat, after a long day out, discovering the charm of Renaissence Florence and romantic atmosphere and delicious Tuscan cuisine in refined restaurants of downtown Florence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Erina Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing