We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ester
Nearby Hotels
US$ 212
US$ 201
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 529
US$ 398
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 398
US$ 387
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$ 104
US$ 88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 511
US$ 355
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 648
US$ 384
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$ 288
US$ 261
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 446
US$ 388
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 366
US$ 309
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Degli Orafi(Florence)
US$ 286
US$ 255
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveller rating
234
160
41
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
160
41
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaison de charmefree wifitrain stationnewly renovated bathroomwashing machineminute walkwithin walking distancesan lorenzo marketlaundry servicesmall liftmini fridgebudget hotelincluded breakfastenjoyed my staymajor attractionspastryfantastic hotel
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 454 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The hotel is located about a block a half from the train station, an easy walk with luggage. We stayed two nights in a double room en suite. The 5th floor room was spacious and had an incredible view of the Duomo, Palazzo Vecchio and the Capella Medici. It also had a small balcony. We left the balcony doors and windows open the whole time to enjoy the breeze and had no issues with noise.
The hotel has an arrangement with a cafe down the street for breakfast. Hotel residents pay no service charge. For 3,80 you get a choice of small sandwich or fruit, plus a pastry, coffee/tea and juice. The food is good and you can get in and out very quickly.
The hotel staff is very friendly and knowledgeable, and gave us a map highlighting all of the attractions. You can walk to any of the major sites very easily. We even walked up to the Piazzale Michelangelo, a slightly longer trek but with plenty of places to stop and rest with a glass of wine along the way.
Free Internet, and TV in room. Updated (but slightly small) bathroom, and a small shared kitchen down the hall with a fridge and microwave. This was definitely a great value and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a view of the duomo.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hostel is very convenient as it is located less than a 5 minute walk from Santa Maria Nouvella station. There's a supermarket practically across the street and many little restaurants around. The staff at the hostel are super friendly and welcoming. Right when we got there, she asked us if it was our first time here, and it was, and pulled up a map, circled all the popular tourist attractions and good restaurants.

We had a private room located near the back right next to the laundry room. Aside from the staff that walks to the laundry room, the room was very private. The hostel is relatively clean with satellite TV, a fridge, a safe, etc (in the private room). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oh_my_sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The hostel was close to the trainstation. It was easy to find. Arriving we got a map from the staff,and he pointed out the best´s sigths. The room was nr 9, a red painted room with a big window faceing the steet and the station on the left. I did not here the trafiic when they were cloesed.
We hade a shared bathroom, and it worked fine, the 2 of them was clean. We had a TV in our room and free Wi-Fi. It had AC.
The staff was wery nice and help me get tickets for the Uffiz-museum. The bed was made everyday and we got towels from the Hostel.
I really liked staying in Hotel Ester.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mari h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The hotel is located in the very center of Florence and with in a very short walking distance. The staff are very helpful and friendly, especially Anna and Marco! free internet, tv sat in the room with free movies, free laundry.. what more could we ask!
If you beat Marco playing pingpong you will get the room for free!! :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Though the guidebook promised drug dealers and muggers on our doorstep, we found the Hotel Ester, just a block away from the train station, to be a safe alternative to some of the pricier hotels nearer the Duomo. Our room was colorful and large, with a queen bed, a desk, a computer, a large flat-screen TV, a safe, a minifridge,and an armoire. It had huge windows that opened onto a balcony overlooking the bus depot (the doors were incredibly sound-proof; you couldn't hear anything on the street once they were closed). The only weird feature was the bathroom -- there was a small shower stall at the end of the hall (v. odd) and a full bath on the other side of the hotel, around the corner from the front desk. It was a big bathroom, though, with all of the amenities your average American might expect.

The hotel staff was polite and knowledgeable. They have arrangements with local restaurants, so if you go there and mention the hotel, you can get free refills on water (nothing to sneer at, for sure) and the like. (Now, the waiter at the Osteria Antico Mercato seemed none too pleased that we name-dropped the Hotel Ester, but that's okay. I got my free water refills anyway.) We were also able to leave our luggage at the hotel after we checked out on our last day, so we could do some more wandering without having to lug around our suitcases.

This was a good hotel at its price point. I don't know that I'd stay here again, but it was exactly what we were looking for on this trip.

Room Tip: Very few of the rooms (if any) have attached baths. So if that's a must, this hotel isn't for you.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSelva81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews