We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Don't look any further in Florence, this is the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room and balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room and balcony
Living room with table can be lowered Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Living room and balcony
Living room with table can be lowered
Bedroom
Kitchen
Bathroom with detail of basin
View from the bedroom
The apartment was awarded by Tripadvisor with the Certificate of Excellence 2014
Living room
old bedroom door restored
height adjustable table
Kitchewn
detail of bedroom
Detail of bathroom
Bathroom with shower detail
Bathroom details
Bathroom, details
Living room
Living room and bedroom
Living room with details of vaulted ceiling
Living room and kitchen
Living room with details of videogames
Living room and Kitchen
Living room
Kitchen
Living room and balcony
Bedroom with double bed
Bedroom with wardrobe
View from the bedroom
Consolle videogames
Via della Chiesa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Florence, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Clara D
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't look any further in Florence, this is the one!”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Very good apartment, all mod cons, nice easy walk into the city (15 mins to Ponte Vecchio, barely 20 mins to Il Duomo). Francesco and his wife were very attentive and helpful. Very well appointed, nice and light and yet cool on hot days. Everything we expected and more. We'll never look for anything else on return trips.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cindyla58
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ms. ”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 3 nights in mid Dec with myself and my 13 year old and 20 year old daughters , the apt was exactly as the photos depict , very comfortable with everything we needed. We liked the area , grocery near by , great restaurants , especially liked the BBQ place around the corner . I would definitely stay here again !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GYWX
Wexford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Quiet sleep, attentive host, good facilities and supplies”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
8
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for Christmas and New Year, so our review is for 15 days in winter.

The property is in an old converted monastery in Oltrarno. The pictures in the listing are accurate; look at the vaulted ceiling, that must be hundreds of years old.
It is at the back away from the (quiet) street, and beyond the back yard is a large private garden so we get a completely quiet night in a firm comfortable bed, no street noise at all even with the window open for air.
I confirm that you can rely on the description of the property on Tripadvisor. Several bus routes, with frequent (10-20 min) services and cheap fares (1.20 euro for 90 minutes), pass nearby so you can get to the old centre within 10-15 minutes, although if you are fit you may find it as quick to walk than wait for a bus.

The district is unfashionable with pavements(sidewalks) in worse condition than on the north side of the Arno but mind you even on the other side the mediaeval streets are VERY narrow and cars park on the pavement so walking is difficult. It's a mixed residential and small-business area; you can find violin manufacturers, clothes repairs, local restaurants, supermarket, delicatessen (where we got some of our prepared meals) and even a public fontane dispensing free cold still and sparkling spring water of excellent quality.

The word "House" in the property name "Merville House" implies to me a house on its own site; this is not, it's simply a two-room flat in a condominium. The bedroom is a good size with plenty of storage space.
There are 24 steps up to the first floor. We could manage our 15Kg case OK, but it may not suit people who need assistance such as a lift(elevator).
The electricity supply is limited; we discovered that when we had two heavy power users, such as the washing machine, dishwasher, or cooker, on at the same time, the mains fuse switch tripped. So we learned to schedule our use of appliances.
There is no clothes dryer; in summer that would not matter as there is the traditional Italian clothes line outside the window, but in wet weather we had to use the four large radiators to dry the washing, lending a slightly studenty air to the place. They were efficient, though.
The wifi is fast and the host provides a laptop for browsing. And plenty of reference books and tourist information.
The outstanding feature compared to other properties we have stayed in is the personal attention of Francesco G., the host. He picked us up from the Rifredi train station and would have brought us back only we we had to leave at 06:20. (The local taxi service turned up exactly on time)
Too often in other apartments our first morning is a shopping trip to buy household supplies; he had everything there, even a welcoming Christmas treat.
When we expressed some nostalgia for a real cup of tea, he promptly brought us two teapots and other kitchen supplies to complete the equipment; no other host has done that.

The apartment on its own would rate a "Very good" 4; given the attentive response of the host, I think the overall package deserves an "Excellent" 5.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Whitney S
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Wonderful location for exploring Florence”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Merville House was in a wonderful location for walking and exploring Florence. Several good restaurants in the piazza as well as a small supermarket. The furtherest we walked was to the piazza Michelangelo to watch the sun set over the city and it took us 35 minutes. Francesco was there to greet us and was a wealth of helpful information. My 2 children, age 20 and 26 slept on the sofa bed and were very comfortable. Highly recommend Francesco's apartment.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing