We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wish we could have stayed longer...”
other travellers have booked this property
charming ancient country house inside beautiful vineyards
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
charming ancient country house inside beautiful vineyards
the location sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
charming ancient country house inside beautiful vineyards
the location
sitting room
fiesole anfiteatro
vineyards
the property
our bell
kitchen
my favourit beach! Only 1 hour driving!!!
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Florence, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Peter D
Lockport, New York
1 review
“Wish we could have stayed longer...”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

If you are reading these reviews, trying to decide on a comfortable and convenient place to stay during your travels to Florence and Tuscany... Stop right here!
No need to look any further... Don't hesitate any longer... contact Susanna and begin the vacation of a life-time!

Our first trip to Italy couldn't have been any better when staying with Suzanna and Mario at their lovely and scenic villa nestled in the Northern hills of Tuscany. Remote enough from the city-center, yet easily reachable by car; their villa provided the perfect escape. A short drive from the town of Fiesole (where Mario and Susanna arranged to meet us), we were pleasantly surprised by how much the town offered. If we could have stayed longer, we would have continued to frequent its quaint cafes and restaurants (in many cases offering spectacular scenic views of Florence in the valley below). The small history museum and ancient Roman theater and baths provided a context and background to the vast history of Italy that we quickly came to expect throughout our travels.

Day trips down into Florence were most easily managed by metro bus. Parking our rental car and taking the bus in Fiesole (the final stop and turning point for the metro line) made travel to and from the Florence city-center extremely simple.

Suzanna and Mario are extremely hospitable and accommodating hosts!
When we arrived, we found that the villa was a perfect place to stay. Clean, comfortable, and neatly decorated; we quickly felt right at home. Following a brief introduction to their property, Susanna and Mario readily prepared and served a several course meal with complementary bottle of champagne. Many of the side dishes were prepared with vegetables picked fresh from their garden. Hands down, this was one of the best meals we enjoyed throughout our travels!

Easy to communicate with and always genuinely wiling to accommodate, Susanna made several recommendations for us throughout our stay and was even wiling to place calls and make arrangements for our visits. Our tour of a local olive oil farm on the last day of our stay was particularly enjoyable.

Our advice for future travels:
1) Extend your stay! (you won't regret it)
2) Make arrangements to tour a winery (or two) and/or the olive farm ahead of time. I'm certain that Susanna could make recommendation.

Thank you, Susanna and Mario!
We had a lovely time and hope to visit you again someday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Susanna & Mario's welcoming and warm-hearted spirit.
Liked least: The little bit of construction across the street - out of their control, little/no noise.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpr0
Worcester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Elegant luxury”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful house within easy reach of Florence but tucked away in the hills in vineyards so you won't hear any traffic! We hired a car from "Thrifty" at Pisa airport (WARNING - DO NOT RENT FROM GOLDCAR UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES) and Susanna kindly led us to the house from Fiesole, the nearest town. We were delighted with the whole experience - the sauna is a real plus on those cooler evenings - and our hosts could not have been more helpful and friendly.
Travel notes:
We drove the car from the house a few km and parked near the bus-stop when we wanted to go to Florence - frequent, cheap service, tickets available at kiosks and some cafés, don't forget to STAMP your ticket as soon as you get on the bus!
Massive supermarket in Pontassieve where we drove, on Mario's recommendation and stocked up with delicious fresh food for the week, hardly needing to eat out at all; there were dozens of choices of buffalo mozzarella, aged parmesan and glorious yellow-fleshed peaches along with all the Mediterranean veg you'd hope to find in a street market.
Drove to Siena and Lucca during the week and parked in the railway station car-parks in both places - convenient and cheap.
Eating out was a joy, too, with surprisingly inventive vegetarian menus and to-die-for ice-cream :-).
Everywhere we drove, driving was easy and drivers were courteous - contrary to what we'd been warned - and at the end of every excursion was the superb villa to come back to.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Ohio
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The most beautiful setting and the kindest hosts we have ever had.
Liked least: That our trip had to come to an end!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tasanaa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had ten days staying at Villa Gemella and had a fabulous time. We were delighted when we saw the apartment, so spacious, beautifully furnished and set in beautiful gardens in the picturesque Tuscan hills. Hosts Susanna and Mario are lovely people, very welcoming and helpful about where to visit and best places to eat. There is a large selection of local wines to choose from in the apartment-pay for what you drink. The local prosecco and chianti favourites! Our son and his wife recommend Villa Gemella and we were not disappointed.
It is advisable to have a car as it is a little distance to nearby Fiesole and there is lots of lovely countryside to explore. Susanna and Mario must be congratulated for their wonderful holiday haven.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmig
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Heaven in Tuscany”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Villa Gemella and our hosts Mario and Susanna provided my husband and I with the most spectacular vacation we have ever had. This says a great deal because we travel often and have stayed at 5 star hotels, bread and breakfast, cruised, and rented other properties. Villa Gemella is little piece of heaven in Tuscany.

Villa Gemella is just a few minutes from Fiesole, a small town, ten minutes from Florence. The apartment provided everything we could have needed and had plenty of room to relax. The property is well maintained and very charming. It has a small kitchen which allowed us to buy local meats, cheese, breads, and fruits for light lunches or dinners.

The enclosed garden is unbelievable!. Many beautiful roses, flowers and herbs to tantalize your senses. It has many places to sit and enjoy the peace and quiet, as well as, lounges to catch some warm Tuscan sunshine. We had breakfast several times in the trellis covered patio in the garden, served to us by Mario. We enjoyed home made jams and jellies with our Brioche or toast. Breakfast was the perfect start to each day. The surrounding countryside is a sight to behold. Vineyards, Olive tree groves and lush forest surround the Villa as far as the eye can see. Woven into all of this are lovely homes, churches and Villas dotting the countryside.

What made our stay so very special is the wonderful care provided by Mario and Susanna. Susanna was ill and in the hospital while we staying at Villa Gemella, but her and I had exchanged e-mails many times before our trip and daily while we were staying at the Villa. Even as sick as she was she wanted to make sure we had a perfect vacation. Mario made sure we wanted for nothing and spoiled us better than many of the finest hotels.

First he picked us up at the train station upon our arrival in Florence. He arranged dinner reservations for us in a small town a short distance from the Villa and dropped us off. We had planned to walk back to the Villa before dark The service was a little slow so we ended up leaving just before sunset, as the walk was about 30 minutes it was becoming quite dark, a few minutes into our walk Mario came to pick us up as he was worried that we would be out in the dark.
He drove us back and forth to Fiesole most days, which allowed us to catch the bus into Florence. When we visited Cinque Terra he called a friend who owns a restaurant and made reservations for us. Without the reservation we would have waited a long time or ended up eating in a local café, as Cinque Terra was quite busy and raining. There on the patio in a charming small town was a table waiting for us. I could go on and on about all the wonderful things that he did for us to make our stay so special but it would take a book to list them all.

When, not if, we return to Italy I would not consider staying anywhere else. I would highly recommend staying at Villa Gemella, you too will have many great memories, and you will meet two of the most wonderful hosts in Mario and Susanna.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
dear Guests,
Mario and I are so emotioned about your written, your review is also too much: we have done our best to make your stay confortable but the most have been made by you: you have been really wonderful guests, warm, polite, friendly and very very helful to Mario who was alone to manage your stay!
We hope to see you sometime in the future and wish you all our best!

Susanna e Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 117
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing