We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian hospitality at a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B & B Novecento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B & B Novecento
Ranked #334 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Italian hospitality at a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We loved Franco and Sawako! From the moment we arrived, we felt completely welcomed and taken care of by these great owners. Franco suggested places to visit and assisted with maps and reservations (Accademia). The rooms were very clean and well cared for. By far the best part of this B&B is the rooftop terrace that has an amazing view of the Duomo. Make the decision to stay in one night, grab a bottle of wine, and watch the sun set over the Duomo... you won't be sorry. If you are worried about not having a lift to the 3rd floor, arrange for Franco to carry bags ahead of time. He carried ours without even asking!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    38
    7
    6
    8
See reviews for
24
55
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

The only bad thing to have happened to us in lovely florence was staying at BB Novecento. Its a small guest house on 3rd floor with no lift. In case you have kids or heavy luggage don't even think of staying here. The only plus point is the location which is close to duomo. Breakfast was a real shame. Well, it was partly our mistake of not doing proper check of this hotel before booking.

Room Tip: Avoid the place altogether
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sachinmalik3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

I was only in Florence for 3 nights, so this B&B close to Duomo was perfect. The room was charming - I had a view overlooking the street and I didn't find it to be too noisy at all. The elevator comes in the form of an actual human being to help you up the multiple flights of stairs to the top floor so I would advise calling ahead and letting someone know you're downstairs and needing assistance if you don't think you can carry your luggage up yourself. The owners were absolutely adorable and very helpful with recommendations on where to eat and what to see.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Brilliant location with roof terrace view of Florence Duomo. We stayed for 3 nights and it was great value for money. Very friendly owners.....we will be back!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank irish-swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

My husband and I and four of our family members booked four rooms at B&B Novocento in early June. Thank God we only stayed two nights! Apparently we missed the small print on their website that mentioned the fact that this B&B is located on the third floor of a 16th century building with no elevator. Shame on us. After 73 steps (literally) and signage all the way up the stairwell warning us not to scratch the walls, we were greeted by owner, Franco, and his wife who immediately thrust business cards of their "recommended" resturants in our faces. We hadn't even been to our rooms and we were next shown a variety of lotions, potions and soaps that were available for purchase.

Once we finally did get to the rooms (which were small but clean and nicely decorated) we were met with a litany of rules- nothing in the toilet but toilet paper (duh) or face a 400 euro fine, no using the mosquito net above the bed (decoration only), no irons allowed...the list went on. The rule that was most frustrating was breakfast. We were told breakfast was 8:30- 9:30 only- no exceptions. When we told Franco that our tickets to the Uffizi were for 8:30 and so we'd miss breakfast, he made no attempt to accomodate us in any way whatsoever. However, when we woke the following morning and were actually able to get to breakfast, we realized we'd missed nothing other than one croissant and coffee. The end. In addition to being pushy (he made three more attempts to sell his lotions to us) Franco was rude. When he gave us our keys and told us he'd show us how to lock the common door, he dismissed me, shooed me like a gnat and said, "No, I'll show him," meaning my husband. Apparently at B&B Novocento, women are helpless. We could not wait to leave but couldn't, of course, before Franco encouraged us to leave a sterling review of his bed and breakfast here and reminded us not to mention the stairs.

All in all, the location was good, safe and clean but the experience wasn't a pleasant one. My family and I traveled to three other Italian cities on this trip and loved each and every hotel we stayed at...except this one.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WellyWoo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#209 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Duomo
Relais Il Campanile
Relais Il Campanile
#265 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Duomo
B&B Le Stanze del Duomo
B&B Le Stanze del Duomo
#32 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
A Florence View B&B
A Florence View B&B
#11 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Duomo
B&B Florence Welcome
B&B Florence Welcome
#481 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Duomo
Residenza Dei Pucci
Residenza Dei Pucci
#127 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Novecento? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Novecento

Property: B & B Novecento
Address: Via Ricasoli 10, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,629 - ₹ 35,476
Hotel Class:1 star — B & B Novecento 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the centre of Florence,in one the most characteristic streets of the city, few steps far froom the Academy. Where is situated the David of Michelangelo (the original), not far from Medicis chapels, near to the most famous squares of the city. Every 30 minutes about you can benefit from the bus service, from and to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your B & B Novecento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing