We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location - no amenities”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cordova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cordova
Ranked #383 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good location - no amenities”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

the location is great...straight down a street from the Duomo, but arriving with a large group it was bedlam. Reception is on the 3rd floor and the elevator will only hold one person and one or two suitcases. We should have just ferried the luggage up, but no one thought of that so 46 or so of us carried our bags up at least 3 flghts of stairs. My room was on the 5th floor! Nice big room with decent sized bathroom, but no screen on the window so mosquitos came in the room. Many of my group had bathrooms with the toilet, bidet, and shower all in one. The shower head was literally above the toilet! The coffee in the morning was great but the food wasn't. I bought pastries at night to eat for the next morning. The front desk clerk was not friendly at all!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lck88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    22
    26
    34
    37
See reviews for
17
29
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newberg, Or
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

Was a little worried after reading some of the reviews, but found it to be an excellent choice for our vacation. It was clean, neat, and the help and advice available from Roberto at the desk was invaluable.

Yes, the shower was a corner of the bathroom - strange perhaps to some, but certainly not worth getting bent out of shape about. It was a larger space than I got for a shower in several 3 star hotels, and didn't flood the bathroom or anything. Much better than the one in our Athens hotel that only had a hand-held sprayer! The location was great, the price was great, and breakfast was great.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sueod628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2009

A genuinely awful hotel, dirty and cold. From the moment you walk inside the door and choose between a tiny cramped lift or a long haul up the stairs you can clearly see that it is a poorly thought out hotel. Having the recption on the thrid floor rooms on the 2nd 4th and 5th is a lunatics paradise but not an ideal setup for a hotel that does manage to win one catogry in that its in a fairly practical location with regard to te city centre. Dried blood and other ambiguos stains on the mattresses in the rooms complimented perfectly by flimsy bed frames prone to falling to bits at the slightest contact with anything else and a television that collected so much dust it was almost lethal. Of a possible 5, one member of staff was friendly and listened to our requests. The towels smell of VINEGAR which from what i have seen is the view of everyone who has stayed here. Luckily our visit to Florence was not spoilt by this abomination and the fact that we had a bed to sleep in was about the only saving grace. The words "don't stay here if you have to" are the best way to describe this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forest5592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Adelaide AUS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

The guy on the desk was so helpful, we mentioned we need to get a train timetable and he got onto the web to research the one we wanted and printed it off. He made suggestions on which times were the best ones to get.

We also found the guys to be very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and were able to give great advice.

After reading others reviews we were really scared to what we going to find, while it’s not a big place it is in a great location and the facilities were pretty good.

We would definitely recommend this place to someone else travelling here.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — room needed some colour
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesAdelaideAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK NEW YORK!
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2008

Dear future Florence tourists.
As an American group we went to Firenze a few months ago with a group through Explorica... Being high school students these things can get a tad expensive so we were booked at the Cordova and were utterly shocked by our rooms. The beds weren't exactly well kept, the televisions did not work, no shampoo, etc. The towels were like Brillo pads and to say the least we discovered a new form of bathroom use. The "showlet" A shower and a toilet in one. I suppose the owners didn't believe in using a bit of the space they had wisely so they made a drain in the middle of the room, put a shower head almost right about the toilet, and through a curtain over both.. How CREATIVE! Sense the sarcasm. Overall, we survived and the breakfast was good for those of us who were dieting. cafe was excellent and Florence was beautiful. I can only say that Hotel Cordova struck a chord with us in more than one way.

Here is a song the group wrote while we were bored one night. To the tune of "hotel california" by the eagles. Just for your entertainement.. :)

"Hotel Cordova"
Explorica "B vs NJ" Group
LFARM Records 4/ 2008

Welcome to the Hotel Cordova
What a lovely place (echo)
Just kidding it's a waste

Showering at the Hotel Cordova
Under the showlet (echo)
Using the toilette

Living it up at the Hotel Cordova
In room fourrr ten (echo)
We can eat our bread

Florence is so beautiful and gorgeous
Too bad it's a shame (echo)
We are a royal pain

Poor guy at the counter we drove him crazy
Asking for our keys (echo)
"Just give'm to meeee!"

Anyways thats the hotel cordova
What else is to be said (echo)
Just try to go to bed

Living it up at the Hotel Cordova
What a lovely place (echo)
Just kidding it's a waste

----Not to be copied...
Not without MY consent.. haha. Let me know what you think!

  • Liked — LOCATION!
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING ELSE
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelingwithmypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Aline
Hotel Aline
#320 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Hotel Casa Lea
#349 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#291 of 421 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
#200 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Hotel Masaccio
#268 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#141 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cordova? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cordova

Property: Hotel Cordova
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 96, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #383 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,534 - ₹ 7,003
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cordova 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cordova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordova Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing