We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location near tourist attractions but just far enough away from the maddening crowd.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Santo Nome di Gesu
Ranked #220 of 421 Hotels in Florence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location near tourist attractions but just far enough away from the maddening crowd.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

A bit of an institutional feel but, nice large rooms. Quiet. Cheerful, multi-lingual front desk staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden-facing room to make sure you have a quiet space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cyclinjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    92
    28
    7
    10
See reviews for
85
46
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

This working convent is located in the "locals" part of Florence which my daughter and I loved. Large, very clean rooms with beautiful gardens to walk through or sit with a book. The nuns are friendly and run a professional, affordable get away. Truly an unforgettable stay.

Room Tip: We communicated via email which was responded to promptly and accurately!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jberb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
428 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Located on Piazza del Carmine in Florence, this convent lodging is not for those who want to be pampered or like to stay in the touristy section of the city. For the rest of us, this is the perfect place to stay. I led a group of 22 that used this as the base for our five-day stay in Florence. The group ranged in age from mid-20s to early-80s. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their stay. Some had baths in their room, while others of us shared hall baths (no problems at all with this). Beds were comfortable, rooms sparse (but adequate and clean), and the continental breakfast was plentiful. It's about a 15-20 minute walk across the Arno to the historical center of the city. Restaurants, shops, and local flavor abound in the area. The only complaint is that the noise from the piazza night (particularly on weekends) can be loud depending where one's room is located. The sisters and their "civilian" employees are very friendly and helpful. The elevator came in handy for the older members of our contingent.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jsctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

Our family of five stayed in a very large room with five twin beds and a private, locked bathroom down the hall. The room had a very high ceiling painted with a beautiful mural. The nuns were great, and the building was fascinating, with a very interesting history. Breakfast was typical for bed and breakfast places in Italy, but certainly adequate.

Everything was spotlessly clean, and the location was a short, easy walk across the river from the train station and central Florence. There were convenient, reasonably-priced local places to eat in the immediate area.

The only drawback was that it was unusually warm while we were there, and the Casa has no airconditioning. Despite the thick walls, high ceilings, and heavy shutters, our room was unpleasantly warm. The room was over a busy street, so it was quite noisy, especially with the shutters partially open to get some ventilation. We had a large fan, which kept the air moving at least, but it was still warm.

Nice, clean, convenient, no-frills, spacious place to stay with a family, but we'd probably choose a different place if we were going there again during the heat of the summer.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jimandmec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

We were travelling with our 2 teenage daughters and a six year old and our room was a 5 single bed dormitory with a private bathroom. The accommodation was very basic but clean and nice. It is a working convent housed in a beautiful old building surrounded by lovely gardens. The nuns and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was fantastic, only about 500 metres from the Ponte Vecchio and an easy walk into the centre of Florence. A taxi from the train station was only about 8 euros. They provided a basic breakfast and dinner was available at a very reasonable price but there was also great restaurants just outside the convent walls. I would definitely recommend the Casa Santo Nome di Gesu to travellers looking to experience something different.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monterey_Goods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
#162 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#153 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Mannaioni Suites
Palazzo Mannaioni Suites
#198 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#132 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#137 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#127 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Santo Nome di Gesu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santo Nome di Gesu

Property: Casa Santo Nome di Gesu
Address: Piazza del Carmine, 21, 50124, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#118 Family Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,603 - ₹ 12,835
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13th-century former monestary is now a guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Santo Nome di Gesu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Nome Di Gesu Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing