We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good for short stay”
Review of Adler Cavalieri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Adler Cavalieri
Ranked #84 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value, good for short stay”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in August and I cannot say anything bad about it apart from the fact that I thought the furniture was a bit old and the sheets didn't smell fresh. Double glazed windows and very dark curtains really give you a good night sleep which was a big plus in central Florence. The hotel is centrally located, it's very close to the main train station and the bus station if you're interested in travelling around Tuscany. Also there is a laundrette two steps away, which we found very useful, half-way our stay. Unfortunately no balconies in any rooms, we were told. Breakfast was OK, could be better. All in all, this hotel is ideal for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evawie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    330
    88
    23
    14
See reviews for
136
366
54
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I spent one night recently at the Adler Cavalieri and was very happy with my choice. We were renting an apartment in Rome and went to Florence for one night. We wanted a hotel close to the train station and selected the Adler. We had friends joining us and all stayed at the Adler and were very happy. The hotel is five minutes (if that) from the train station and they provide excellent directions. We found the hotel itself to be excellent--the common areas were comfortable and pleasant, the breakfast was excellent with a variety of choices (including eggs which I was delighted to see) and coffee of your choice brought to your table. You can eat outside on the terrace if you wish. Our room was a standard double and was very spacious with a comfortable bed, nice linens and a great bathroom. Our view was over rooftops and our room was very quiet. And the staff of the Adler are superb---friendly, smiles, helpful. As some have said, the neighborhood is not "posh" but we felt perfectly safe walking back and forth to dinner. And we walked to all the major attractions with no problem. If we returned to Florence by train I would certainly stay at the Adler and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmob100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Really nice hotel & near to all the main attractions. If you plan to use train & bus station the place is ideal. My only issue was that we got 2 single beds but we did not ask to change room so just pushed them together. Breakfast good & they serve all coffee types.

Room Tip: We asked for room at the back so we were not on the main street,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaireadB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Sept. 5-11, 2011. The hotel was clean, some small areas around the room were broken, but the big problem with our room was the smell! Had a handicapped friendly room (dont know why) and the shower area was just a curtain wrapped around the shower head and the tiled floor with a drain. No pan etc. Every morning the horrid smell coming up from the drain in that area was really putrid. Each evening placed a wet towel over the drain until the morning when we could put the shower on and try and dissipate the smell. The cleanliness of the tile on the shower floor was also very much in question. Hotel also in an area that at night when either walking back from the core area or trying to find a place to have a drink around there, was sketchy. A number of shady people drinkning in door stoops just down from the hotel and a number of the people in the square of Santa Maria Novella at night also cause one to be alert.
The saving graces of the hotel were a couple of the staff. Franco is indeed the man! (please see pic to recognize!) Such a friendly and helpful person, he is a very good soul. Andrea also warmed up as the days went on. We had a family medical emergency while we were there which caused the hotel to become a version of our home away from home. They were, for the most part, kind and caring of the development of the situation. So thanks a ton to Franco!
Also of the three hotels we stayed at in different cities, the breakfast at the Adler was second.
Not a horrible choice for Florence. Enjoy the city!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sluggo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed 3 nights here and were surprised at the quality of the hotel. Overall it was quite clean, friendly staff, good location, and quiet. Breakfast was included, but left a bit to be desired. Surprisingly enough, there was a gym in the building. A first for all the places we've stayed in Italy. If we venture to Florence again, we would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingSmythes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#115 of 411 in Florence
220 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#68 of 411 in Florence
1,601 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#135 of 411 in Florence
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#76 of 411 in Florence
1,464 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Grand Hotel Adriatico
#105 of 411 in Florence
1,550 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#60 of 411 in Florence
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adler Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adler Cavalieri

Property: Adler Cavalieri
Address: Via della Scala 40, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#65 Business Hotel in Florence
#77 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,674 - ₹ 24,178
Hotel Class:4 star — Adler Cavalieri 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adler Cavalieri Hotel is an hotel in the heart of the historical centre of Florence. The hotel is located in Via Della Scala, the old wayfarers' road to the city centre. The Hotel palace was built on the ruins of an ancient monastery dated back to 1300, right in front of the old Santa Maria Della Scala Hospital, from which the street took its name. The hotel is just a few steps from the main railway station of SANTA MARIA NOVELLA and Florence exhibition-congress centre FORTEZZA DA BASSO. Hotel guests can reach all the most important Florence monuments in few minutes' cheering walk: the DUOMO, PIAZZA DELLA SIGNORIA, PONTE VECCHIO, PALAZZO PITTI, SANTA CROCE, and the historical areas placed on the hills around the city. The Hotel has 60 comfortable and elegant rooms air conditioned and equipped with all the modern technologies ( SAT TV, High-speed internet connection free of charge, regulation of temperature ) Our guest can have cold and breakfast in our Restaurant at the Ground floor and in our garden during the summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adler Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adler Cavalieri Florence
Adler Cavalieri Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing