We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall, great choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Ranked #30 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
185 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
“Overall, great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

This hotel felt human. There was a great sense of Florentine life in it, making the stay in the hotel as much an exploration of Florence as seeing all the big sites. The hotel was authentic in decor and the communal sitting rooms brought me back in time. The dining room was lovely. Breakfast wasn't the best that I had on my trip, but it was definitely good and had a strong assortment of choices. The staff was attentive and friendly. My only complaints would be about the shower in our room which only produced cold water, the clumsy key that we had to lug around, and the mosquitos in the room. However, our bedroom view was fantastic since we were on the top corner of the hotel, with the side window facing Santa Maria Novella and the front window and bathroom window facing the square. Lovely! Again, I felt like I didn't need to leave my room to experience Florence. However, visiting the main sites was very easy from the hotel. The Duomo is about 5 minutes walk, Pitti Palace about 15 minutes and the Accademia with the David is about 10 minutes. I took the train in and out of Florence so I didn't have to pay a taxi to get to and from the hotel. I just walked to the hotel. And I also took a tour of the Tuscan countryside with Walkabout Florence, and most tour groups actually leave from the train station, so my location was very convenient for that early morning tour also. I was able to have breakfast at the hotel and still make my tour with a quick 3 minute walk to the station. Finally, there are a lot of nice convenient shops nearby, such as a local pastry shop that sold cheap sandwhiches, fantastic donoughts, and reasonably priced water. After a long day of sightseeing, it was nice to pick up a quick little something at that pastry shop that was perhaps five shops down from the hotel towards the train station. The people there were friendly, and the shop stayed open later than others. Overall, fantastic experience at this hotel! It's pricey but worth the luxury, ambiance, convenience, location, and attentive service.

Room Tip: Corner rooms facing the square are a must for the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,094
    399
    60
    8
    13
See reviews for
290
879
58
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I'd booked a large room overlooking the Piazza for 4 nights and when we arrived, we were delighted to be told they'd upgraded us to the honeymoon suite at no extra cost. This was a magnificent suite of rooms on the top floor with a delightful balcony overlooking the Piazza and the beautiful Santa Maria Novella Church.

We were thoroughly spoiled in these magnificent surrounds with a huge bedroom, sitting room, dressing room and bathroom. The public rooms in this hotel are spacious and elegant, staff are attentive and the bonus is that if you're arriving by train to Santa Maria Novella station, it's a 2 minute walk (across some cobblestones) to the hotel.

The hotel is within easy walking to the river, the Uffizi Gallery, Ponte Vecchio and the Duomo. Also, there are numerous excellent restaurants in the little streets around the hotel.


Would thoroughly recommend this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Piazza Santa Maria Novella
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lok234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

This hotel is conveniently located near the train station (walking distance), car rental locations (not needed in Florence, but nice if you want to head into Tuscany), and all the Florence tourist sites. The amenities of the hotel were that of an elegant, boutique hotel, and we had a great view of the Santa Maria Novella church and piazza from our room.

Our only (very minor) complaints were that the room was a little noisy (late night partying at the nearby pubs and early morning trash pickup) and the shower was cramped (fought with the shower curtain).

Overall, we'd recommend it highly.

Room Tip: If you want a view, the rooms overlooking the church square offer beautiful views. If you prefer mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elpndj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

This hotel is only about 200 meters from the Santa Maria Novella train station. If you have luggage with wheels, it is an easy flat walk. The hotel is also walking distance to all of the usual tourist sites, museums, Duomo, etc. We asked for a room with a bathtub and we were upgraded to a Junior Suite at no additional charge. Large room looking out at the Piazza with very nice bathroom, very nice amenities, and of course a large and deep tub to soak in, after a long day of walking. The complementary breakfast was very nice, good variety of cereals, fresh fruit, juices, fresh baked breads and rolls, hams, cheeses etc., good coffee and friendly servers. We had a very pleasant stay and if we return to Florence we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want to be near the train station, this is an especially good place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steverino27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillcrest, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in May 2011. We enjoyed the comfort and understated elegance of the reception rooms and we had a lovely room with a balcony, but it was at the back of the hotel and looked into utility rooms. Nice room, nice decor, but the view was disappointing. How come some people get rooms with a view of Santa Maria Novella and others don't? Otherwise, highly recommended, conveniently located to access all major attractions in Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view towards Santa Maria Novella
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinG987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#42 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,625 reviews
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Property: Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,446 - ₹ 48,165
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing