We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, not so great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of UNA Hotel Vittoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
UNA Hotel Vittoria
Ranked #126 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, not so great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

The hotel is modern, with a boutique twist. The rooms themselves are a little small but are aesthetically pleasing, with excellent lighting and controls, fantastic 2 person shower with see through glass to the room and the bed/bar arrangement is a good feature.

The location is not the best in Florence and expect a 20 mins walk to the centre especially if it gets up to 40 degrees as it did when we were there. However, the number 6 bus goes from right outside the hotel to the centre and is timetabled for every 10 minutes.

The hotel is significantly cheaper than equilevant hotels closer to the centre so can't really complain about the location. Also, restaurants near to the hotel are a lot cheaper and have a larger local clientele base making the menu selections more authentic, varied and cheaper i.e. a 1.5 litre bottle of house red €6.50! Bargain.

Over all I would definitely recommend this hotel if you don't mind the travel distance to the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rgreenie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    617
    189
    50
    30
See reviews for
171
824
31
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We went for a 4 day break to Florence and picked this hotel because it looked a little out of the ordinary but at a decent price. We weren't disappointed as this is a wonderful hotel. We loved the zany decor including mini LED's lights in the velvet effect wall tiles, the all purple bathroom, the imaginative door decorations, (each hotel room has a full sized renaissance styled figure painted on it), the multi function bedside controlled lighting, the super efficient double glazed windows which made it completely quiet. I had better nights' sleeps here than I often get at home. You could if you wished ask for several different types of pillow from the reception. The staff were friendly and helpful. All of the room facitlies worked just fine and the shower was fabulous. The buffet breakfast had a huge range of food, from fry ups to cereals, from yoghurts to cake. It was nicely set back form the road, so you could enjoy breakfast outside if you wished. It really was a delight.
It is set a good ten minutes walk from the centre of town but that was just fine as you got a good view of the city from the south of the river and a reasonably pleasant walk. Also the local restaurants are generally local in all senses of the word and significantly cheaper and less glitzy than the tourist trap ones in the city centre. The hotel also provides a free shuttle to and from the main railway station, which means getting in from Pisa airport was a doddle. The train from Pisa to Florence is less than 8 Euros per head, so there really is no need to get a taxi from the airport.
All in all I would thouroughly recommend this hotel as although it probably isnt to everyone's liking in terms of design and decoration, the amenities are very good and it will be a memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonytouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

I loved my stay in this hotel. Very nice and helpful employees. The decoration in the rooms is beautiful. I really recommended this hotel. It's not to far from the centre 15 minutes walk. The restaurant is very nice too, very good italian food, there is also a nice terrace where you can have breakfast and dinner

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. The decor was very stylish & "edgy" - just like the pictures that other travelers have posted. We liked how the hotel & room were very clean & felt very new. Breakfast was decent. Staff was professional & gave good recommendations of restaurants nearby. Our room was really small, but was also the cheapest class so can't complain too much. The only drawback is the location. It's still "walkable" to tourist destinations (~1-2km away) but a bit far from most things. I was also surprised that the front desk didn't have any power plug adapters which we could borrow - as other business hotels which we stayed at in Italy were able to offer it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights during our recent tour of Italy. I love small boutique hotels that offer more than just a room and a bed, and judging by the reviews and pictures we found online it certainly looked like the UNA Hotel Vittoria fit the bill. Unfortunately, we felt it was all a bit of a let-down.

The design is clearly the star of the show, here, with lots of colorful and cool elements in the lobby and lounge areas. The rooms also featured tremendous style and hipness -- especially in the lighting system -- but this was where our enjoyment of this hotel starting running out. While cool looking, the rooms are not well laid out for usability, and as a result these fairly small spaces felt even smaller.

After initially checking in and realizing just how small and difficult to settle into our "Classic" room was, I decided to spring for an upgrade to a "Superior" so we could stretch out a bit more. It was marginally bigger, and also featured a small patio sitting area (well, really a standing area -- a table, but no chairs) that was set along the roofline and had walls that were too tall to see over unless you were at least 5'6" or so (I'm 6' and could see ... not a lot - nothing attractive about the view). Basically, this was a place where you could go to smoke if you were a smoker ... no other real purpose. And again, while larger, the room had a frustrating lack of storage for clothing, suitcases, etc. I've stayed in rooms half the size of these that were far better laid out and used their space more effectively -- style clearly won out over substance here. And the design was interesting once it got dark, but during the daytime it just didn't work that well, with all the dark colors showing every paint touch-up and blemish, and bright lights shining in your eyes all the time.

Otherwise the hotel was quite nice from a services perspective. The staff were friendly and professional, and gave us plenty of info on how to get around Florence. The bartender in the lounge, in particular, was a very nice gentleman. We also took advantage of the "pillow menu" getting a variety of comfy pillows and a pair of bathrobes delivered to our room to enjoy. The bed was kind of lumpy, but not horribly so.

But the UNA Hotel Vittoria just lacked ... something. It's so hip and cool *looking* -- but the entire place lacks energy. Aside from MTV or a soccer/football game playing on one of the televisions, there was no sound or music at all in the lobby or lounge areas -- shocking for such a hip-seeming place. Even in the evening, there was no music of any sort in the bar area. Really odd. And the location is also not exactly great. While only about a 20 minute walk or so from the Ponte Vecchio, the walk just wasn't very pleasant -- not a lot of shops or sights to see along the way, and the neighborhood immediately around the hotel was a bit grimy, and there weren't any particularly interesting/exciting restaurants right nearby. It is much quieter there, however, and getting out of the crowds in the city center is a nice break.

So, all in all, we found the UNA Hotel Vittoria ... just OK. Good price (although once I upgraded to a larger room my savings went out the window), good location, good staff, but it could definitely stand some improvements.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#110 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#92 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
AC Hotel Firenze
#161 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Home Florence
Hotel Home Florence
#82 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#52 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Hilton Florence Metropole
#143 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Vittoria

Property: UNA Hotel Vittoria
Address: Via Pisana 59, 50143, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#79 Family Hotel in Florence
#85 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,801 - ₹ 13,341
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Vittoria 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical quarter of San Frediano, near the Lungarno, new emotional expression for a hotel planned to amaze guests with its extraordinary modern design realized in the 84 rooms and in the public areas of bar, restaurant and conference rooms, evocative of the ancient Florentine spirit of hospitality. Indoor parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Fastbooking and Agoda so you can book your UNA Hotel Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing