We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and a very central location”
Review of Hotel Globus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Globus
Ranked #50 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Just got back from a 3 night stay at this hotel. The location is excellent, a 5 minute walk from the train station and only a couple of minutes walk from the Duomo.The staff were really friendly and efficient, room was a good size and well equipped.

Can't say much else really other than to recommend it.

Antica sosta degli Aldobrandini is worth hunting out, just round the corner from the hotel near San Lorenzo it does great wine, panini and simple salads in the evenings.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Globus, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear PeterS53,

Thank you very much for your contribution and for your recent stay at Globus. We appreciate your kind words and are very satisfied that we were able to meet up to your expectations for what regards the location, service and the size of the room (you booked a Standard room).

We also hope that, apart from recommending us to your friends, you will be able to visit Florence again too!

Best regards,
Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 451 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

I traveled italy 3 times in 5 year. This is the far best hotel i stay. Room 204 was ours. It is not small, it didnt smell as minority reviewers told. I can give 6 stars, if i could.

The day we entered, our sink was not drain so fast. there was a problem. I asked recepcionist and went out. Half an our later, they already fixed it.

Breakfast and breakfast guy is so nice. More than a basic breakfast. Coffee was marvelous. I drank 4 cups every morning. Staff were so helpful and nice.

One complain is, double bed is made of two seperate beds. I fall between inside occasionally. It stopped bothering me; After, I got used to it.

I definitely recommend, this gem in Florence.

Location, Staff, Room, Breakfast and Price are all so satifactory.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank selim k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Globus, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear selim_k,

Wow, we’re really honoured that you consider us the best hotel you’ve stayed at. We’re also glad you liked your room. By the way, the single beds put together is a rather common practice in most hotels throughout Italy, but we try to make the beds the way guests don’t notice the difference.

As for the little problems one may encounter during the stay, we always try to fix them in the shortest time possible. And if it’s something we manage to do at the moment, we take care of it so you have one less thing to worry about during your trip:)

Roberto, the breakfast guy, will be happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and his service. And you seem to have a strong heart, 4 coffees in one morning would be an overkill for me:) But jokes aside, it’s great that you liked the coffee so much!

Thank you again for the splendid comment, I hope we’ll have another occasion to greet you in Florence once more! Please accept our best regards and take care.

Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Globus is a great little gem.
Staff was SO nice, some of the nicest people I have come across abroad.
Breakfast was simple, but perfect to fuel up with each morning.
Location is perfect, walked there from the train station in 5 minutes. And tons of food and wine bars around, along with the fun outdoor market.
We got the economy double room and it was definitely quite small, but it faced the front of the hotel so had a nice view. It was noisy. It's an old building so the walls and ceiling are thin. I could hear my neighbor snoring one night.
Overall it was a nice stay. I would come back for the warmth of the staff alone. Cheers!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whitna85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Globus, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Whitna85,

Thank you for the amazing comment, our hearts grow bigger just after reading all the compliments on the staff:) Trust me, we really like working with people and always try to make our guests’ stay as pleasant as possible.

Location and breakfast – our other two “selling points”, we’re really glad you noticed and appreciated that. And as for the room you booked, let me also add that all our Economy rooms face the front of the Hotel, but you actually don’t hear any street noises thanks to our thick windows.
That’s why you can easily hear the indoor noise. As I already wrote before, we’ll definitely need to work on that and it’s on top of our to-do list for the next refurbishment.

All in all, thank you again for your stay, we’re definitely looking forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,
Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Globus is very convenient to the train and bus stations and easy walking distance to all the sights. There are a number of restaurants quite close - we particularly enjoyed Zsa Zsa's for dinner and Nerbone in the nearby undercover market for a very tasty local lunch. There seemed to be a bigger selection of restaurants south of the Piazza del Duomo, but then you are further from the station.
Our room was very comfortable and clean, though the location on the first floor was a little noisy in the evenings, probably due to the closeness to the bar and reception. The free wifi was handy and there was even a laptop in the room if you didn't have your own. The breakfast was included, but did not offer any cooked items, though the coffee was great. Reception were even happy to make us coffee in the evening, since there was no tea and coffee facilities in the room. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
We would not hesitate to stay in the Globus again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Globus, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Peter_S

Let us thank you very much for staying at Globus and for taking your time to write this great review.

You’re absolutely right about our location. As it’s been already told, the proximity to all the main sites and to good restaurants is certainly not to be undervalued. By the way, Florence is so full of restaurants that you can always find something good around (also in our area).

We’re also glad you found the room clean and the breakfast tasty. Again, we’re very sorry about the noise you heard, I hope it didn’t happen at night time when most of our guests are already asleep.

We definitely look forward to your next stay at Globus, please accept our best regards.

Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This is a fantastic hotel, in a brilliant location (3 minutes walk from the train/bus station and central to all other attractions, basically everything was within 15 minutes or less walking), with excellent facilities and extremely helpful and friendly staff! What more can I say, if ever I or anyone I know is going to florence I will be telling them to stay here

Room Tip: The biggest room in the place from the map in the rooms appears to be 309, we had this room and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesleybar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Globus, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Lesleybar13

Thank you so much for your amazing comment! Let me just tell you you’re a fast walker, 3 minutes from the train station to our Hotel seem like a record:)

But jokes aside, you’re right that our location is perfect, one doesn’t have to start a morning just organizing all the public transportation to take to see everything they want, you just walk out of the Hotel and in a few minutes you’re there at your destination!

We’re more than happy that after staying with us you’d consider recommending Globus to your friends, that really means we’re doing something right.

FYI, 309 is one of Superior rooms, also available for 3 people and of course we’re very glad you liked it. Our Superior rooms are mostly recommended.for guests who like the comfort of a more spacious room and bathroom. Let me also clarify that you get one free refill of soft drinks (water included) from the minibar per stay only when you book a Superior room.

Again, let us thank you for you kind words, we’re definitely looking forward to your next stay!

Best regards,
Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#60 of 410 in Florence
506 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#58 of 410 in Florence
805 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#68 of 410 in Florence
569 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#82 of 410 in Florence
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Globus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Globus

Address: Via Sant'Antonino 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#104 Business Hotel in Florence
#119 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#121 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: ₹ 7,780 - ₹ 20,952 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Globus 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Globus was completely renovated in June 2016. The new reception area, located on the street level of Via Sant'Antonino, is now connected to all rooms thanks to our new elevator. The new breakfast area overlooks a small courtyard with a nice vertical garden. Our staff is a mixture of all ages, languages, cultures and countries, always smiling and willing to offer you tips on places to visit, restaurants to try. They're always there for you. For what regards our location, it is definitely one of the key features of Globus. The proximity to all the Santa Maria Novella train station and all main attractions, including the Duomo, both major museums (Uffizi and Accademia Galleries) or Ponte Vecchio, among others, makes it very easy to plan even the busiest day without the need to lose time getting from the hotel to your desired location. What makes our neighbourhood special though is definitely the Mercato Centrale, located just around the corner from here. In the morning, that is where you want to go if you're planning to buy some food to take back home, or simply want to try the famous Tuscan specialties, "trippa" and "lampredotto". Where this place shines though is the 1st floor, open from 10am until midnight. It's a big, modern open space with many restaurants, serving a variety of really delicious food. Make sure to check it out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Globus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globus Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing