We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Ranked #207 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Review”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This is an excellent location for Florence. If you can book this place i encourage you to do so. value for price paid was excellent (NOV) and location can't be better - we were a short 5 minute walk from the train station, surrounded by great food and a outstanding Mercato (must see on first day!). The hotel staff was very kind. The room is well appointed, large, but the beds need a change out - not so comfortable but after a long day walking they were okay. There are some really great restaurants next to the hotel and down several of the streets. Breakfast was included in our rate and was very good except the coffee. They have a machine to dispense but with sufficient complaints they shut it down and provided great espresso and capps. Highly recommended property but we didn't need air conditioning.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    147
    56
    21
    18
See reviews for
77
180
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Domus is just five minutes walk from Florence Central Train station right on a square right next to an old church. fantastic location right in the city area. It is upstairs on first floor - lift provided. No aircon. Reception staff speak excellent English and are very helpful and friendly. They have a lot of information for tourists. this seems to be a busy hotel so book early. Our room was a deluxe and excellent. Large, windows open to square - very exciting. When closed noise no problem. Bathroom was large, excellent plumbing and quality. the room and bathroom were spotless. Safe, minibar and lounge area with TV. Breakfast was on the balcony and beautifully served. Highly recommend this hotel and in retrospect would have liked to stay at this hotel in Florence for a week instead of a couple of days.

Room Tip: Ask for front room opening to square - deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oman
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The hotel is just a stone throw from the station although it would take sometime for a newcomer to figure out where exactly it is. It looks more like a large house with several rooms rather than a traditional hotel. I did not check it out completely but there appear to be only about 15 rooms. This was the only hotel in our trip to Italy where we had to wait till the standard check in time (1 pm) before the room was allotted followed with a stern reminder from the old lady at the reception that we would need to check out before 11 pm on our last day. This could be the problem due to the small number of rooms.

The room given to us had no view and the window faces that of another room. Further the room was small and the bath had no tub. Some faucets were leaky and I thought there was no point in asking for a change of room for a couple of days.

Wifi was provided free and the signal strength was good. Breakfast was the usual European buffet but as it was served on an open terrace overlooking a busy street it made a difference.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rashid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We had reservation for this Hotel, once we got there, she told us there is no room, they told us they take us to a different Hotel that is good and clean, it wasn't, the room was small, dirty, the toilet and shower were in the same space!!!!
After calling Hotel Domus many times they agreed to give us a room for second night.
Avoid going there, that might happen to you and ruin your vacation, the next day they made us waiting there until 2pm to get the room.
Our vacation in Florence was ruined and wasted the two days on Hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Do not stay here! We stayed here for two nights, and it was absolutely horrible. I totally agree with the previous review about the apathetic and negligent management. Our air conditioning did not work and the control was broken. Although they said that they would fix it, they did nothing while we boiled. The Wifi is so weak that you have to be right next to the front desk for it to work. The breakfast was disgusting.

The piazza is not worth staying near. It lacks character, is noisy all night long from drunks and the view is of the first floor loggia. At 6:00 AM, a horrific noise starts as the sewage trucks begin their work. Stay elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripmom44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Lombardia
Hotel Lombardia
#158 of 412 in Florence
287 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#105 of 412 in Florence
726 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#84 of 412 in Florence
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
#108 of 412 in Florence
232 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#135 of 412 in Florence
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Florentiae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Florentiae Hotel

Property: Domus Florentiae Hotel
Address: Via Degli Avelli 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Business Hotel in Florence
#104 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#158 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,482 - ₹ 26,120
Hotel Class:4 star — Domus Florentiae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domus Florentiae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Domus Florentiae
Domus Florentiae Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing